Post Match. Pies demolish Dons - all comments please

Damien
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 11 times

Post by Damien »

swoop42 wrote:Probably the least inspiring 12 goal win in a long time.

Yes we had 6 players who most would consider in our best 22 out but considering Essendon were missing Fletcher, Hurley and Pears from there defence, lost 2 midfielders in the first quarter and had 2 others play out the game injured then it was a gallant performance by them for a half.

That first quarter by us was our worst performance for the year.

On the positive side that was Krakouers best game for a long while and probably shows why he'll remain in the side and Fasolo displayed why many of us rate him as the heir apparent to Didak.
ffs!!!!

this team beat Geelong a few weeks back

they are either very good or very poor - not much inbetween...and they were very good for a half today.

How can you not have a good 12 goal win.

I thought we were in serious trouble when we were 5 goals down in the second qtr.

we won by 12 goals ffs.

and fasolo announced that he is not just a fill-in.

we are tapering nicely towards the finals.
'Collingwood are the Bradmans of Football'
The Herald - 1930
Piethagoras' Theorem
Been liked: 17 times

Post by Piethagoras' Theorem »

nulla wrote:
frankiboy wrote:
Duff Soviet Union wrote:
Brenny wrote:I hate Essendon...

I hate people wearing black and red.

I HATE Stanton, Reimers, Mcveigh, Monfries and Zaharakis...

I HATE Essendon supporters who sit in the Collingwood members area. To them I say, Firetruck you!

Beating essendon to me is the best thing since sliced bread.
My dad is an Essendon. I still hate them.
mum, dad and two sisters are essendon. I hate them more :wink:

Franki.... what are your feelings for Essendon :)
haha, ya got me there! :P
Formally frankiboy and FrankieGoesToCollingwood.
1eyedpie
Has liked: 8 times

Post by 1eyedpie »

Our disposal efficiency in the first half was terrible something like 46% compared to the bummers who were traveling at 76%

Swan was butchering the ball early! He couldn't get the ball to spin correctly and I fear he is suffering from OP. I must give him credit for his second half though.

The Bummers were spreading very well early and were taking enormous risks through the corridor early and kicking some arsey goals from outside 50. The ball was bouncing for them and they were getting the rub of the green from the men in yellow!

Midway through the second we picked up our disposal efficiency and started to control the game.

It was only a matter of time of when we would take the lead but this team just blew me away by the margin we won by! Here I was thinking we would probably win by 15 to 17 points well what can I say.......I have never witnessed a side like this!

As a few have mentioned this type of win will do a lot more for our team than what the Cats did to the Dreamons!

In boxing terminology were were on the ropes in the second qtr when we were 30 pts down (and according to AFL stats we were then only a 5% chance of wining the game) but like a true fighter not only did get back on even points but we delivered a knock out blow to our opposition!

didick wrote:Did Reimers the dog try and kick the footy and take off someone's head in our cheersquad in the last? We're in Q32 and from above it looked the flithbag tried to kick the footy hard and low. Pathetic.

He sure did! I wonder if he will get a please explain from the AFL. Very dangerouse indeed what he did and was no need for it!

AN_Inkling wrote:Fasolo... this kid has some serious skills, and the confidence to go with them. If Didak does not get back into form before the finals, Fas is our replacement. He may even edge someone like Blair or Beams out anyway. I'd have him ahead of both purely as a forward. Beams scares me as a forward, especially in a close game (missed a couple of sitters again today). Can't we find a spot for him in the middle or down back? Please?

Is there any chance we can start a petition so he can keep the No35!
Seriously it was great to see the No35 kick a bag of sausage rolls wasn't it!
Last edited by 1eyedpie on Sun Jul 31, 2011 7:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Never disperse your focus unless absolutely necessary. Face one adversary at a time!

BARRACK HARD!
Duff Soviet Union
Been liked: 2 times

Post by Duff Soviet Union »

jack_spain wrote:I'm satisfied with the final result, but we took an awful long time to get going.

Can't wait to get Heater and Toovey back in defense. It is one shaky unit right now (Leon Davis excepted). I think we underestimate just how much Heater's talk organises our backline (even more so than Maxwell's). And Toovey is just cool in a crisis.

It's not that Taz, Harry, Buckley, Johnson and Reid were badly beaten in the first half, but they were not as sharp as usual. Nick Maxwell is still in the side through a lack of genuine alternative. His thinking processes are quite panicked at times. He doesn't seem to trust himself to kick.

The foward line desperately needs Chris Dawes back for structure. Keefe is not up to it this year. He'll develop into a good player, but should not play a part in the finals this year (unless we are in dire straights with injuries). Didak must come back. Krakouer showed enough reason for us to stick with him and build his confidence (he's a wonderful kick for goal).

Fasolo is the real deal and will probably be this year's Jarryd Blair. Unfortunately for Blair, he'll probably be the one to make way for Didak. Wellingham is still valuable to this side as a backup mid, and of course Dale Thomas on song is our most valuable player. God we missed him in that first half.

Macaffer is really struggling and will probably drop out when Toovs comes back. Beams did more than enough to show why he is a useful team man. Sinclair will play bit parts this season, but watch out in 2012. He looks like a real gem. :D

What can you say about Luke Ball that hasn't already been said? When the Bummers had taken our pants down in the first half, Ball was one of the few players who stood up to them.

I'm glad Jolly played, and he must not be rested again for the rest of the season. He must play himself into form. He was rusty today.

Swan got a lot of the footy, but his disposal makes me shake my head too often these days. A good game, but not a great one (although the disposal beancounters will be enraptured with his 45 touches). It's how you use the ball that matters.

And that leads me to Scott Pendlebury. He simply doesn't miss shots on the run. In fact Pendles thinks like a basketballer. You can see him sizing up his shots, weighing up whether to lay the ball off to someone in a better position. But when he pulls the trigger he never misses - nothing but net!

I would make Scott Pendlebury Collingwood captain as soon as next year. He will certainly follow Nick Maxwell who will struggle to hold his place in the side unless he has a big pre-season.

Now is the time to start playing finals footy. Develop good habits to smash the opposition when it counts. I thought last week was a shocking second half. This week our first half was even worse. If we want to go back-to-back we simply must play four good quarters.
Agree with absolutely everything here. Swan had a great game and he's still a bloody good player, but his disposal has dropped off from the last 2 years (hopefully it's injury related) and he's turned back into 06/07 "really good player" Dane Swan instead of 08-10 "best midfielder in the comp" Dane Swan.
"We ain't gotta dream no more"
obleex

Post by obleex »

didick wrote:Did Reimers the dog try and kick the footy and take off someone's head in our cheersquad in the last? We're in Q32 and from above it looked the flithbag tried to kick the footy hard and low. Pathetic.
He sure did, the dog. Looked like he copped it from the cheersquad too from where I was sitting in Q35. F***ing nobody he is.
Donny
Has liked: 63 times
Been liked: 27 times

Post by Donny »

Reimers the dog ??

He sure did, the dog ??

What's with these derogatory references to dogs ?

It's a game. Enjoy it. :D
ThePieMind

Post by ThePieMind »

I saw an manic obsessive determination in BLAIR today that I have not seen before - his ability to fight and lock in or not concede the ground ball was unbelievable. There were a few time were he leapt at a bigger opponent while on his knees and stopped a handball, and created a stoppage.

Just amazing.
Blair, fasolo, Didak, Beams, macaffer will all be fighting for to few spots - great problem to have.
Didak at his best is a no brainer - and the rest, well I think it will depend on match ups so there are no certainties

Post by Doc63 »

Abosolutely wrapped with that win.

Essendon came out firing and their disposal by foot in the first half was just incredible. They just seemed to hit every target. Very hard to defend against that type of disposal efficiency.

I thought from early in the second quarter we began to hold them up and the game turned. Although we didnt hit the front until half way through the third, it just seemed like a matter of time. I would much rather have a game where we actually had to fight back, then go onto a big win than have a training run like Geelong had. There is big trouble at Melbourne, that win isnt all its cracked up to be.

Dont know what has happened to Swan's kicking on the run, its going all over the place. Still, he was much better in the second half.

Pendlebury though, is now the best player in the leauge. I'd pick him over any player in the competition. And what more can you say about Luke Ball, other than, once again, thanks Ross!!

I think today we saw just how important Dawes is to the side. Keefe will be a very handy player, but at this stage, he just cant give us that physical pressence that Dawes can.

Great to see Number 35 kicking some wonderful goals again. He's going to be a very good player Fasolo. Might even hold his place for the Finals. Yet another inspired pick by Hine.

All in all, it was the margin I was expecting, just not the way I was expecting it. We will pump Port next week. They are an absoulute rabble. Then, we should ramp it right up to remind St Vomit just who the reigning Premiers are.
I hold a cup of wisdom, but there is nothing within.
Jcub

Post by Jcub »

I go to the footy with 3 other guys, and we often make a prediction before the game. Our predictions were 27, 40, 62 and 73 point victories, with mine being 73. At the last break, when we were 19 points up, my mates joked about my 73 point margin prediction, but i stuck to my guns. Lo and behold, we beat it by a point! What a great arvo at the footy! I think I enjoy us beating Essendon as much as Carlton......

As for the actual game, obviously the first quarter was disappointing, but Essendon played out of their skins and had a lot go their way. Every bounce of the ball seemed to favour them. Having said this, I think to a point you make your own luck, and when we only had about a dozen tackles for the first quarter it is indicative of the level of pressure we were applying (or not applying).
Geez we missed Daisy and Heater! Pendles was BOG in my opinion, as he makes every possie count. It is very exciting to see players like Fasolo and Sinclair come in and contribute in a very good side. Imagine the selectors' dilemma when Tooves, Didak, Wellers etc are available!! The only no brainer for me is Buckley and Keefe out and Tooves and Dawes back in when they are fit. As for the rest, it gets a little more complicated, but it is a great problem to have.
I like Buckley but he does an awful lot of bombing the ball to nobody.
Keefe has a lot of potential, but isn't ready yet for the big time.
Overall, its pretty hard to be unhappy when we smash Essendon :)
Daicos... nearly runs out of room.... HE GOALS!
GreekLunatic
Been liked: 17 times

Post by GreekLunatic »

I love the bombers supporters who go with a full side they would beat us. We are missing 8 premiership players to . We played one half and won by 74 points.
jack_spain

Post by jack_spain »

DSU reacts to jack_spain's summary of the game...
Duff Soviet Union wrote: Agree with absolutely everything here.
:shock: Has the world ended or something? :lol:

...No that happens next week when the US economy collapses. :wink:
AnthonyC

Post by AnthonyC »

maggies2003 wrote:Lets not get carried away.

We played against a team missing most of their team and they also lost their interchange during the game..

It could have been a very very different result if not for their injuries during the game..
Oh FFS, will you just get over it.

Post by Doc63 »

AnthonyC wrote:
maggies2003 wrote:Lets not get carried away.

We played against a team missing most of their team and they also lost their interchange during the game..

It could have been a very very different result if not for their injuries during the game..
Oh FFS, will you just get over it.
Exactly. We might have only won by 8 goals!!
I hold a cup of wisdom, but there is nothing within.
AnthonyC

Post by AnthonyC »

Doc63 wrote:Exactly. We might have only won by 8 goals!!
What is exactly, Doc, is that our friend maggies is a closet scum supporter. Not that they try to hide it.

Post by AN_Inkling »

Doc63 wrote: Pendlebury though, is now the best player in the leauge. I'd pick him over any player in the competition.
I agree. And it's all about effectiveness. He wins the contested ball as well as anyone, but unlike a Judd or maybe a Ball, he doesn't hack the ball forward hoping a teammate can get on the end of it, or make a dinky two metre handball - he puts on a move or two, creates space, looks like he's not even trying and hits the best option with a nicely weighted handball or pinpoint pass. Sure, it doesn't look as impressive as Judd getting rid of the ball with players hanging off him, but it's far more effective.

Swan is more like Judd in that way and uses his muscle to break through tackles, and is often under pressure or having just broken away from pressure when delivering a pass - hence their disposal efficiency is never going to be as good as Scott's (along with the fact that Pendles is just a better kick than both).

The other aspect of his game that is a joy to behold is his finishing - he may even be better than Sidebottom (whaddya reckon Mike? :D). The way he calmly puts through tough, angled and snapped shots at goal is simply amazing; has rarely missed this year. Again, Judd and Swan are simply not even close to being in Pendlebury's league in this area.

The coolest, calmest, silkiest and yes, I think, even best player in the comp.
Well done boys!