2 Terrible Eddie's Captain Calls

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

jatsad
Been liked: 16 times

Post by jatsad »

jackcass wrote:Be interested to read what you were saying about MM before the transition was set up Dave.

As to Gubby, why should the club have suspected there was any issue hanging over his head. He's a good operator, a good get, be disappointing if he was suspended.
I was never a MM Fan.

Well Maybe checking what Allan had done but I think there is nothing in the Allegations anyway. I hope anyway
I reckon Allan is in trouble.
Wada are vicious!
Remember there was no absolute proof about Essendon drug taking.
Wada are a law within themselves.
Anything is possible with these mongrels.
You're right.
Wada are viscous and generally are a law unto themselves.

Thank goodness then that it is that other limp-wristed, wet lettuce leaf organization Asada that is investigating this.
Jatsad - That is all

Post by thompsoc »

jatsad wrote:
Dave The Man wrote: I was never a MM Fan.

Well Maybe checking what Allan had done but I think there is nothing in the Allegations anyway. I hope anyway
I reckon Allan is in trouble.
Wada are vicious!
Remember there was no absolute proof about Essendon drug taking.
Wada are a law within themselves.
Anything is possible with these mongrels.
You're right.
Wada are viscous and generally are a law unto themselves.

Thank goodness then that it is that other limp-wristed, wet lettuce leaf organization Asada that is investigating this.
And Wada won't be involved if they don't like the result?
we don't eat our own at collingwood we just allow them to foul our nest.
Magpie Jack

Post by Magpie Jack »

thompsoc wrote: Sadly the mcg is too big for most but not all of our matches.
The crowds aren't going to come back full stop.
This is not just a collingwood problem it is an AFL problem.
There is a need for a 3rd stadium that brings back a more suburban ground feel.
Totally agree with that and the place for it is the Junction Oval. Knock the 2 old stands down and build a Carrara style stadium 25 to 30,000 capacity. The Junction has everything going for it. Public transport, hotels within walking distance for the interstate visitors, pubs, restaurants and surrounded by parkland. Eddies idea of building a 60,000 stadium right next door to a 100,000 stadium has got the Masters/Bunnings stuff up written all over it.
Bob Rose....the measuring stick of humanity
Has liked: 132 times
Been liked: 168 times

Magpie Jack wrote:
Totally agree with that and the place for it is the Junction Oval. Knock the 2 old stands down and build a Carrara style stadium 25 to 30,000 capacity. The Junction has everything going for it. Public transport, hotels within walking distance for the interstate visitors, pubs, restaurants and surrounded by parkland. Eddies idea of building a 60,000 stadium right next door to a 100,000 stadium has got the Masters/Bunnings stuff up written all over it.
Not going to happen. They're redeveloping it already at a cost of $25-40M and the capacity will be 7000 once they're finished.

Plus it might be OK for those in the south east but horribly messy to get to for anyone else.
Been liked: 148 times

Magpie Jack wrote:
As much as I hate to admit it, if we were going to have a 3rd stadium, Princes Park is the obvious choice, especially once there is a new underground railway station built in Parkville.
Been liked: 118 times

Post by qldmagpie67 »

Thompsoc I agree with the vast majority of what you and others are saying.
I live in Qld yet stump up my membership dollars each year as a matter of showing support to the club.
Not being a Victorian I don't notice the disconnect like many others obviously and can only relate to it from a distance.
I've been a Brisbane Broncos member since the inception in 1988 paid my membership dollars each year and for several years was a corporate box holder.
Now you can't compare NRL & AFL as sports both are different but I think you can compare the Broncos and Collingwood as they at the biggest clubs in there respective sports.
The Broncos average around 35,000 to a home game (low by AFL standards but massive in league terms as getting 10,000 for the majority of other clubs is massive) and they have managed to keep that tribalism feeling alive. It might be to do with the Qld v NSW feeling or become the Broncos are normally successful (making finals appearances almost every year since there inception)
They have news updates sent via email daily. They have ex players still involved around the club who work in corporate and standard membership. These ex players act as ambassadors and mingle with the average supporter at home games and act as a conduit between the club and supporter in many ways.
Also the Broncos have a social club/leagues club were all players must attend (barring medical issues) after every home game and mingle with supporters and sponsors alike. The Broncos have always been part of the community and that's been helped by being a one team in the city.
Also they look at having loads of family days and days especially for the kids. There training days always have a bbq afterwards and you can turn up have a sausage sanga with your favourite player and just chat to them
I understand the market is different and much more competitive in Melbourne but little things like having the players accessible to the average supporter means a lot to many.
As for Eddie I don't think he's ever made a decision that he didn't believe was in the best interests of the club. While all haven't been fantastic he's always tried his best off the club and that's important
Pies4shaw
Has liked: 136 times
Been liked: 182 times

Magpie Jack wrote:
As much as I hate to admit it, if we were going to have a 3rd stadium, Princes Park is the obvious choice, especially once there is a new underground railway station built in Parkville.
The new Parkville station is planned for the middle of Grattan Street. It's a long walk from there to Princes Park, RB. I suspect the new station won't make it much easier for people travelling by train to get to and from the ground than it is, now, getting out at Melbourne Central or Flagstaff. I live in North Melbourne, about a block from the old Children's Hospital section of Royal Park - that's slightly closer to Princes Park than the new station will be. I would happily walk to Princes Park from there (and did to watch the VFL a few times when it was used for our home games a few years back) but there'd be plenty who wouldn't/couldn't, especially in the wet.
GreekLunatic
Been liked: 17 times

Post by GreekLunatic »

Ed needs someone to tap bucks on shoulder if we don't make finals gubby can be that man
John Wren

Post by John Wren »

Magpie Jack wrote:
Not going to happen. They're redeveloping it already at a cost of $25-40M and the capacity will be 7000 once they're finished.

Plus it might be OK for those in the south east but horribly messy to get to for anyone else.
cricket victoria will move in which then leaves the mcg to the afl and the start of the season no longer gets compromised.

anyway, as per the suggestion about building a bigger stand, there is no room to do this. it's very shallow or narrow from the boundary fence and the perimeter fence.
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.
CarringbushCigar
Has liked: 6 times
Been liked: 7 times

Post by CarringbushCigar »

The Broncos average around 35,000 to a home game (massive in league terms) they have managed to keep that tribalism feeling alive.

They have news updates sent via email daily.
They have ex players still involved around the club who work in corporate and standard membership.
These ex players act as ambassadors and mingle with the average supporter at home games and act as a conduit between the club and supporter in many ways.
Also the Broncos have a social club/leagues club were all players must attend (barring medical issues) after every home game and mingle with supporters and sponsors alike.
Also they look at having loads of family days and days especially for the kids.
Training days always have a bbq afterwards and you can turn up have a sausage sanga with your favourite player and just chat to them
Boom - there's the blueprint.
schuey07

Post by schuey07 »

Social clubs are for old timers. The younger generation isn't into that type of stuff. The club is catering for the future because as harsh as it is, over time there will be less and less old timers and more young people.
Neil Appleby

Post by Neil Appleby »

I think the disconnect is real. Of course, winning games would help and so would Collingwood moving back into finals.

Otherwise, I'm not sure there's a lot the club can do. The die is cast really; it's all about money and strong clubs are focussed on making money to secure their futures and to gain an advantage. The AFL meanwhile, tries to dilute this gained advantage by introducing rules to prop up failing administrations.

Collingwood does a reasonable job of fan engagement;
it holds family days
it holds family training days
it holds evening training sessions....admittedly this only happened this year from memory
it holds yearly Members' Nights

On the other hand, a couple of moves this year were real causes of concern and caused me to doubt the club's commitment to its supporters:
membership pack was embarrassing - even the car sticker was a small cheap thing......I can't remember seeing it on one car during 2016.
membership apparel is of hopeless quality

The closing of the Glasshouse Cafe to supporters during the Australian Open infuriated me. I go to training quite frequently in the pre-season and although the club provided a caravan thing to sell drinks etc to the fans at training, I felt I was being excluded from my own club in favour of Aus Open officials and corporate fans. Yes I know the club likes to maximise profits, but at the expense of its supporters? It left a very sour taste. I wrote to Gary Pert suggesting a compromise; fans have access during training until 10am after which Aus Open gets access. That letter was sent in February this year. I'm yet to receive a reply.

Unfortunately I won't be at the Members' Night next Monday, but if I were, I'd be questioning Gary Pert about this. I'd also ask if our membership pack in 2017 will reflect the club's standing and not look like an afterthought at an outer suburban league.
After the epic draw comes the decisive knockout!
Collingwood rules the world again and Mick Malthouse fulfils his destiny with the twenty ten premiership and can you hear the people sing!
CarringbushCigar

Neil Appleby wrote:I think the disconnect is real. Of course, winning games would help and so would Collingwood moving back into finals.

Otherwise, I'm not sure there's a lot the club can do. The die is cast really; it's all about money and strong clubs are focussed on making money to secure their futures and to gain an advantage. The AFL meanwhile, tries to dilute this gained advantage by introducing rules to prop up failing administrations.

Collingwood does a reasonable job of fan engagement;
it holds family days
CarringbushCigar wrote: One per year ?
it holds family training days
CarringbushCigar wrote: One per year ?
it holds evening training sessions....admittedly this only happened this year from memory
CarringbushCigar wrote: For the fans? You got to be joking - i went and it totally sucked and wasn't even raining
it holds yearly Members' Nights
CarringbushCigar wrote: You can not be serious
CarringbushCigar

schuey07 wrote:Social clubs are for old timers. The younger generation isn't into that type of stuff. The club is catering for the future because as harsh as it is, over time there will be less and less old timers and more young people.
The younger generation don't like sausages and autographs and handshakes?
droversdog65

Post by droversdog65 »

schuey07 wrote:Social clubs are for old timers. The younger generation isn't into that type of stuff. The club is catering for the future because as harsh as it is, over time there will be less and less old timers and more young people.
Shuey you have no idea m8, it's something called 'connecting with the fan base'.

Without the fan base buying the merch and the volounteers doing the grinding and dirty work any club would fold.

Sponsorship is great but its far from the lifeblood the the media and fappers would have you believe.

The volounteers are the lifeblood and if the club deserts the fans the volounteers will dry up.