The consolidated Fev thread

All trade and draft talk here thanks..... this means you DTM!!!!

Fevola?

Poll ended at Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:27 pm

Yay
70%
Nay
30%

Total votes: 216

spoljar

Post by spoljar »

I'm prepared to give up Rocca and Clarke and would consider throwing in Dyas, just as a sweetener.
Trezegol

Post by Trezegol »

How old was Plugger when he moved to Sydney - 28 or 29?

We offered J Brown heaps last season - he's only one year younger than Fev.

The Bulldogs are prepared to get Hall who is 32 because they believe that they have a window of opportunity to win the flag.

We made the prelim this year, with a non functioning forward line in each of our last four matches.

Our window of opportunity is now.

Is it a risk? Sure it is. It's also a risk to do nothing in the hope that one of our young talls develops into a above average player.

I'd rather take the risk and fail, then continue to finish 4-8 every year.

We will have to give something up - what that is, we won't know until next week. However, Eddie definitely wants Fev and will stop at nothing to get him.
Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 83 times

Fire Up wrote:we have given the scum, scotland,mcguane, c.cloke thats 3 i can remember and look how good they were at pies, then look how crap they are at scum.

who else can we give them to they will be crap
Mike, Scotland's probably been better at Carlton, and Cloke is/was pretty crap at both clubs. :P Thanks for the birthday wishes on facebook btw. :)
BingFa

Post by BingFa »

Fev is a star player who can kick us to a GF win more than anyone else at the club currently can. 19 years on and we are still without Glory, time to take a chance and help our fortunes along! We are in GF mode with the players we have minus a big marking accurate goal machine, imagine if we had stuck to our word and drafted Lockett many years ago, maybe 2002 would had been our last GF win?
fence-banger

Post by fence-banger »

^ not good at all. Fevola would be hugely embarassed. And v sorry. A lot of work would need to be done to repair relationships at caaaaaarlton if he were to stay.

The Question for me is how is it that no-one put a stop to his silly antics on the Big Night. Whatever were people doing, just staring at him? Ignoring, in the hope he'd just go away? For Heavan's sakes, wot can be said for Palladium Security? And of course, wot of the caaaaarlton officials themselves? I just don't get it? It isn't as if Fev was hard to spot! Wot, they just let him unravel, as if it was only his business? Glory be.
Side by side we Stick together
John Wren

Post by John Wren »

Trezegol wrote:However, Eddie definitely wants Fev and will stop at nothing to get him.
so eddie is our list management expert and knows what's good for the playing list?
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.
magpie57

Post by magpie57 »

yes
one-eyed pie and proud of it
JacJacJacqui

Post by JacJacJacqui »

No.

Pirate skulls and bones
Sticks and stones and weed and bombs
Running when we hit 'em
Lethal poison through their system

Post by Lazza »

DEFINITE YES. A gun forward who will make most of our hard earned inside fifties fully worthwhile instead of Cloke/others kicking behinds or worse......

Post by Lazza »

Cakewalk wrote:This is a risk worth taking. Even when he loses a yard , his contested marking ability will make him still valuable.
Knowing the club we will take the conservative approach , so I won't be surprised when we once again avoid getting an A grader into our club.
Unfortunately it will still annoy and anger me though.
Absolutely correct. Frustratingly true, especially when you have seen this happen numerous bloody times like I have in similar situations with many other players in the past many years going right back to missing out on legends like Ted Whitten and Bernie Quinlan through to Tony Lockett and Cousins.... :roll:

The so called Collingwood Footy Club marketing "brand" will win over footy talent yet again I suspect..... :cry:

Post by Lazza »

BingFa wrote:Fev is a star player who can kick us to a GF win more than anyone else at the club currently can. 19 years on and we are still without Glory, time to take a chance and help our fortunes along! We are in GF mode with the players we have minus a big marking accurate goal machine, imagine if we had stuck to our word and drafted Lockett many years ago, maybe 2002 would had been our last GF win?
Agreed.

But I think we are in the VAST minority on this forum mate.....Most posters dont seem to want a gun full forward at Collingwood. :cry: And NO, I dont think we already have one in JA or Cloke...... :roll:
Might miss out on the window of opportunity yet again I feel...... :roll:
John Wren

Post by John Wren »

BingFa wrote:Fev is a star player who can kick us to a GF win more than anyone else at the club currently can. 19 years on and we are still without Glory, time to take a chance and help our fortunes along! We are in GF mode with the players we have minus a big marking accurate goal machine, imagine if we had stuck to our word and drafted Lockett many years ago, maybe 2002 would had been our last GF win?
Agreed.

But I think we are in the VAST minority on this forum mate.....Most posters dont seem to want a gun full forward at Collingwood. :cry: And NO, I dont think we already have one in JA or Cloke...... :roll:
Might miss out on the window of opportunity yet again I feel...... :roll:
lazza, i think you are the majority and that those of us in the minority might be articulating a losing battle.
Purveyor of sanctimonious twaddle.
Museman

Post by Museman »

Lets hope we don't need any more than a point when his time for "GLORY" comes.......

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jUn-Yom1 ... xt_from=PL
thebaldfacts

Post by thebaldfacts »

Talk is that we are the only club that can fit his salary in full in our cap and that we may get away without having to offer the world if we really wanted him.

Post by AN_Inkling »

Don't want him anywhere near Collingwood.

But, most I'd be content with giving up if we were to get him:
no higher than a 2nd round draft pick, no more valuable player than Cox.

These players are absolutely untouchable: Reid, Brown, Cloke, Anthony. Trading any of those would be an absolute disaster.

We have a squad that will be a significant threat for the next 10 years. No way we should risk that by throwing away potential star KPPs for an erratic nut with only a few years left in him. We don't yet know just how good these players will be, giving them away would be lunacy.

Completely confident that the club will not risk our future for Fev. If we get him, it will be cheaply, not at the cost of any of our best young prospects. Given there seem to be few teams seriously interested, he may come at less of a cost than many here imagine. But, I'd think it much more likely that he'd end up at the Saints (Kosi to play more ruck) or the Hawks (Roughead to play back).
Well done boys!