The consolidated Fev thread
- rocketronnie
- DaVe86
Yes I'd love him, and if the opportunity is there I'd expect us to be a player.
But...it's going to mean giving up a fair bit, and I just don't know he is worth it at 29 and at the salary required.
Will probably cost us our first 2 draft picks and Dawes as a minimum.
The thing is that Fev is only around the 191cm mark which means Jack is even taller. We actually need someone around the 195-198cm range to play CHF. Jack is the future in the forward line.
I'd give up anything for Jonathon Brown or Riewoldt...and I probably would Pavlich because he can play midfield if needed.
But Fev is an out and out full forward. There wouldn't be room for he and Jack. Fev would give us 2 years of service, which would stunt Jack's development.
But...it's going to mean giving up a fair bit, and I just don't know he is worth it at 29 and at the salary required.
The thing is that Fev is only around the 191cm mark which means Jack is even taller. We actually need someone around the 195-198cm range to play CHF. Jack is the future in the forward line.
I'd give up anything for Jonathon Brown or Riewoldt...and I probably would Pavlich because he can play midfield if needed.
But Fev is an out and out full forward. There wouldn't be room for he and Jack. Fev would give us 2 years of service, which would stunt Jack's development.
There's more to life than footy.........just not much more.
- rocketronnie
Bingo!woftam wrote:There are a number of more important factors to consider.
1 - How much do you give up for a 29 year old who will use a large chunk of your cap? I'm sure we already have someone in mind for that first round pick. What young player do we gift wrap to the scum as well? Price will be too high.
2 - How would our current crop of players feel about having a tool like Fevola signed by the club? Will it upset the apple cart?
3 - Will it stunt the development of young Jack?
The kid has kicked 50 goals in his first full AFL season.
A damn good effort in my book.
Personally I'd rather we went after Luke Ball & Jamie Charman.
Is Full Forward our biggest problem right now? Not even close.
Ruck & an inside mid would be nice.
Don't do it Ed
"Only the weak believe that what they do in battle is who they are as men" - Thomas Marshall - "Ironclad".
- DaVe86
I'm less worried about been a tool, and more worried about what he means to the structure of the side.
Getting Fev means Jack goes backwards. I just don't think you can play both him and Jack. They are both too shot to play CHF. They are in essence both traditional Full Forwards.
Trav plays the CHF role...then we need Medhurst back in form with Josh Fraser pinch-hitting up forward.
You offer the first round pick for Fev in a heartbeat along with someone like Dawes. And you'd pay his salary as well. But what becomes of Jack?
Getting Fev means Jack goes backwards. I just don't think you can play both him and Jack. They are both too shot to play CHF. They are in essence both traditional Full Forwards.
Trav plays the CHF role...then we need Medhurst back in form with Josh Fraser pinch-hitting up forward.
You offer the first round pick for Fev in a heartbeat along with someone like Dawes. And you'd pay his salary as well. But what becomes of Jack?
There's more to life than footy.........just not much more.
- regan is true fullback
just remember last year when the Herald Sun told Eddie that they would assign a photographer 24 hours a day to follow Cousins around if he went to Collingwood.
I would rather see the Pies recruit Luke Ball as we need a midfielder.
If we got them both great, but more likely, sadly, is that Fevola goes to the Saints, and Ball goes to the showponies.
I would rather see the Pies recruit Luke Ball as we need a midfielder.
If we got them both great, but more likely, sadly, is that Fevola goes to the Saints, and Ball goes to the showponies.
- Cam
- Has liked: 19 times
- Been liked: 28 times
You forget that Jack was earmarked as a key back. What better than to be able to swing him around ala Leppitsch.DaVe86 wrote:Yes I'd love him, and if the opportunity is there I'd expect us to be a player.
Get back on top.
- bwphantom
Sheez mate if you could sit back and watch that wanker Brereton play in the Black'n'White. Watching Fev is a walk in the park in comparison.Tannin wrote:Sorry, no. If Fevola plays for Collingwood, I wouldn't desert the club, I'd probably just stop watching Pies games for a few yeas till they retire the ugly scumbag. In the meantime, I dunno, maybe I'd watch Essendon instead, or maybe Sydney (I don't mind the Bloods), or perhaps take up watching Rugby Union for a while.
But the bottom line is, I am not interested in supporting a team with that ugly scumbag toolhead in it.
If I was a player, I'd ask to be traded. Who TF would want to share a locker room with that F-wit tool?
Saying that I just can't see him coming to us.
All this may be summed up in one word - CHARACTER - and if that is not worth developing, nothing is.
Jock McHale
Jock McHale
- rocketronnie
Do you ever think beyond YOUR immediate needs?Piesnchess wrote:^ Bite the bullet or we miss out Ronnie. That is what we would have to give if we went thru with this, it wont be an easy deal. Whats MM thinking, and Bucks i wonder.?
And if you think it would end with who we lose in the deal your dead wrong. So we give up our next 10 year player full back/CHB in Nathan Brown. Dawes will want out also - no way he'll sit in the seconds with that tool prancing around in the seniors. So there goes your ten year full forward. I doubt Jack and him will work well either so there goes Jack's development. Fevola's goal hungry demands for the ball, if honoured at Collingwood, will marginalise Medhurst. Leon and the other small forwards that are the extra dynamic we have in the forward line. Down goes their output.
And what happens when he goes missing every second game as he tends to do?
Fevola won't win us a premiership, deficiencies in his position is not the reason why we lost this year and his addition won't value add in those positions we need to improve in.
Just say no to Fevola!
"Only the weak believe that what they do in battle is who they are as men" - Thomas Marshall - "Ironclad".
- jack_spain
You know what really riles me about this speculation?
Last year some Collingwood supporters (including myself) were resigned to getting rid of Heater and Dids because of their off-field stuff-ups.
Now some people want the biggest off-field stuffer-upper around.
Sure he might kick some goals, but at what price? Affecting the culture of our playing group and further delaying the important development of our youngsters.
I for one would not be keen to trade Dawes away (with ten years of good football in him) for a Fev who might have two years at best.
Last year some Collingwood supporters (including myself) were resigned to getting rid of Heater and Dids because of their off-field stuff-ups.
Now some people want the biggest off-field stuffer-upper around.
Sure he might kick some goals, but at what price? Affecting the culture of our playing group and further delaying the important development of our youngsters.
I for one would not be keen to trade Dawes away (with ten years of good football in him) for a Fev who might have two years at best.
- Mr Smith Goes To C'Wood