Page 51 of 100

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:14 pm
by stui magpie
Tannin wrote:Melliot, back off. Hands of Doska#6! I saw him first!

(Just for your information, I'm working on a deal with him already. You see, he wants the concert ticket I have, which cost me $60. So far, he has offered me a $50 note, a bank cheque for $70, and another $50 note, but we are only in the early stages of negotiation and I reckon he's probably good to raise his offer a bit. Just stay out of my way here while I negotiate: I reckon I can get him to throw in the keys to his ute and a case of good scotch.)
ROFLMAO. Nice work.

:lol:

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:17 pm
by Doska#6
It was just a suggestion, might have been a little bit over the top but I have heard from a good source that Pick 14 might be enough on it's own as long as we take Fevola's full salary. (To much hanging around Big footy forums getting ideas in my head)

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:22 pm
by Tannin
Frankly, I'd rather have Pick 14. Yes, I know he is an awesomely talented player on his day, but he is no spring chicken and would probably cause more trouble than he's worth. Looking at the proven ability Hine has to pick up genuine quality young players, Pick 14 is a good thing to have in our pockets, ready to spend. Look at the two young champions Hine picked up last year with his first two picks: Sidebottom and Beams. And both of them are good for another 10 years with the club.

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:32 pm
by woftam
luket wrote:i cannot believe peole r willing to give away pick 14 or our 2nd round pick..remember last year we got sidebottom (11) and beams (29) with our first 2 picks. this year we could get the same..no chance in hell we r giving up our draft picks to those dickheads at visy park..lets not 4get, to get this baboon who yes is a proven 80+ goalkicker,
1) carlton will try and strip us of early draft picks (not happening)
2) take away dawes or rusling or even reid, either way if he comes in he stuffs up our forward line structure and pushes a young kid (dawes, rusling, macaffer) out of the equation.
3) no chance we r bringing this imbecile into our club with young guns (sidebottom and beams) he could hamper

Thanks for putting things in perspective. Well put.

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:52 pm
by melliot
woftam wrote:
melliot wrote:He is worth 2 first round picks or the equivelant grade players.

The cheapest will be 1st + 2nd round or the equivelant grade players.

Pick 14 and Pick 30....or
Pick 14 & Wellers or Goldsack.

I was really keen on Fev yesterday. Starting to cool off him a bit now. Not sure, but we'll wait and see.

One thing is for sure. MM and crew will be damned if they do and damned if they don't. hmmm.
He isn't worth anywhere near that.
(A)He is 29 not 21.
(B)He is pretty much getting the arse for constant bad behavior
(C) We would already be relieving the Scum of 500,000 to 700,000 of their cap which will allow them to grab yet another big name player.

Perhaps we should just drop our duds and bend over?
You may be right.

But his on-field performance speaks for itself. He is a gun FF. IMO Key forwards that win games are worth gold. They make structure for the side. Rocca is the prime example. may not get a heap of stats, but attracks a lot of opposition attention and opens up the game for the other forwards, if their good enough.

Put it this way. If we offloaded didak last year, we'd expect a first rounder minimum + a sweetner. Key forward are worth far more IMO.

Salary cap issue is nearly irrelevant. We threw over $1M at J.Brown, so we must have heaps of room. And Rocca retired too.

Well if we get him for just pick 14, I think its an absolute bargin. Its a risk to get him, but footy is always a risk. The biggest risk is not to take one. Playing safe won't win us a flag.

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:06 pm
by Raw Hammer
If players take 4-5 years to start hitting their straps, such as Beams, Steele, Jack, Wood, etc. the likes of Leon, Swan, Didak, Josh, Maxwell, et al will be in their 30s. You have to make a stand to push for a flag sooner or later. The finals showed us that our forward line is a shammozzle. 2 prelims in 3 years...we're nearly there. Why not give the opposition someone to worry about for once. I guarantee our opposition hardly shake in their boots when they face us.

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:09 pm
by watt price tully
Tannin wrote:Frankly, I'd rather have Pick 14. Yes, I know he is an awesomely talented player on his day, but he is no spring chicken and would probably cause more trouble than he's worth. Looking at the proven ability Hine has to pick up genuine quality young players, Pick 14 is a good thing to have in our pockets, ready to spend. Look at the two young champions Hine picked up last year with his first two picks: Sidebottom and Beams. And both of them are good for another 10 years with the club.
Initially I supported the idea of drafting Fevola. However, he will be 29 in February 2010.
Do we trade for the Village idiot - cashed up Bogan (Fevola) or a psychopath (Hall)? Of course Hall isn't in the equation. What would I give up for Fevola? Nothing. Don't draft him. Pick 14 is too valuable & for all of the reasons Tannin listed in his ealier post.

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:10 pm
by RudeBoy
melliot wrote:
woftam wrote:
melliot wrote:He is worth 2 first round picks or the equivelant grade players.

The cheapest will be 1st + 2nd round or the equivelant grade players.

Pick 14 and Pick 30....or
Pick 14 & Wellers or Goldsack.

I was really keen on Fev yesterday. Starting to cool off him a bit now. Not sure, but we'll wait and see.

One thing is for sure. MM and crew will be damned if they do and damned if they don't. hmmm.
We gave up pick 14 for Wood, so surely we'd do it to secure the best full forward in the comp.

He isn't worth anywhere near that.
(A)He is 29 not 21.
(B)He is pretty much getting the arse for constant bad behavior
(C) We would already be relieving the Scum of 500,000 to 700,000 of their cap which will allow them to grab yet another big name player.

Perhaps we should just drop our duds and bend over?
You may be right.

But his on-field performance speaks for itself. He is a gun FF. IMO Key forwards that win games are worth gold. They make structure for the side. Rocca is the prime example. may not get a heap of stats, but attracks a lot of opposition attention and opens up the game for the other forwards, if their good enough.

Put it this way. If we offloaded didak last year, we'd expect a first rounder minimum + a sweetner. Key forward are worth far more IMO.

Salary cap issue is nearly irrelevant. We threw over $1M at J.Brown, so we must have heaps of room. And Rocca retired too.

Well if we get him for just pick 14, I think its an absolute bargin. Its a risk to get him, but footy is always a risk. The biggest risk is not to take one. Playing safe won't win us a flag.
We gave up pick 14 for Wood, so surely we'd do the same to secure the best full forward in the comp.

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:16 pm
by cobood
Yes for me....( Bucks said tonight that he didnt care one way or another).... I want to see another premiership before I die.... and the time is closing in....

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:16 pm
by watt price tully
rocketronnie wrote:
jack_spain wrote:You know what really riles me about this speculation?

Last year some Collingwood supporters (including myself) were resigned to getting rid of Heater and Dids because of their off-field stuff-ups.

Now some people want the biggest off-field stuffer-upper around. :roll:

Sure he might kick some goals, but at what price? Affecting the culture of our playing group and further delaying the important development of our youngsters.

I for one would not be keen to trade Dawes away (with ten years of good football in him) for a Fev who might have two years at best.
I AGREE! :wink:
I concur! I hope Dawes develops - I'm not convinced yet but another preseason & who knows. I'm excited also about Rusling he's very strong bodied lets hope it holds up.

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:24 pm
by Piesnchess
^Gee, it would be just so awful if a "simplistic quick fix" actually helped us win a flag. Six goals in the Prelim final..................ahem.

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:35 pm
by Prometheus
By the way , how tall is Fev ?

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:42 pm
by Piesnchess
Now I hear damn Brisbane are pretty interested, and i guess they could offer the scum Bradshaw, straight swap. Oh dear............

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:42 pm
by Fire Up
it's going to be very intresting at the copeland come tomorrow night.

wonder if eddie or some 1 (mm) will say anything about fev

Posted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:56 pm
by Tannin
I'd swap Bradshaw for Fevola in a heartbeat. But only if I was getting Bradshaw and getting rid of Fevola.