What made me laugh today...

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 83 times

My primary goal with my weekly blog over on Catalyst was provocation. It might have generated a little more discussion had it been run on a more popular platform, but, sadly, student media doesn't tend to have massive reach on campus let alone beyond it.

Some of my fellow bloggers were a little more successful, however. The rather excellently named Samantha Winnicki wrote a tongue-in-cheek feminist critique of children's series Winx Club, and, following a repost on a tween blog, the comments section (relatively speaking) exploded:

http://www.rmitcatalyst.com/i-dont-beli ... winx-club/

Anyway, what made me laugh today was the latest outraged comment:
Michelle wrote:What the ****! Your just saying this stuff because you hate winx club! This stuff is destroying every little girls dreams! You made half of this stuff up and your a damn BITCH THAT WATCHES PORN! So keep your thoughts to yourself you SLUT!
Knowing this was almost certainly written by a 13-year-old girl makes it even funnier. Who are these people? :lol:
Has liked: 271 times
Been liked: 356 times

Post by ronrat »

Walking down a street in Thailand on a narrow footpath and incoming Russians are heading towards. One lad, of maybe 17-18 with an uncanny resemblance to Pugsley Adamms has his head turned talking and also looking at his phone. So rather than walk in front of a bus I shirtfronted him and he he ended on his arse. Had I have stopped he had momentum. "Did you not see him". "Did I have to worry about him not looking". OK. Stan magro would have quite rightly elbowed him into the traffic.

they are terrible tourists whose manners resemble those of Milne at a Schoolgirls fete.
Annoying opposition supporters since 1967.
Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

Has liked: 132 times
Been liked: 168 times

Got the newsletter from the local RSL today, membership renewal time.

They had a piece on Aussie Bush Etiquette, and some reminders which I found quite good.

Some of the better ones"

Never take an open stubby to a job interview
Always identify people in your paddocks before shooting them
It's tacky to take an esky to church
If you have to vacuum the bed, it's time to change the sheets
Even if you're certain your included in the will, it's rude to take your ute and trailer top the funeral
Dim your headlights for approaching vehicles, eben if your guns loaded and the roo's in your rifle sights
When entering a roundabout, the vehicle with the largest roo bar has right of way
Never tow another car using panty hose and duct tape as a tow rope
when sending your wife down the road with a petrol can, it's impolite to ask her to bring back beer too
Don't allow the dog to eat at the table, no matter how good his manners
extensive use of deodorant can only delay bathing by a few days.

stui magpie wrote:Got the newsletter from the local RSL today, membership renewal time.

They had a piece on Aussie Bush Etiquette, and some reminders which I found quite good.

Some of the better ones"

Never take an open stubby to a job interview
Always identify people in your paddocks before shooting them
It's tacky to take an esky to church
If you have to vacuum the bed, it's time to change the sheets
Even if you're certain your included in the will, it's rude to take your ute and trailer top the funeral
Dim your headlights for approaching vehicles, eben if your guns loaded and the roo's in your rifle sights
When entering a roundabout, the vehicle with the largest roo bar has right of way
Never tow another car using panty hose and duct tape as a tow rope
when sending your wife down the road with a petrol can, it's impolite to ask her to bring back beer too
Don't allow the dog to eat at the table, no matter how good his manners
extensive use of deodorant can only delay bathing by a few days.
The 2nd last one stinks, but the rest are good! :wink:

(Red wine is ok in church yeah?)
Has liked: 132 times
Been liked: 168 times

OK. I didn't know Chatroullette was still around. But, this is hilarious. Split screen of people watching a bloke doing a version of Miley Cyrus Wrecking Ball. OMG. :lol:

http://9gag.com/gag/aeNgdLO

Hahaha, I like the bit where the rope breaks! (Does that happen in the real clip?)

Anyone need a new couch?

http://www.mamamia.com.au/rogue/woman-k ... om-vagina/

Go to the bit below!

Pun not intended!

Post by 3.14159 »

With a small tweak she could knit Hawthorn jumpers.
Last edited by 3.14159 on Sat Nov 30, 2013 9:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 83 times

http://theconversation.com/when-tony-ab ... ates-20360

Sorry for another Tony Abbott post, but this is hilarious.

Shame we don't have any Socrateses in Parliament House*

*Scott Ludlam's Socrates-esque grilling of Bob Carr in the Senate gets a pass mark.

3.14159 wrote:With a small tweak she could knit Hawthorn jumpers.
hahahahaha!!!

tweak or twerk!!

Post by 3.14159 »

Sorry, twerk.

here we have a twerker, knitting a big white glove.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tannin

Post by Tannin »

David, that is an excellent l;ink. Delightful stuff!
�Let's eat Grandma.� Commas save lives!
watt price tully

Post by watt price tully »

Exceptional David, thanks for the link. Great stuff.
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman