Post match: Pies lose to Dogs. All comments please.

Flashman wrote:We flattered to deceive in the first half year against assorted garbage and the flotsam and jetsam of the AFL.

When the whips have really started cracking against decent opposition we've shown ourselves to be pretenders and nothing else.

How many excuses are we expected to swallow "Oh we don't play Ethihad well" "Cloke and Elliott were injured" "We tried hard" "The umps were against us" blah blah blah...

The facts are for the second consecutive year we've gone from certain finalists and potential top 4 to a bag of shit in a matter of weeks.

Supposedly the trevails of last year were supposed to hold us in stead this year instead we're delivering largely the same crap (woeful skills by foot, lax defensive midfield and a non functioning forward line). We've learnt nothing but the gullible back slapper are appeased that the blowouts from last year have turned into honourable losses. As far as I'm concerned they are the same bag of crap and a loss is a loss.

There was a very promising, exciting and well drilled and coached side out there today and they weren't called Collingwood.
Not as many as you might think.
swoop42
Been liked: 8 times

Post by swoop42 »

The dogs are the ones with legitimate excuses with a first year coach.

Beveridge has achieved a lot in just one preseason and shows it's totally tosh to believe it takes years to implement changes to game plans that markedly improve a sides performance.

It's taken us 4 to show some genuine improvement.

We've had a cushy draw and less injuries yet still heading for another 11-11 season.

Contract extension beyond 2016 must not be offered now unless we make finals.
He's mad. He's bad. He's MaynHARD!
matrix10

Post by matrix10 »

GoWoodsmen wrote:
ANNODAM wrote:Buckley can coach against shit sides, against good sides he has NFI...
You cannot say that. If we were getting belted by 10 goals against these sides, fair enough. Even in the last two weeks, where if you only take into account scoring shots, we should have been destroyed. Instead we have lost 5 games by an average of about 13 points.

Something is wrong and despite it feeling horrible we're actually not that far away. I'm not accepting honourable loss either... just saying, you do not lose by as little as we have if you are a rubbish team.

We're not defending like Melbourne or St Kilda have in the past - eg. Not trying to win.

God knows what next week brings but I have zero confidence again because we just don't know how to get over the line anymore. That bloody Hawthorn game was the turning point. Should have smashed them and taken massive confidence into the following week. Instead we lose... and the rest is history.
Bingo.

Clearly a few blokes have lost confidence/been found out- yet we keep contesting until the end and have not been destroyed in any game.

Etihad is a horrible ground and suits the dogs fast break footy style.

Our biggest problem the past two weeks is our midfield- no Taylor Adams has cost us big time.

Still reckon we can sneak a final- which would be ideal for our young list.

Win the next two - get our mojo back and anything is possible.
stoliboy
Been liked: 57 times

Post by stoliboy »

Another loss in a pretty similar fashion. Behind all day, the opposition killing us in every contest, and we are still in the game due to poor kicking from the opposition.

Ben Kennedy was the stand out today for one of the worst games ever by a Collingwood player. Didn't make the distance 40 out directly in front, hand-balled to a Bulldogs player just outside the box to hand the Dogs a goal. Today just out of his depth. Kennedy has to be dropped after that performance.

Pendles has to be injured. I think it is time to put the players who have been carrying injuries under the knife and get them ready for 2016. Get a solid pre-season into them. Rather than playing at 65% when we need them at 100%.

Moore. Well done. 5 goals in any game is a great achievement.

Looking to our forward line for next year we can't afford to carry an entire forward line that can't kick goals. Jesse White has to be moved on. He can't take a mark. Can't kick. Unless we can reinvent him as a backman or something else he has to go.

On a final point the whole team are spent. Those valiant losses to the Hawks and Freo have taken too much out of us. If we had snagged one of those games we might have still had the energy to carry on this year but clearly the players have dropped after that. The game plan, skills, etc all a shadow of the first half of our season.

Time to focus on 2016. Fix up the injuries and think about what out team will look like next year (and who won't be there).
Sydney Collingwood Supporters Club
http://sydneymagpies.magpies.net/

Post by September Zeros »

thompsoc wrote:Where have all the happy sacks gone?
They love to bash the realists on here after
every win or honourable loss.
Your silence is deafening!!!!
Dickhead of the week award, most of us posted, moron. :? :? :? :?
Was just thinking the same......obviously couldn't see it given the bulk of us are dissapointed at present.

Some just manage to keep a better perspective I guess.
No Pressure, No Diamonds

Has liked: 134 times
Been liked: 182 times

swoop42 wrote:The dogs are the ones with legitimate excuses with a first year coach.

Beveridge has achieved a lot in just one preseason and shows it's totally tosh to believe it takes years to implement changes to game plans that markedly improve a sides performance.

It's taken us 4 to show some genuine improvement.

We've had a cushy draw and less injuries yet still heading for another 11-11 season.

Contract extension beyond 2016 must not be offered now unless we make finals.
The Welfare is coming off a ridiculously low base and I have seen nothing to suggest they will be seriously competitive within the next 5 years. They have no key position players of any acceptable quality (unless Boyd suddenly comes good) and are incapable of beating a decent team in a final.
swoop42
Been liked: 8 times

Post by swoop42 »

Then where does that leave us?
He's mad. He's bad. He's MaynHARD!
Magpietothemax
Has liked: 26 times
Been liked: 31 times

Post by Magpietothemax »

matrix10 wrote: Bingo.

Clearly a few blokes have lost confidence/been found out- yet we keep contesting until the end and have not been destroyed in any game.

Our biggest problem the past two weeks is our midfield- no Taylor Adams has cost us big time.

Agree totally. Our biggest issue last two weeks has been the massive loss of Taylor Adams to our midfield. Greenwood has not yet had time to develop his engine and knowledge of our team. I am sure that the Pies next week will be much more powerful with his return next week.
With Moore likewise a new factor in the equation, it is true that anything is possible even now.

Post by 35forever »

CarringbushCigar wrote:How the hell we lose that with dominant ruck, dominant mids and the most dominant forward?
Precisely!!!

Our players are the best, capable of beating anyone.

How do they lose 5 in a row for the first time this century???

It can't be the players, it must be something else..... The boot Studder?
I'd say the kicking coach, but spectacularly, we don't HAVE ONE!!!!!!
"If at first you dont succeed...
... oh who cares, we did it!!!!!"

Post by Doc63 »

Well, that we an extremely disappointing effort. Only things to get excited about were Moore & De Goey

Moore is going to be a ripper. Just play him every game now - get some experience into him.

Where are all the regular 2nds watchers who were bagging Bucks for not playing Kennedy now?? This bloke is a 24 karat spud - pure & simple. Not even trade bait.

Unless Reid injures himself in his sleep during the week, may as well bring him in now. For either Witts, or White. I'm thinking Witts. Unfortunately, I think we need to play White to give Grundy some help.

Speaking of Grundy, another great effort today. Pity I cant say the same about Witts & White. How can someone Witts' size not take a mark over his head?

Then there is Fasolo - 1 kick for the entire game! Thanks for your service, but its time to go.
I hold a cup of wisdom, but there is nothing within.
Museman

Post by Museman »

The attacks on benken are laughable, esp coming from those who are lamenting Tay's absence.......

You f@ken peanuts forget what Adams disposal was like??? Get a f@ken clue.

Post by 35forever »

Magpietothemax wrote:
matrix10 wrote: Bingo.

Agree totally. Our biggest issue last two weeks has been the massive loss of Taylor Adams to our midfield. Greenwood has not yet had time to develop his engine and knowledge of our team. I am sure that the Pies next week will be much more powerful with his return next week.
With Moore likewise a new factor in the equation, it is true that anything is possible even now.
No, anything is NOT possible. After the Port loss it became NOT possible to make the four.

Winning a flag from outside the four under the current system is NOT possible.

2016 is over, the higher we finish, the worse it is for the club as a whole. If we finish 5th, 6th, even 7th or 8th Buckley retains his job, and no success is in our future. he is worse on game day - and match committee - than James Hird!

He is a very good development coach, I would LOVE to have him as head dev coach, and ANYONE else as Senior Coach.

Anyone! Bert Newton! Elle McPherson! Simon Cowell! George W f*cking Bush!
ANYONE!!!!

"If at first you dont succeed...
... oh who cares, we did it!!!!!"

Post by Doc63 »

Museman wrote:The attacks on benken are laughable, esp coming from those who are lamenting Tay's absence.......

You f@ken peanuts forget what Adams disposal was like??? Get a f@ken clue.
He's useless, completely useless.
I hold a cup of wisdom, but there is nothing within.

Post by Flashman »

I haven't seen Taylor Adams not make the distance from 35 metres two weeks running like Ben Ken has, and unlike Kennedy Adams actually can find the ball.
Pies4shaw
Has liked: 134 times
Been liked: 182 times

swoop42 wrote:Then where does that leave us?
I think Collingwood is more likely to advance further than the Welfare (given their list deficiencies) and that the 'Pies will be seriously competing within 2 seasons. Our team is still in transition (there are still quite a few personnel changes to be implemented, in my view) and a number of the players introduced to the team will improve dramatically over the next 30 games.

Collingwood has only just completed the major part of its list overhaul - it has been miserable living through it because we probably all thought the 2010 team would achieve more than it did and we have lost quite a few fan favourites along the way. Nevertheless, today's team (which had about a dozen personnel changes from the corresponding much last year) is still a long way from the one Collingwood will field in 12 to 18 months from now.

Also, without wanting to make light of a miserable afternoon, I don't think that anything much that happens at Docklands translates into real-football experience on a proper ground. I didn't like to see Collingwood lose today but expected they would - and I am equally confident that they would beat the Welfare comfortably at the MCG, where the absence of proper KPPs actually matters.