Post Match. Pies dump Dees - all comments please

MJ23

Post by MJ23 »

Raw Hammer wrote:
surfer1 wrote:
Duff Soviet Union wrote:Good performance. Our big forwards were excellent, our key defenders were excellent (especially Taz), our midfield won easily despite missing two prime movers and arguably Pendles' worst game of the year. Only concern was our forward setup looked poor in the third. And even then, Melbourne couldn't get it out of our forward line. Good performances by fringe players like Bucks, Fasolo, McCarthy and Wood. Dids still looked a bit out of touch and I would have liked Blair to do more, but otherwise no complaints.
Mmmm I saw some pretty damn impressive things from Pendles today
Agreed ... some are getting so harsh on Pendles. Sheesh. He got better as the game wore on. Never wasted a possession. Brilliant all round game. Unluck to miss my top 3.
Hard tag on Pendles and as the game went longer he ran it off.
I found myself breathing with relief when he had the ball cause I knew he would use it well.
96% efficiency - nuff said
"Even when Im old and gray, I wont be able to play but Ill still love the game"
Michael Jordan

Post by Doc63 »

jack_spain wrote:
Culprit wrote:Malthouse said this week, we do not rely on players we rely in structures. Great win even though we beat a very soft team.
Hey, I said that! :P :wink:
The structures bit is exactly right. Everyone thought we would fall over without Jolly. Our average winning margin without him as been about 9 goals & the one loss we had we were robbed by a dodgy advantage call.

That is why we are still clear & outright favorite for the flag.
I hold a cup of wisdom, but there is nothing within.
jack_spain

Post by jack_spain »

Funkadelic wrote:I love the smell of napalm in the morning
Well, evening anyway! :lol:

It was like an old fashioned carpet bombing. :lol:

Take that Geoffrey Dribblesworth III.

He must have choked on those cucumber sandwiches today. Did he get any tongue? :wink: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Geek
Been liked: 2 times

Post by Geek »

Another big finish from the boys. Were harder at it for 3 quarters and looked like they could go another quarter or two at the end. Got some well rested running power to come back in for the next game too.

That kid Wellingham could be anything. Clokey finally broke the 5 goal mark. Taz and Reid played pearlers. Leon continues racking them up off half back. Pendles was Pendles. Ball was Ball. Dids showed a bit, espcecially early. JMac, Wood and Blair all did their part and the Fas showed he should be able to make the grade. A good, solid performance - even allowing for us being dragged down to Melbourne's level late in the 3rd.

I'm not a big fan of the Dee's Birthday fixture but the way I look at it, they'll always try and get themselves up against us. I figured they could take us to 5 goals and if it really went pear-shaped, maybe even force an upset.

Well in yer jocks, Melbourne.

You drew your last grand final and you just got spanked in the replay. Time to merge with St Kilda.
MJ23

Post by MJ23 »

waited a while to post.
Did not think we played well at times and I think we bring ourselves down to thier level especially in the 3rd qtr.
We seemed to do some lazy things - missed tackles, missed handballs and gave them some soft goals.
In saying that, when we wanted to we played some elite footy.
Wellingham did what he is capable of with the tag going to pendles. He cost us a goald when we had the clearance with a lazy handball in the first I think - was faultless after that.
Lot of players to talk about ( how good was mage in the first) but fassolo in traffic was fantastic as a first gamer. He could not have done anymore we just looked ready made and hard at the ball. loved his firts game.
"Even when Im old and gray, I wont be able to play but Ill still love the game"
Michael Jordan

Post by AN_Inkling »

AN_Inkling wrote:Cloke: what a gun. Simply unstoppable. Was rested a bit in the last, but was the clear difference in the game. They simply had no one up forward who could emulate him. and no one down back who could stop him.

Wellingham: best game of his career.

37 touches
20 contested disposals :shock:
9 clearances

I said in the votes thread that Cloke was clear best on. I'll amend that and say just ahead of Sharrod. Scrap that, I got it wrong - yes Swoop, first time ever! Wellingham was best on. Anyone who still thinks he doesn't get the tough ball or is protected by Swan, Thomas and Pendlebury, is a loon. Well ahead of Beams in our 22.

This was a super win. We won by 88, without Swan, Thomas and Jolly and without a significant impact from Pendlebury or Shaw. That is an amazing effort.

The Fas was not out of place in his first game. 15 touches, 12 contested (great sign for a young player) and some very nice ball handling in tight.

The fringe: Buckley, McCarthy, Blair all did a good job without starring.
Oh please. :roll:

Awesome today but it was one game.

The gap between his best and worst is still to wide and it was only two weeks a go he could only gather 11 possessions (Beams 26) againt West Coast.

For all the games he plays like today he plays another where he lacks urgency.

Hopefully today he learnt a valuable lesson about playing with intensity and the awards it brings.

For the record Beams has gathered 20+ possies in 6 out of 8 games, Wellingham 5 of 11.
Not just one game. You may remember, I made the same statement before this game. This game just proved it further.

Understand that Beams stats are pretty good. But, this is where my "stats schmats" comment comes in. I haven't rated too many of Beams's games this year - probably played 1 good one, maybe two. Gets a lot of soft ball, and not enough of his own. Wellingham's disposals have been down a bit this year, and I have been calling for him to get more of it. He has often done a defensive job though (11 tackles last week) - another thing that is lacking a bit in Beamer's game - and wins a lot of ball in close.

Today, Wellingham showed how good he is when freed up from the defensive role. Without Swan and Thomas we couldn't afford him to tag, he had to become an offensive weapon. I think he filled the gap brilliantly.

Don't take any of this to mean I don't like Beams. I like every Collingwood player. I just see Wellingham as far more integral to our side at this stage. Beams and Sidey are at similar levels - with my personal preference putting Sidey above him due to being a harder worker and tougher in the contest. Sidey is just about my favourite player at the club - but, as with Beams, Wellingham's still well ahead of him in our best team, for mine.

I think we have a number of players that can play the Beams, Sidey role, at this stage of their careers, but few that can match Wellingham's skillset - inside / outside, genuine midfielder with pace, class, good clearance ability, a goal sense, and an ability to tag.
Last edited by AN_Inkling on Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Well done boys!
jack_spain

Post by jack_spain »

surfer1 wrote:
Duff Soviet Union wrote:Good performance. Our big forwards were excellent, our key defenders were excellent (especially Taz), our midfield won easily despite missing two prime movers and arguably Pendles' worst game of the year. Only concern was our forward setup looked poor in the third. And even then, Melbourne couldn't get it out of our forward line. Good performances by fringe players like Bucks, Fasolo, McCarthy and Wood. Dids still looked a bit out of touch and I would have liked Blair to do more, but otherwise no complaints.
Mmmm I saw some pretty damn impressive things from Pendles today
So did I. I actually gave him a vote and explained why in the votes thread.

Pendlebury is our most reliable kick for goal as well. Does he ever miss?

The pinpoint passes are unbelievable. I'm not sure what his efficiency rate was, but I would have put it at 90%+. [Edit: it was actually 96%!]

And let's not forget The Krak's little cameo again today. What a superb "selling candy" goal. He does it every week now. :D
Last edited by jack_spain on Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
pricey

Post by pricey »

Fantastic win today , in a game that was there to lose , second tier players stepped up to the plate , proved our depth is no illusion. I get the feeling that Blair doesn't want to play in the VFL , he was a real terrier!
This side is starting to look a little scarey!!!
mattd

Post by mattd »

Fantastic game Collingwood, looking so strong. No one is running out games like this. Looking as hungry as ever.
Melbourne supporters can console themselves up at their chalets with a hot cup of cocoa and a bedtime story with nanny about their grand old flag( very old- 47 years and counting)
Look at what we've done
mattd

Post by mattd »

And well done Leon, your killing it mate
Look at what we've done
The_Staunton

Post by The_Staunton »

We've also conceded just 22 goals in our last 13 quarters of football

Big tick backline!
We just got nutted at the clearances...
What'sinaname
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 34 times

Post by What'sinaname »

The_Staunton wrote:We've also conceded just 22 goals in our last 13 quarters of football

Big tick backline!
That's TOO many. We're leaking goals. :shock:

Sack the Coach :roll:
Fighting against the objectification of woman.
Has liked: 14 times
Been liked: 28 times

Post by pietillidie »

That was a very professional win. Almost menacing in its predictability. We clearly steeled ourselves in advance and asked certain players to stand up and to take a win into the bye. To execute that so well will give the club a depth of confidence I reckon. A very important win for the club as a whole in the context of the season, I reckon.
In the end the rain comes down, washes clean the streets of a blue sky town.
Help Nick's: http://www.magpies.net/nick/bb/fundraising.htm
John Wren

Post by John Wren »

danger game. pffft.
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.
What'sinaname
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 34 times

Post by What'sinaname »

Dear John,

Short memory, must have a SHORT memory.

Yours & c,
Fighting against the objectification of woman.