Post match - Pies v. Dockers. All comments.

Dr Alf Andrews

Post by Dr Alf Andrews »

At least Port won :lol:
nitric

Re: Someone asked wether Mick's lost the players.....well...

Post by nitric »

[quote="Bring_back_rupert"]Mick lost the players on the night of the GF loss of 2003, ...quote]

Yeah. pretty much spot on. That flogging today has been coming for some time.

We started the season with a bunch of top players unavailable. Why would you do that?

We could have hired Eade anytime in the previous 24 months but left it till it was too late and he suddenly had bigger fish to fry. Why would you do that?

We could have stitched up Nick Stevens, but hey? Let him go. Why would you do that?

I see everyone is hot on the WA Mafia. OK. Why did we miss Gay Rig? How did that happen?

Look guys 'n gels. We are what we are and right now things are grim, Jim.

I'm barracking for the Pies next week. And the week after that. And the week after that, too.

That's ALL I can do.

And right now, that's all I want to do.

Edward De Bono was in town this week urging everyone to think laterally.

Let's buy HIM!
bokka

Post by bokka »

Sultan of spin wrote:The players were a disgrace but lets just have a look at a few of the coaching moves.

1 Jason Cloke starts on Pavlich - blind freddy could tell you that Cloke was going to be to slow for Pavlich, he waits untill Pav has kicked 3 set up a couple more and the game is basically over before making a change.

2 Shaw plays Back pocket for the entire 1st half - Our quickest player and best ball winner so fair this season is sent right to the goal square to pick up Headland and co. When he moved into the middle in the 2nd half he was quite good, but it was all over.

3 Burns and Licuria on bench - Our 2 best midielders spent ridiculous amounts of time on the bench while we are getting absolutely pumped in the middle.

4 Cole playing back pocket - He has been getting goals kicked on him everyweek but still MM persists playing in the back pocket. He is quick and tough why not give him a run in the middle?
I knew about the brilliant JCloke on Pavlich stratregy from listening on the radio, but the other genius moves you mentioned seem typical MM inspirational stuff too! inspirational for who but?...
Last edited by bokka on Mon May 09, 2005 1:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
bokka

Post by bokka »

YOu want to look at the effect a good coach has... Footscray: probably do have a better list than us; Richmond probably not (brace yourselves for next week against Wallace), and CArlton definitely have a worse list.
Someone who's big in woods hierarchy should start some discussions - confidential talks with individual players to see if confidence in the coach is irretrievable (looks like it to me); quiet words with other prospects to plan for next year - I like Gary Lyon, also MM2 (MMcguane), Crossisca, Carmen, DAicos at least as assistant/forward coach. A team with 2 or 3 of these would bring a new era IMO.
And what about the conditioning? MM gave a back-hander about poor conditioning of the list when he took over from Shaw, but now we have players going down like 9-pins from what seem like stress injuries. Are they being overtrained or what is the problem?? If you hot up a car engine too much it will just burn out after performing above its specs for a few months, Rocca seems a good eg of this. Fraser is another who I suspect has been played and trained into the ground, terrible waste.
Last edited by bokka on Mon May 09, 2005 12:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
magpies are 2 good

Post by magpies are 2 good »

the game against freo could of been a chance to put tazza in the midfield to see what he is like in there.
grims

Post by grims »

Well we got flogged today by a team with possibly the worst coach going around at the moment. Still confuses me why he ever played Matthew Pavlich anywhere but CHF.
bokka

Post by bokka »

grims wrote:Well we got flogged today by a team with possibly the worst coach going around at the moment. Still confuses me why he ever played Matthew Pavlich anywhere but CHF.
It's called innovation, which is always risky.
Was probably very good for his development also - same would apply to Tarrant being played midfield.
So is he the worst coach? I don't think so. WAtch out for Freo if they can strengthen their backline.
eddiesmith
Has liked: 11 times
Been liked: 24 times

Post by eddiesmith »

Taz was sick? They actually let him go out and get pissed in Perth as well? geez, you would hope they had some control over their players on interstate trips

What can you say? It was a damn disgrace

Good to see our fans are as hypocritical as ever
dalyc
Been liked: 12 times

Post by dalyc »

MagpieDynasty wrote:In reality, just who can come up from Willi and make an impact. The Shaw boys? Rusling? There is a fine line in making a statement to senior non performers and exposing youth to potential harm(mentally speaking).

Thoughts anyone
Thought? Yes. I've read this sort of tripe a few times on this forum. Nurse maid the young players for fear that they will not be able to handle getting beaten.

I say "Play Them", if they are good keep them, if they are not release them!. If they can't handle getting beaten, then let's see THEM fight to WIN.

Stop babysitting young players - or what we end up with is 24 year olds with heaps of POTENTIAL, who are weak at the ball, and weak mentally, who look around for other people to do something when things get hard.
boss351

Post by boss351 »

Dr Alf Andrews wrote:At least Port won :lol:
lol Alf I can see everyone here preparing the hangmans noose for you, though im sure they think its a waste of rope ;)
Warbler

Post by Warbler »

What has really pissed me off is that instead of being able to sit back this week & watch the media & their supporters rip the filth to bits for their performance --------- weve taken the spotlight !

What pisses me off even more is the way we've played this year , except for maybe one 1/4 of footy against the filth .

I wish I had answers cos it's gut wrenching to eagerly anticipate the start of the season , then have to watch the performances we have .
GoWoodsmen

Thanks Blues

Post by GoWoodsmen »

Never thought I'd be saying this... but thanks Carlton for our only victory of the year, it's was nice of you to forsee the future and provide us with one four pointer.....

that was the most disgraceful, pathetic, woeful, disgusting, horrible efforts in a decade....
pepstar

Post by pepstar »

i wouldn't even call that an effort.
The players obviously are just playing to earn money.
they play with no intencity or purpose at all.

they a not even disgaceful, there are no words to describe them..
Last edited by pepstar on Mon May 09, 2005 9:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
themilleys

Post by themilleys »

Well done to Davies, Yakka, Shaw, Rowey, Tex and Nicky Maxwell.

Looked like these guys played for the jumper yesterday and had a crack all day.

501cfc wrote:
Dale61 wrote:Caution, starting with.....?

I know, Tom Davidson kicked two goals in the Williamstown reserves game today.
i know tom davidson might not be there at the end of the year
What? You may be correct if he doesn't get a chance to run in the seniors, but if he does I very much doubt he will go at the end of the year.