This is an unofficial Bulletin Board - owned and run by its users. We welcome all fans of the Mighty Collingwood Football Club.
Ad blocker detected: Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker on our website.
This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.
Pies2016 wrote:This kid is a ripper. I had posted a couple times in the VFL thread that he looked closer to a debut than Allen ( and that’s not a knock on Allen )
He just does most things very well. He plays like Maynard, hard at it, straight lines and probably has more composure.
You should never pass judgement on anyones first AFL game but I reckon this kid will acquit himself very well, first up.
Congrats, Jakob.
Thanks mate
Us interstate pies appreciate the insight of posters like yourself who give us accurate assessments of young players
Let’s hope his debut is everything he ever dreamed of
Disappointing debut. Hard to show much in less than two quarters. He’s got all the tools and that’s a good start. If he is prepared to work his butt off in the off season ( and that’s even before the pre season ) he will get his chance soon enough in 2024.
RudeBoy wrote:He'll be fine. Luckily for him, he probably will never remember his first game.
That's pretty mean..
Fly threw him to the lions... literally.
Right into the heat of battle from the start. A tough ask I would have thought.
He found the speed and pressure of the game too much and yes made some costly errors.
I hope that he is okay and that the best is ahead for him.
RudeBoy wrote:He'll be fine. Luckily for him, he probably will never remember his first game.
That's pretty mean..
Fly threw him to the lions... literally.
Right into the heat of battle from the start. A tough ask I would have thought.
He found the speed and pressure of the game too much and yes made some costly errors.
I hope that he is okay and that the best is ahead for him.
Just my pathetic attempt at humour. The kid showed enough to demonstrate he will be a good player for us in 2024.
THE chasm between VFL and AFL was on show again Friday night. While Ryan's selection was bona fide, it was mistimed. The cold reality of expectation vs reality in bringing in an 18 y/o VFL player for his 1st game was laid bare, in an already shaky defence against a premiership contender.
It was a selection table mistake to expect him to step up to to the pace and discipline required to have impact against a quality Brions forward mix.
While he wasn't a 1st round draft pick, he's a bona fide talent, nothing surer. His VFL games to date have shown he's a cut above that competition. Unfortunately his senior debut was delayed by injury.
On selection, I've no doubt the Club were saying to him he's part of our future, and getting a game or two into him would give him a clear mental springboard to commit to an off-season and be ready to go come Round 1.
The defensive mix we took into Round 19 was Moore, Maynard, Howe, Murphy, Quaynor and Noble. That mix represented 774 games experience. Add in Crisp and Markov that jumped to 1059. Round 23 went into the game with a defensive mix having played 480 games, and 449 of those with Collingwood.
Only 1 player, Maynard, had played over 100 games. Howe should have started back. There's a +50% jump in experience.
Even Ruscoe should have been ahead of him, but his exit Visa appears stamped.
When you play footy, you rely on your team mates. And when playing in defensive it requires more cohesion in order to back each other up, keep the talk going.
If I had Howe and Maynard within earshot, I reckon I'm walking taller and confident they'll also be marshalling me. Taking this into account, poor young Ryan never stood a chance.
While the goldfish in the match-day thread mocked his input, I view that his impact on debut for the little time he had on the ground was already cast at the selecton table, and not a reflection of his ability.
I'm genuainly appalled by some of the comments regarding his debut. Would you parent the same way? I bloody well hope not.
I hope the Club gets around him this week, I'm sure they will. I hope supporters do too.
"The Club's not Jock, Ted and Gerry" (& Eddie)
2023 AFL Premiers