Page 50 of 100
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:34 pm
by molloymagic
if we don;t get fev there will be more anti why can;t we get anyone threads
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:37 pm
by GreekLunatic
Ill be funny if we do sign him and thats a big if. I wonder what our price for the flag will be.
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:38 pm
by mattys123
molloymagic wrote:if we don;t get fev there will be more anti why can;t we get anyone threads
All I can say is that if Fev stays at Carlton, which seems about a 90% chance now, then anyone who says we "failed" again should just shut up and actually think before they post.
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:40 pm
by rocketronnie
Fatui Attata wrote:The Football Department - including Malthouse, Buckley and Walsh - know a thing or two about the Collingwood Football Team and its needs going forward. Which is more than I can say for the majority of the posters in all these Fevola threads who once again are unfortunately caught in our traditional mode of big-name quick-fix hysteria. Ho-hum.....
Dunno about this case though. Is it not strikingly obvious to you that, even from the top deck of the Ponsford, row zzzzzzzz, that we consistently fail to kick enough goals? Fev will add value to our goal kicking ability. That could be anywhere between 3-8 goals a match! They will replace the 3-8 times we don't win the ball inside 50 and the opposition rebounds and scores. Not every time of course, but Fevola is a bag o' goals forward. With supply from Leon, Dids, Thomas, Pendles, Beams, Swanny & (most of all) Sidebottom, Fev will regularly have a picnic! And then there's JA & Medders & Cloke as other options.
Excuse our collective interest in this spot on horses for courses opportunity of a Draft Week of a lifetime.
When was the last time a Coleman Medallist was put up for trade? Probably before the Coleman Medal existed!
If we get him, you'll catch on.
And yes, I have a lot of respect for our Football Dept and will accept their decision with blind faith. Be good to know their reasons and I think, in this case, the fans should be given insight to their decision, whichever way it goes.
But I would love to see our current line up with Fev in it!!!![/quote]
Its a simplistic quick fix with more downside than up. I doubt having Fevola would lead to any further advancement in the finals than what we achieved this year.
Our player development including key forwards is keyed towards long term development and getting Fevola just doesn't assist this. And its likely if we do get him that we would lose a very valuable ten year key forward option leaving the club due to lack of opportunity.
His off-field behaviour speaks for itself - its quite clear that he lack the capacity to develop the insight necessary to change. I don't want to see a Fevola inspired media circus at Collingwood. We spent a lot of blood and tears cleaning up our player culture and you want the leagues' worst offender at our club. We may as well not have disciplined Didak and Shaw if that's the case.
Im comfortable if we don't pick him up as it is obvious the football department is building a team for the long term and Fevola doesnt fit that model.
Every year around this time this board goes into 'big name quick fix hysteria' and the Fevola push is just the latest version of that.
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:41 pm
by Pied Piper
rocketronnie wrote:jack_spain wrote:You know what really riles me about this speculation?
Last year some Collingwood supporters (including myself) were resigned to getting rid of Heater and Dids because of their off-field stuff-ups.
Now some people want the biggest off-field stuffer-upper around.
Sure he might kick some goals, but at what price? Affecting the culture of our playing group and further delaying the important development of our youngsters.
I for one would not be keen to trade Dawes away (with ten years of good football in him) for a Fev who might have two years at best.
I AGREE!
Who would have thought Fev would bring us together?
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:46 pm
by ktszyu1
I'd gladly give up our first two picks for him.
It's a shallow draft, and we have an abundance of youngsters. I'd be very reluctant to trade any of Brown, Dawes or Reid, but the two draft picks mean nothing to us given the state of our list. Our window is wide open, and a dominant forward is the missing piece of the puzzle. Get him.. and watch him dominate.
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:50 pm
by Doska#6
I would trade Davis and Pick 14 to West Coast for there Pick 7
I will then give Pick 7 & Dawes to Carlton!
I like Dawes but you need to give something to get, same with Davis plus his a Western Australian and goes missing in finals.
We lose: Pick 14, Davis & Dawes
Still keep: Reid, Nathan Brown, Cloke, Anthony, McCarthy, Maccafer etc
I'd also trade Wellingham away if he wants to go home as a Steak Knife or to secure a draft pick.
We lose Dawes and Pick 14 but we pick up a Coleman medalist that has kicked nearly 200 goals in 2 seasons with a bit of a drinking problem, but with good management we will keep him in line.
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:52 pm
by eddiesmith
Davis and pick 14? I dont think so, if we are to trade with West Coast it will be to keep a first round pick, maybe throw in a 3rd rounder, but Davis is worth more than just an upgraded 1st round pick
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:57 pm
by woftam
melliot wrote:He is worth 2 first round picks or the equivelant grade players.
The cheapest will be 1st + 2nd round or the equivelant grade players.
Pick 14 and Pick 30....or
Pick 14 & Wellers or Goldsack.
I was really keen on Fev yesterday. Starting to cool off him a bit now. Not sure, but we'll wait and see.
One thing is for sure. MM and crew will be damned if they do and damned if they don't. hmmm.
He isn't worth anywhere near that.
(A)He is 29 not 21.
(B)He is pretty much getting the arse for constant bad behavior
(C) We would already be relieving the Scum of 500,000 to 700,000 of their cap which will allow them to grab yet another big name player.
Perhaps we should just drop our duds and bend over?
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 9:58 pm
by BEAMER09
ktszyu1 wrote:I'd gladly give up our first two picks for him.
It's a shallow draft, and we have an abundance of youngsters. I'd be very reluctant to trade any of Brown, Dawes or Reid, but the two draft picks mean nothing to us given the state of our list. Our window is wide open, and a dominant forward is the missing piece of the puzzle. Get him.. and watch him dominate.
Agree...
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:00 pm
by Tannin
To gain:
We would need to give up:
- Good players
- Good picks
- Good money
- Team cohesiveness and trust - Fevola is not a team player
- Team balance: OK, our forward line hasn't always functioned this year, but it has made progress, a lot of progress. We have moved on past the old tried-and-failed kick-it-long-to-Rocca one-dimensional gameplan in attack, and are a much beter side because of it.
- At least one of the quality young key forwards we have in the making: Jack, Dawes, Rusling if he can ever get on the park.
- Quite a lot of members and supporters who, like me, would have no interest in watching a Collingwood with this tool as a spearhead.
- Any pretence that we are a team that the parents of good young players can feel comfortable with, and know that their teenage sons won't be led into bad company and worse habits.
- Any claim we have to being a quality club
- Self respect
Just say no.
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:02 pm
by melliot
Doska#6 wrote:I would trade Davis and Pick 14 to West Coast for there Pick 7
I like Dawes but you need to give something to get, same with Davis plus his a Western Australian and goes missing in finals.
I'd also trade Wellingham away if he wants to go home as a Steak Knife or to secure a draft pick.
We lose Dawes and Pick 14 but we pick up a Coleman medalist that has kicked nearly 200 goals in 2 seasons with a bit of a drinking problem, but with good management we will keep him in line.
WTF! your off ya tree. Davis is worth a first round pick on his own.
That is the worst deal I've read. You gain Fev for Pick 14 davis & dawes. Geez, Blues would luv ya. I'd prefer to keep our list as is. Your offering as much as the blues did for judd!
Blues want fev out. if their fair dinkum, they'll just take the best offer. We only have to beat the other offers in the end and there aint to much competition for his services.
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:03 pm
by woftam
Doska#6 wrote:I would trade Davis and Pick 14 to West Coast for there Pick 7
I read it yet I cannot believe it.
They want to unload him because supposedly the skipper wants him gone or else. No one else seems interested because of his age and salary yet we will throw Leon, Dawes & our first round pick on him?
Lets hope the powers that be can do a little better than that, or I for one would be pretty pissed off at the club.
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:10 pm
by Tannin
Melliot, back off. Hands of Doska#6! I saw him first!
(Just for your information, I'm working on a deal with him already. You see, he wants the concert ticket I have, which cost me $60. So far, he has offered me a $50 note, a bank cheque for $70, and another $50 note, but we are only in the early stages of negotiation and I reckon he's probably good to raise his offer a bit. Just stay out of my way here while I negotiate: I reckon I can get him to throw in the keys to his ute and a case of good scotch.)
Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:14 pm
by luket
i cannot believe peole r willing to give away pick 14 or our 2nd round pick..remember last year we got sidebottom (11) and beams (29) with our first 2 picks. this year we could get the same..no chance in hell we r giving up our draft picks to those dickheads at visy park..lets not 4get, to get this baboon who yes is a proven 80+ goalkicker,
1) carlton will try and strip us of early draft picks (not happening)
2) take away dawes or rusling or even reid, either way if he comes in he stuffs up our forward line structure and pushes a young kid (dawes, rusling, macaffer) out of the equation.
3) no chance we r bringing this imbecile into our club with young guns (sidebottom and beams) he could hamper