Like Pendles I see him as a future Captain too.RudeBoy wrote:I see him as a potential Pendles type midfielder, with his calmness under pressure and elite disposal skills.thompsoc wrote:It would be interesting to see if Langdon could play forward.
He reads the flight of the ball so well.
He can also kick long.
Last night in the last quarter he kicked a 60 m bomb at the goal.
#41,#8 Tom Langdon
- Damien
- Has liked: 3 times
- Been liked: 11 times
'Collingwood are the Bradmans of Football'
The Herald - 1930
Sorry to go off thread but Cats just delisted their first round pick from 4 / 5 years ago ( mitch brown )
Facts are the longer you are in charge of your clubs recruiting fortunes, the more likely you are going to get a couple wrong.
I look at it this way, 8 years of consecutive finals appearances before we missed out in 2014, we havent done that much wrong on draft day.
Recruiting free agents, thats another story.
Facts are the longer you are in charge of your clubs recruiting fortunes, the more likely you are going to get a couple wrong.
I look at it this way, 8 years of consecutive finals appearances before we missed out in 2014, we havent done that much wrong on draft day.
Recruiting free agents, thats another story.
Gary Player “ the harder I practice, the luckier I get “
- uuuuu..... The LoneSTAR
- Tannin
Zap! Kapow! Zowie! (as they say in the Batman comics) Smashed that rank long hop right out of the stadium!Flashman wrote:Hine wasn't in charge of recruiting in 2004 and Egan was another dud pick by Noel Judkins (one of heaps that spud gave us) so best you get your facts right before you criticize Hine for Chris Egan.thompsoc wrote:Yes Mr Know All.
Chris Egan pick 10 in 2004 from Hine was a bobby dazzler!
Seriously I never said it was a certainty getting an A grader from the top 10.
Only it wasn't that hard.
His 5 top 10 picks last decade produced 4 A graders and one dud.
But of those four - Pendles, Daisy, Brown and Reid were all highly rated.
So wow he is an absolute genius!!!! Only Hine could have done that!
Next time get your rose coloured glasses off.
Hine had Pendles (who wasn't considered a top 10 pick at the time) and Thomas as his first selections in 2005 when everyone reckoned we should have went Xavier Ellis at pick 2. Hine knew better and these two were absolute keys for the 2010 flag whereas Ellis was only ever an ordinary player and Pendlebury has turned out to be the best player from that draft hands down imo.
Hine has got some wrong but uncovered some gems and for the inexact science of recruiting I'd say he's far more in credit than debit. He's very good at what he does.
Hine has been excellent for us.
�Let's eat Grandma.� Commas save lives!
- thompsoc
Good to see i am getting under your skin Stupied.
Really the abuse is not necessary.
I mean i could call you STUPID! But i won't.
Never said a monkey could do better - I just said he wasn't the genius the
rose coloured brigade claims he is.
Obviously you are a paid up member of that brigade.
Really the abuse is not necessary.
I mean i could call you STUPID! But i won't.
Never said a monkey could do better - I just said he wasn't the genius the
rose coloured brigade claims he is.
Obviously you are a paid up member of that brigade.
Last edited by thompsoc on Sun Apr 05, 2015 7:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
we don't eat our own at collingwood we just allow them to foul our nest.
- thompsoc
Hine was in charge in 2004.Flashman wrote:Hine wasn't in charge of recruiting in 2004 and Egan was another dud pick by Noel Judkins (one of heaps that spud gave us) so best you get your facts right before you criticize Hine for Chris Egan.thompsoc wrote:Yes Mr Know All.
Chris Egan pick 10 in 2004 from Hine was a bobby dazzler!
Seriously I never said it was a certainty getting an A grader from the top 10.
Only it wasn't that hard.
His 5 top 10 picks last decade produced 4 A graders and one dud.
But of those four - Pendles, Daisy, Brown and Reid were all highly rated.
So wow he is an absolute genius!!!! Only Hine could have done that!
Next time get your rose coloured glasses off.
Hine had Pendles (who wasn't considered a top 10 pick at the time) and Thomas as his first selections in 2005 when everyone reckoned we should have went Xavier Ellis at pick 2. Hine knew better and these two were absolute keys for the 2010 flag whereas Ellis was only ever an ordinary player and Pendlebury has turned out to be the best player from that draft hands down imo.
Hine has got some wrong but uncovered some gems and for the inexact science of recruiting I'd say he's far more in credit than debit. He's very good at what he does.
Hine has been excellent for us.
Check the records
As for that spud Judkins he did give us Swan at a late pick who just happened to win a brownlow.
And he gave us Maxwell and Didak and Fraser and.....
As for Pendles not being a top 10 draft pick - well the Age had him at no.8
on the morning of the draft.
But you know everything...
Last edited by thompsoc on Sun Apr 05, 2015 7:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- thompsoc
Hine played footy for Prahran and then coached them. He came to us in 2003 and worked in welfare and player development. When he arrived Judkins was the national recruitment man. The whole footy dept was restructured in 2005. Judkins was demoted and Hine promoted. I think from memory the recruitment of Egan was a Judkins and Malthouse choice. Chris Egan came from Rumbulara and there were question marks on his commitment.
The thing is the gift with recruitment is not just spotting the talent but estimating if the player will fulfil that talent. Once the name is called out the player is in charge of his destiny and the recruiter moves on hoping he was a good judge of a young man's character. I have heard Hine speak of how he analyses that intangible quality. You gotta say he has great intuition for reading the level of a players long term levels of dedication to improve his game.
Magpies love pies(Lol)
- Tannin
In defence of Judkins, Egan was a more than reasonable selection. Yep, he didn't work out in the end, but a lot of kids need to be settled down in their early years at an AFL club. Clubs are pretty good at doing that and mostly succeed. In this case they didn't. That's life. It happens. But make no mistake, Chris Egan had awesome talent. Awesome. If the coaching staff had been able to find a way to get the right sort of firecracker up his arse, Egan could have been up there with the likes of Pendleburty, Judd, Hird, Buckley, Swan, Voss - an absolute gun. What's he doing now? Flipping burgers?
Yep, it didn't work out. But I wouldn't blame the recruiter. Even with top ten picks, some of them don't pan out the way you would expect. That's just life.
�Let's eat Grandma.� Commas save lives!
- stui magpie
- Has liked: 126 times
- Been liked: 161 times
- thompsoc
One of the reasons Hine was called a genius does go back to the picks of Pendles and Daisy.
Both were not rated in the top 5 by any club.
But both were rated in the top 15 by most clubs.
But everyone believed that both had tremendous upside given their backgrounds.
They were both good picks but both were not entirely left field.
But then again Hine 2007 picks were a shocker.
The point I am trying to make is that sometimes the Media and fans just run
with the same old cliques that are not always accurate over a period of time.
if I had pick 2 and pick 5 in the draft and I went with players ranked outside the top 5 but in the top 15 AND then those same 2 players turn out to be 2 of the top 10 players in the competition in a premiership won just 4 years later, then make no mistake, that is ABSOLUTE Genius!!! especially if the other players that were ranked in the top 5 turned out to be ordinary footballers.thompsoc wrote:One of the reasons Hine was called a genius does go back to the picks of Pendles and Daisy.
Thomsoc, I've been quietly reading all the threads following our win. I am absolutely shocked at your response to our win. Its kind of like you were hoping to jump on your soapbox but weren't allowed and so now you are just throwing punches like a drunk sailor. really surprising. Never saw you as that kind of poster. don't lose faith mate, we play a very good Adelaide team next week. chances are you will get to throw the boots in following that game.