Scott Pendlebury (Silk)

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

ad4eva

Post by ad4eva »

if hawkins wins it... its just on reputation.

Pendles has to be the favourite, surely. He has played every game so far and unlike the rest of the field, bar a couple, he has been consistent every week.

I don't think I have seen it.
Magpie_Dan

Post by Magpie_Dan »

Jared Oakley- Nicholls is a huuuuuuuuuge chance! :roll:
PAUL MEDHURST'S #1 FAN
NATHAN BUCKLEY- 280 Games 284 Goals
Bucks You Are THE KING

AT COLLINGWOOD, YOU'LL NEVER WALK ALONE
The Prototype

Post by The Prototype »

It would be almost the same with Gibbs, he has come with a lot of hype, and early on didn't deliver but seems to now. I would think if it was awarded on consistency then Pendles might be a bit ahead.
Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 83 times

You could pick out any one of his posts, but I thought this was the best:
EddieGold wrote:Okay Johnno I will do. If he makes it in 4 years time I will come here and personally say I was wrong.
Why wait another two years? I think apologies are due now :lol:
Kingswood

pendles - too confident?

Post by Kingswood »

he had an ordinary game today and just didnt seem to give it all.

dont get me wrong he didnt have a bad game

but there were a few passages in particular where he seemed to casual - and dare i say it - overly cocky, but got caught out.

one example was in the 3rd i think, the ball spills and he strolls over to it very very slowly. it looked like someone is walking over to the ball when its his free kick. gave the hawk player a chance to come back and contest for the ball

a few other examples.

am i reading too much into it or is the hype around pendlebury affecting him??

and please dont accuse me of bashing players after the loss, i was delighted with today's game and very proud after today.

Post by Pa Marmo »

Yes....Yes you are right, he is way to cocky and overly confident. Lets hope he goes right back into his shell. Yes that will fix the problem of ONE BLOODY QUIET GAME.
Genesis 1:1
Kingswood

Post by Kingswood »

relax mate - maybe i worded it wrong

obviously nothing wrong with being too confident but a few of his efforts didnt seem to put much in them

and when the other 17 blokes on the field are playin their guts out - well it kind of stands out
Kingswood

Post by Kingswood »

wow it may really be time for bed though

i just read my first post and that is some terrible english
Magpie Since 1986

Post by Magpie Since 1986 »

Pendlebury gave 110% like he always does. What you are describing is just the way he plays, he is very smooth and appears to be going half pace, that is just how he is.

He had ONE off game and he still got 23 touches, just made a few mistakes. This is a 19-year-old kid in his second year of AFL. What exactly do you want from him, perfection every week?
Kingswood

Post by Kingswood »

i dont even think he had an off game

like i said his game wasnt bad, it was ordinary by his standards which was still better than most other players.

i wish i had footage of that one passage of play that particularly made me think about this
Last edited by Kingswood on Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
Kingswood

Post by Kingswood »

but to answer your question
Magpie Since 1986 wrote:What exactly do you want from him, perfection every week?

...yes that would be nice :D
uey

Post by uey »

He made a few errors, ran hard but appeared a tiny bit jaded by his usual brilliant standard. Was far from our worst. Looked a little pale at 1/4 time, may be slightly crook. Pendles is an undisputed star.
NICKS BB 2007 PP Scott Pendlebury
ad4eva

Post by ad4eva »

it was a tight contest and Hawthorn put alot of pressure on all night long, he was bound to cough it up once or twice.
loki04

Post by loki04 »

wtf is with all the pendles bashing he had a good game last night and he may have made a couple mistakes but he also put some beautiful passes into young ben reid and cloke he is in his 2nd year and is averaging over 20 disposals a game and has the class our midfield has lacked for a long long time bar bux.