Things that make you go.......WTF?

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

luvdids

Post by luvdids »

5150 wrote:Isn't it funny... when Morrigu was away Tannin was all blowjobs and Miley Cyrus. Now he is all "don't post important stuff that only you and I would care about Morrigu, the plebs won't understand"
^ Get a clue.

The blowjobs posts were in response the the excruciating boredom of listening to David arguing with King Monkey arguing with David over the religious significance of a VB advertisment in a multi-cultural pluralist society and the validity of individualising group social observations and the consequent effect on the public perception and lived reality of popular stereotypes. (Think "David, I am quite amazed at your inability to see any other point of view other than your own", only for 117 pages.)

As for Miley Cyrus, that was Swoop. My response to his post was as follows:
Tannin wrote:Does nothing for me. Nothing at all. If I wanted to turn gay I'd go for a real boy, not a narcissistic pretend one with too much makeup and a distracting Seedsman haircut.
Which reminds me ... I hear you are a bit of a goer yoursef ..... are you free?
You chopped off this part of your Miley quote:
Tannin also wrote:Waste of some perfectly-formed tits really.
:wink:

I woke up in a big WTF state this morning - dreamt about Stui & Tannin!! Arghhhh. You two were at the footy together, someone pointed you both out on here, to which you both got defensive, then the next night you were shown in the audience of Hey Hey It's Saturday together. :shock:
Must lay off the coffee before bed I think!
Has liked: 132 times
Been liked: 168 times

Ummmmmmm OK :shock:

Post by 5150 »

luvdids wrote:
5150 wrote:Isn't it funny... when Morrigu was away Tannin was all blowjobs and Miley Cyrus. Now he is all "don't post important stuff that only you and I would care about Morrigu, the plebs won't understand"
^ Get a clue.

The blowjobs posts were in response the the excruciating boredom of listening to David arguing with King Monkey arguing with David over the religious significance of a VB advertisment in a multi-cultural pluralist society and the validity of individualising group social observations and the consequent effect on the public perception and lived reality of popular stereotypes. (Think "David, I am quite amazed at your inability to see any other point of view other than your own", only for 117 pages.)

As for Miley Cyrus, that was Swoop. My response to his post was as follows:
Tannin wrote:Does nothing for me. Nothing at all. If I wanted to turn gay I'd go for a real boy, not a narcissistic pretend one with too much makeup and a distracting Seedsman haircut.
Which reminds me ... I hear you are a bit of a goer yoursef ..... are you free?
You chopped off this part of your Miley quote:

I woke up in a big WTF state this morning - dreamt about Stui & Tannin!! Arghhhh. You two were at the footy together, someone pointed you both out on here, to which you both got defensive, then the next night you were shown in the audience of Hey Hey It's Saturday together. :shock:
LOL - can just picture Stui and Tannin sharing a hot dog and and a thermos of Earl Grey together. Getting defensive??? Stui and Tannin??? Noooooo... :D

I bet they were on HHIS doing red faces rapping to Sir Mix-a-lots Baby Got Back.
Tannin

Post by Tannin »

luvdids wrote:You chopped off this part of your Miley quote:
Shhhhhh!!!!
luvdids wrote:I woke up in a big WTF state this morning - dreamt about Stui & Tannin!! Arghhhh. You two were at the footy together, someone pointed you both out on here, to which you both got defensive, then the next night you were shown in the audience of Hey Hey It's Saturday together. :shock:
Toto, I don't think that's coffee anymore. :shock:
�Let's eat Grandma.� Commas save lives!
luvdids

Post by luvdids »

luvdids wrote:You chopped off this part of your Miley quote:
Shhhhhh!!!!
luvdids wrote:I woke up in a big WTF state this morning - dreamt about Stui & Tannin!! Arghhhh. You two were at the footy together, someone pointed you both out on here, to which you both got defensive, then the next night you were shown in the audience of Hey Hey It's Saturday together. :shock:
Toto, I don't think that's coffee anymore. :shock:
LOL to both. hahahaha, genuinely funny :lol:

PS, I hope your lips in real life aren't as big as they were in my dream, they were BIG, even under the grey hat you were wearing!

Post by 3.14159 »

Thins that me go WTF.
Me!

I went to a clearing auction (farm contents) today.
Bought some olde milk and cream cans, railwae lanterns,a leg vice, gold sluice, a big Stihl chainsaw, a Heinken bar fridge and lot of generally rusty stuff that I like to collect and sell, or throw in the recycle/rubbish bin.
Anywae I had bought enough stuff to fill the ute (even the back seats.. and the missus lap) so I went to settle-up when I noticed this huge cast Iron chaff cutter sitting in a 2 metre red-gum cradle.
I looked at it thought wow!
15 antique cast iron fly-wheels ($20-$50 each) & the cutting wheel alone is $150 in any collecters money.
I figured it's a about a tonne and a 1/2 in weight and it's worth maybe $90 in scrap & a metre of 100 year old red-gum in the cradle ($150) 15 antique cast iron fly-wheels ($20-$50 each) & the cutting wheel alone is $140 any day of the week.
It came up next, the bloke asked for $300..$200... $100 ...make me an offer!
So I called out "40 bucks!"
Crickets, silence, (even the frogs stopped croaking) no more offers.
Sold, yours mate!
I was expecting to be out bid... but not quite so soon.

Anywaes I took stock for a minute and realized this thing weighs nearly a ton and a 1/2 and don't have a winch that can handle anythink like that sort of weight.
... and its about 30 metres down a dirt walking track.
I haven't done much over the last month because my backs been funked up and then it hit me why it was so effing cheap

on the plus side it was a great buy and I'll make some good money at the market & later I spoke to the old farmer and he's given me till fridae (and lend of his oxy torch) to dismantle & remove it.
On the down side, my back hurts just thinking about it.
:roll:
Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

3.14159 wrote:Thins that me go WTF.
Me!

I went to a clearing auction (farm contents) today.
Bought some olde milk and cream cans, railwae lanterns,a leg vice, gold sluice, a big Stihl chainsaw, a Heinken bar fridge and lot of generally rusty stuff that I like to collect and sell, or throw in the recycle/rubbish bin.
Anywae I had bought enough stuff to fill the ute (even the back seats.. and the missus lap) so I went to settle-up when I noticed this huge cast Iron chaff cutter sitting in a 2 metre red-gum cradle.
I looked at it thought wow!
15 antique cast iron fly-wheels ($20-$50 each) & the cutting wheel alone is $150 in any collecters money.
I figured it's a about a tonne and a 1/2 in weight and it's worth maybe $90 in scrap & a metre of 100 year old red-gum in the cradle ($150) 15 antique cast iron fly-wheels ($20-$50 each) & the cutting wheel alone is $140 any day of the week.
It came up next, the bloke asked for $300..$200... $100 ...make me an offer!
So I called out "40 bucks!"
Crickets, silence, (even the frogs stopped croaking) no more offers.
Sold, yours mate!
I was expecting to be out bid... but not quite so soon.

Anywaes I took stock for a minute and realized this thing weighs nearly a ton and a 1/2 and don't have a winch that can handle anythink like that sort of weight.
... and its about 30 metres down a dirt walking track.
I haven't done much over the last month because my backs been funked up and then it hit me why it was so effing cheap

on the plus side it was a great buy and I'll make some good money at the market & later I spoke to the old farmer and he's given me till fridae (and lend of his oxy torch) to dismantle & remove it.
On the down side, my back hurts just thinking about it.
:roll:
Don't ever tell my husband about these places. OMG I can just see it now :cry:

Your poor wife
Tannin

Post by Tannin »

3. goes shopping, buys a chainsaw. This is news?
�Let's eat Grandma.� Commas save lives!

Post by 3.14159 »

It was a beautiful day so I took the missus with me.
She bought a tiny kids wheel-borrow abd a couple of cast-iron boot scrappers.
She looked soooo cute wheeling them across the paddock!
She wasn't as enthusiastic about the chaff c. (as I was) but I pointed out she wouldn't be required to dismantle this monster or transport it she calmed down.

Hey Jo,
I p.m photos of the dismantling, that'll put hubby off!.
Xx
Last edited by 3.14159 on Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

3.14159 wrote:It was a beautiful took the missus with me.
She bought a tiny kids wheel-borrow abd a couple of cast-iron boot scrappers.
She looked soooo cute wheeling them across the paddock!
She wasn't as enthusiastic about the chaff c. (as I was) but I pointed out she wouldn't be required to dismantle this monster or transport it she calmed down.

Hey Jo,
I p.m photos of the dismantling, that'll put hubby off!.
Xx
He once bought a thing that cleaned machinery, like a big jewellery cleaning tub, but for farm machinery, a sonic cleaner, the computer bit was as big as a wardrobe, and the bath was 11 metres long, 2.5 wide, and made of solid stainless steel. I sold it on eBay, made a heap on it though!

Believe me, I don't think it's possible to put him off!

Probably why I have a ships mooring thingy next to the pool!

Post by 3.14159 »

This is the chaff cutter (in tact and unmoved).

I spent day running round Ballaarat trying to hire a tandem trailer a big winch or better yet, a tilt tray tow-truck.
But I did some research (talked to oldest bloke I know) and found that I don't have to cut the thing into pieces and destroy it, even to harvest the parts.
Went back this arvo to buy some wood from a woman I met at the sale and stopped by take another look at it
The big old bolts and nuts were made to last back then and I managed to loosen a couple with a very olde spanner I found on the floor of my ute and all the gears and wheels can can be removed by gently knocking the pins out.
There's this bloke down the road from me (who is pulling boulders out this backyard to build himself a fish farm) who can give me a hand on Wednesday afternoon and lucky for me, he runs on the smell of an oily rag and works like a trojan.

I can sell it whole for a quick a couple of hundred or re-assemble it, wait a month (or a year or 10) and get 3-5 times that (but then it's gunna sit in my yard and get in my wae) so I'll stick plan A, dis-assemble and sell off the pieces starting this week-end at the annual Glen Lyon swap market.

That ships mooring bollard by the pool, how much do you want for it?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by 3.14159 on Mon Sep 23, 2013 10:18 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Member 7167

Post by Member 7167 »

3.14159 wrote:This is the beast.
Every home should have one. :? :?

Post by 3.14159 »

If I stripped this down (& cleaned off the rust) it would still work and believe it or not, people still buy chaff.
I don't want to get that business (hay-fever) so I'll sell it, make some money and preserve a piece of our history.

3.14159 wrote:This is the chaff cutter (in tact and unmoved).

I spent day running round Ballaarat trying to hire a tandem trailer a big winch or better yet, a tilt tray tow-truck.
But I did some research (talked to oldest bloke I know) and found that I don't have to cut the thing into pieces and destroy it, even to harvest the parts.
Went back this arvo to buy some wood from a woman I met at the sale and stopped by take another look at it
The big old bolts and nuts were made to last back then and I managed to loosen a couple with a very olde spanner I found on the floor of my ute and all the gears and wheels can can be removed by gently knocking the pins out.
There's this bloke down the road from me (who is pulling boulders out this backyard to build himself a fish farm) who can give me a hand on Wednesday afternoon and lucky for me, he runs on the smell of an oily rag and works like a trojan.

I can sell it whole for a quick a couple of hundred or re-assemble it, wait a month (or a year or 10) and get 3-5 times that (but then it's gunna sit in my yard and get in my wae) so I'll stick plan A, dis-assemble and sell off the pieces starting this week-end at the annual Glen Lyon swap market.

That ships mooring bollard by the pool, how much do you want for it?
We had 3 sold 2 and kept one, its next to the fence that surrounds the pump etc. have stuck a life guard horse shoe ring behind it. Makes a great chair! Il take a pic tomorrow.

That thing looks pretty cool! Xx
Nick - Pie Man

Post by Nick - Pie Man »

Faster than light neutrinos

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BFcKxL0z4lM

(academics are not known for their public speaking talents)

David with a bit of luck you might live long enough to find out the answers to your free will questions.

Now, I gotta learn how to build a neutrino radio so I can hear my messages from the future.