Page 3 of 7

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:09 pm
by What'sinaname
RIP Lou

You're not an AFL Legend because you are an AFL God.

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:10 pm
by Mugwump
^ yeah, Dave, I reckon you're right. It cannot have been easy for a man with such a love of life to be so reduced.

Farewell, Lou. You represent a tougher, much more honest age.

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:18 pm
by 3rd degree
RIP to one of Collingwood's favourites sons and one of life's great Larrikins.

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:25 pm
by simon tonna
Thanks Lou for some of my earliest memories in life. Watching collingwood
V Carlton on a Saturday arvo and hearing the steady and familiar voice which
was a comfort for me. RIP

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:30 pm
by Jezza
He was the heart and soul of the football club, unmatched by very few.

It's truly an end of an era!

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:36 pm
by MatthewBoydFanClub
It's a very sad day for us all, but I'm relieved in one sense that his physical suffering in the nursing home he was at is over and he gets to be united with Edna in heaven. I'll remember him for his sharp witty humour on WOS for over 30 years and his contribution to his Thursday night show Team Selections, with Jack Dyer and Bobby Davis. The king is dead. Long live the king. I wish he had been nominated to the AFL legends of the game, because he truly was a legend.

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:37 pm
by Monco Matt
RIP Lou. What a legend you are and were. I'll remember you not only as a Collingwood Premiership Captain but a superstar media man, especially on the Sunday Footy Show with Lou's handball, I was a bit young to see you on WOS. Maybe yesterday's result was too much for the great man to bear. If the AFL don't induct you into the AFL Legends club then they know nothing about what an AFL Legend really is.

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:38 pm
by Johnno75
Farewell Louie, probably the most recognised name to come out of this great club. True champion.

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:39 pm
by BEAMER09
RIP Lou.

Grew up with League Teams and now they are all together again for League Teams II.

Still get a laugh out of 'you don't say...'

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:46 pm
by ronrat
They broke the moild when they made Lou. From an era when footy was even for the players. Socials, Pies, beers, and no social media following your every move so a nobody can feel clever. WOS was a boys clubs with setting fire to script sheets, blokes dropping the dacks behind cameras, where you could criticise umpires and players for mistakes and they didn't need a phsycologist. Uncle Doug, Bob, Jack, Teddy and now LOU all gone. After a ffew days with Edna a leave pass to have a few small beers with the boys is on the cards. RIP champ. Floreat Pica

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:47 pm
by watt price tully
Vale Lou. Very sad. Condolences to his family. "What a (he) man".

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:48 pm
by stui magpie
Vale Lou.

For a kid growing up in the NSW bush who's only access to the VFL was via media, Lou was a staple and cemented my love for Collingwood.

Legend.

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 6:51 pm
by Captain_MyCaptain
WhyPhilWhy? wrote:I can't remember a time when he and Collingwood were not synonymous.

A very sad day for the Club and all Collingwood supporters - vale Lou.

X 2. Long live Lou. Legends never die.

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:17 pm
by Mountains Magpie
stui magpie wrote:Vale Lou.

For a kid growing up in the NSW bush who's only access to the VFL was via media, Lou was a staple and cemented my love for Collingwood.

Legend.
Ditto, except I grew up in the inner western suburbs of Sydney.

Rest easy Lou - by golly you've earned it.

MM

Posted: Mon May 08, 2017 7:29 pm
by ANNODAM
RIP to a true legend!