Vale #1,#2,#3,#28 Captain Len Thompson

Player President threads here thanks.

y2Traci

Post by y2Traci »

R.I.P. Len, you and Peter McKenna were the reasons I started barracking for Collingwood!
I can't believe he's gone! :(

Condolences to Len's family and friends.
Last edited by y2Traci on Tue Sep 18, 2007 4:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.
"With hope in our hearts, and wings on our heels"
kambarker

Post by kambarker »

R.I.P. Len Thompson.

Condolences to your Family, the Collingwood Football Club and to all its members.

He gave us so much enjoyment, watching at Victoria Park, his amazing athleticism in the Ruck.

Floreat Pica.
Mossi
Been liked: 2 times

Post by Mossi »

R.I.P. Len thanks for the memories, condolenses to all your family and your close friends.

Post by Pa Marmo »

Lets hope the pies can get up for Thomos cup and bring home the silverware.
Genesis 1:1
cobood

Post by cobood »

What a shock... Heard it on the news at work and had to wait for the next lot for it to sink in...

Requiescat In Pace Len... Always a true gentleman.. we will miss you!

Condolences to family and friends

Frankie
....Collingwood Forever....
....Premiers 2010/
FunkyPieMaster

I also pass on my condolences

Post by FunkyPieMaster »

Like Jonno I got to meet up with Len when he visited Wests Aussie Rules in Sydney. A great man in all senses of the word. He had many great moments in footy which will be recounted heaps of times.
Unfortunately more than his fair share of bad luck on and off the field, which he shared with us when he spoke at Wests. He gave me the impression of being someone who took all this in his stride and gave everything his best in life.
It was a real honour to have met a legend of Collingwood along with all the other SCSC members who attended on the night. Len was a part of Collingwood's and football's history. We will miss him greatly.
I still reckon Rocca got that goal

We didn't get our 40 acres and a mule
But you're my piece of the rock
And I love you CC
Piethagoras' Theorem
Been liked: 2 times

Post by Piethagoras' Theorem »

Condolences to family & friends of big Len. May he rest in peace
Formally frankiboy and FrankieGoesToCollingwood.
Robbo.D.yobbo

Post by Robbo.D.yobbo »

R.I.P thommo....
fan4collingwood

Post by fan4collingwood »

I remember in 1970 or 1971, both Peter McKenna and Len Thompson were appearing at VFL House after being reported. So the whole cheersquad had a very quick meeting (at our usual time Monday night) then we headed off to the Spring Street VFL house to chant out the front for our big lads!

Both Thommo and McKenna were rapt with the support, but the officials were not very happy.
Heather

Post by Heather »

One of my heroes.....

Gone but not forgotten...

IT'S TIME PIES

Let's do it for all the departed fans...

Sincere sympathy to the whole Collingwood Family...
Everything is always Black & White
EBB

keep on, keeping on

Post by EBB »

fan4collingwood wrote:I remember in 1970 or 1971, both Peter McKenna and Len Thompson were appearing at VFL House after being reported. So the whole cheersquad had a very quick meeting (at our usual time Monday night) then we headed off to the Spring Street VFL house to chant out the front for our big lads!

Both Thommo and McKenna were rapt with the support, but the officials were not very happy.
LoL, nice one. Right now, he's probably having a little chuckle.
understanding stuff, with endeavour to overstand..
malteaser

Post by malteaser »

I tell you if we win the big one, it's for Thommo. He was a part of some very good teams who in a way let him down, we are not going to let anyone down this year.
May the seeds of hope bloom into the eurphoria of success. Go Pies
~Madness~

Post by ~Madness~ »

joffa corfe wrote:Laura Thompson has just rang me, she appears to be holding up pretty well.
Our thoughts are with you Laura in this time of extreme sadness
What a lovely girl Laura must be. She seemed to have been ringing those who were in Len's mobile phone. She was ringing and having a chat to those people who were obviously close enough to Len to be in his phone, what a lovely gesture and something which would have been terribly hard to do on this day.

My condolences go out to the family. This is very sad.

My father must have called Len up today to celebrate his (dad's) birthday today. My dad was a big collingwood man, perhaps he wanted more pies up there, he is there with Millane and Len having a beer now.
"whaaa whaaaaaa!
magpie_born_and_bred

Post by magpie_born_and_bred »

RIP LEN THOMPSON.

unfortunately not lucky enough to see him play, but still know my Collingwood history!

May he be at peace and the boys fire up and win in his honour!
We are the army, the Magpie Army, and we are mental, and we are mad, we are the loyalist football supporters, THE WORLD HAS EVER HAD!
regan is true fullback

Post by regan is true fullback »

It's a very sad day when one of your childhood heroes passes away.

Len took us from grainy black and white ABC replays to the living colour of the drawn grand final in 1977.

he was one of the all time greats, the original mobile ruckman.

He wasn't a ferocious protector like Weidemann or Tuddy, but for pure skill, there was never a better sight than Len taking off with the ball.

I guess it's a bit hard to ask the boys to put in a special effort on Friday night for Big Len, but for everything he did for Collingwood, thanks Len.