Post Match v Bloose!!!! All comments here thanks
- Big T
- Has liked: 6 times
- Been liked: 82 times
Favourite moment and crucial point in game for mine:
Maxwells mark in (I think) last quarter running backwards with courage
That was when I knew we would win
Maxie made heaps of mistakes today but still showed why we love the man and have high hopes for his future.
And Chads efforts on Kouta surely showed his value and why we recruited him.
Also Rhyce was very stiff - (1) various soft frees on Lappin when I thought he was doing very well and (2) forced to kick to Tarrant in 1st half leading to the 3rd row of the stand - big surprise when it was OOF.
As we pointed out all day should have played on Stevens throughout.
Richie Cole also needs to stay in the midfield, he is crucial for us despite mistakes made and if we are to be as good as Brisbane he is the type of player we need to develop.
Tape his hit on Campo and watch it 100 times, it was an abslute ripper.
Maxwells mark in (I think) last quarter running backwards with courage
That was when I knew we would win
Maxie made heaps of mistakes today but still showed why we love the man and have high hopes for his future.
And Chads efforts on Kouta surely showed his value and why we recruited him.
Also Rhyce was very stiff - (1) various soft frees on Lappin when I thought he was doing very well and (2) forced to kick to Tarrant in 1st half leading to the 3rd row of the stand - big surprise when it was OOF.
As we pointed out all day should have played on Stevens throughout.
Richie Cole also needs to stay in the midfield, he is crucial for us despite mistakes made and if we are to be as good as Brisbane he is the type of player we need to develop.
Tape his hit on Campo and watch it 100 times, it was an abslute ripper.
Buon Giorno
- eddiesmith
- Has liked: 11 times
- Been liked: 24 times
- Johnson#26
They have are, were and always will be the ultimate FILTH!Eunos wrote:Bit of discussion about our calling Carlscum the Filth.
We have, and always will call them the Filth. As they call us the same.
I would expect no less.
Agree. Tarks was brilliant yesterday. Great 100th game.how could u not have Lockyer in your top 3 BOG. He inspired, ran, tackled and was in and under all day.
Presti has a few years to go before he is 'finished'. More valuable then given credit to.Did anyone else hear Gary Lyon on 3AW during the 2nd quarter and at half time?
Rekons Presti is finished.
That's what I was thinking yesterday. Willo, as maligned as he has been in the past, has that ability - like Caracella - to win only three kicks for the day but make them all goals. He is handy like that, and maybe he will find his place in the side there.If Williams kicks 1 or 2 goals a game he will finish the year with 30+. Quite ok for a forward pocket actually.
How good was that win??? Brilliant. The boys were as committed as 2002/2003. Yes, its only Carlton, but how good did a win over the filth feel? Payback for those horrible two matches last year. Long may they suffer! Holland was brave and couragous, that bump on Stevens was inspiring. Licca was brilliant, he never ever stops, and has a heart the size of his body. Tarks was very good in and under, whilst Presti murdered Fevola - the form player may need a spell at the Bullants. C2 was abmirable in the ruck, fighting hard with little support. French to Stevens became to hard to bear for a while there. They were killing us at the stoppages. Taz - no touches int he 1st half - 5 goals in the second. You little ripper. Take that Walls, Sheehan and anyone else who bagged the s*** through us last week. We took it on the chin and fought back. That victory may be the building block for the rest of the year. Sensational.
GOOOO PIIIEEESSSS!!!!!
*MATCH REPORT UP IN 1/2 HOUR*
- Johnson#26
Fast and direct Pies
By Rohan Connolly
April 10, 2005
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/real ... 28419.html
By Rohan Connolly
April 10, 2005
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/real ... 28419.html
Persistence has taken Collingwood a long way under Mick Malthouse, but even the most fanatical Magpies fan must have been wondering at half-time yesterday whether that can ever be enough.
Collingwood started better than Carlton, even dominated the game at stages of the second quarter, but nevertheless walked off at the long break 17 points in arrears. The message seemed clear. You can try your hardest, but without the execution, your best-laid plans are useless.
The Magpies had 20 more disposals than the Blues in the second term, yet had fewer entries inside 50, won fewer clearances, and kicked 2.6 to Carlton's 5.2 for the quarter. The main reason was that at that stage, Collingwood couldn't hit the side of a barn, let alone a target on the chest. Rhyce Shaw twice kicked out of bounds on the full, an unimpeded Shane O'Bree kicked inside 50 straight to the opposition, and when even the likes of James Clement and Scott Burns began to make basic errors, the disease had become a cancer.
So much for that prognosis. Collingwood hasn't played a half of football as good as its second half yesterday since 2003. The Magpies kicked an incredible 15.1 in the second half to Carlton's 8.6. Chris Tarrant and Anthony Rocca hadn't kicked a goal to half-time, but finished with seven between them. Paul Licuria ran himself ragged on Nick Stevens, Clement was a tremendous loose man in defence, and Chad Morrison put the shutters up on Blues' skipper Anthony Koutoufides, holding him to just two touches in the second half after 13 in the first.
- Johnson#26
Umps give Pies 'a bath'
By Melissa Ryan
April 10, 2005
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/real ... 25945.html
By Melissa Ryan
April 10, 2005
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/real ... 25945.html
A combative Mick Malthouse yesterday slammed the slanted free-kick count in Collingwood's thrilling comeback victory over the Blues, saying the umpires had given the Magpies "a bath" and that his temper had risen during the charged third quarter when a series of free kicks favoured the Blues in front of goal.
The Magpies received 17 free kicks compared with Carlton's 29 for the match and the umpires' influence was keenly felt in the third term, when 18 free kicks were paid - 10 to eight Carlton's way - which was one more than was given out in the first half. Carlton also received seven free kicks inside its attacking 50-metre arc for the match; Collingwood none.
On a hot day at the MCG, Malthouse said he had seen red in the third quarter when Carlton kicked three goals in the space of nine minutes from free kicks - and it could have been four had Matthew Lappin not missed an easy shot - with Lappin, Jarrad Waite and Lance Whitnall all benefiting.
- Culprit
- Has liked: 57 times
- Been liked: 68 times
Summed it up perfect for me. I was angry at half time, I thought here we go again. Well I tipped Carlton and lost on that. I am prepared to tip against my team if this is what it takes.Dr Alf Andrews wrote: Good to see Tarrant actually turned up this week. A nice regulation bag of goals. When he can do this every week he might be a valuable player.
Rhyce Shaw is still the biggest dud in football ... but he gets a lot of the ball ... so anyone who gets his hand on it as much as him is bound to do at least a few good things in the course of a match.
I haven't gone back on anything I've said. We are still the laughing stock of the AFL. And I daresay what we saw today will be the highlight of our season.
We've got NO HOPE against the Kangaroos next week ... but we MIGHT run a place on Anzac Day.
Talk it up, folks ... celebrate hard ... because that's as good as it's going to get this year.
We are screaming for a ruckman so bad.
My highlight was that yellow *astard getting cleaned up.
I love beating the Blues and hate getting beaten by them. So I am happy for this weekend.
- Lone Ranger
- Been liked: 1 time
Absolutely wrong ... SAME game plan as we have had for the last few years. The difference was the players actually stuck to it today. You anti MM people just don't get it.eddiesmith wrote:This week they got together and came up with a new gameplan that actually suited the current team and wow, we won
- favourites 2008
Well im happy to eat humble pie, i didnt think it would happen, although we were very lucky we played Carlton as the boys came out a lot more fired up. Don't think they wouldve wanted it that much if it was Freo. But a wins a win and if we string two together next week ill be a very happy man.
Coll 1-2
St Kilda 1-2
Bris 1-2
Coll 1-2
St Kilda 1-2
Bris 1-2
- Doc63
I agree Mudlark. But what do you expect from someone that prescribes their own medication??mudlark wrote:I reckon Dr Alf You can get stuffed!!Dr Alf Andrews wrote:A game of two halves.
The first half was the most shiteful display of sustained incompetence that I've seen since ...
... since, er ...
... last week.
Carlton could have ... and SHOULD have ... buried us by half-time. In fact, I'd say it was only the old Carlton arrogance that kept us in touch. They simply KNEW they were going to win, and were just toying with us to make it more unbearable.
But alas ... the oh so arrogant Filth don't have a lot to be arrogant about these days.
It was a different Collingwood after half-time ... still as shitefully incompetant as ever, but now they were playing with passion .... and playing above themselves.
Whenever a player stuffed up ... which was ALL the time ... there was someone there to back him up. It was good to watch. It won't win us a premiership. In fact it won't win us many games at all ... but it was good enough to steal the chocolates off the Filth.
Good to see Tarrant actually turned up this week. A nice regulation bag of goals. When he can do this every week he might be a valuable player.
Rhyce Shaw is still the biggest dud in football ... but he gets a lot of the ball ... so anyone who gets his hand on it as much as him is bound to do at least a few good things in the course of a match.
I haven't gone back on anything I've said. We are still the laughing stock of the AFL. And I daresay what we saw today will be the highlight of our season.
We've got NO HOPE against the Kangaroos next week ... but we MIGHT run a place on Anzac Day.
Talk it up, folks ... celebrate hard ... because that's as good as it's going to get this year.
- jimbeam
NO it was a diffrent game plan, Micks got it worked out.. They went long to the sqaure to tarrent and rocker, any defender wuld be praying it never goes long to high caliber forwards like that.. And we have 2 of them.. It also isolates the loose man going staright over his head. and opens our forward line up, move neon, johno and even willo or brods in there and NICE.. With this style of play taz can kick 3-6 goals a game easy. I'm betting if they continue to go long taz will get 10 very soon. And dont forget cara he can draw players and if they dont respect him they will pay everytime..
Also was super impressed by our midfield, and backs.. Great football. Every single player bleed back and white and gave a great show, thats all we can ask for.
Just watchin the replay on fox now and its good to watch us win..always is a great feeling to beat Carlton but its even better to beat them when we are the underdogs!!
MY fav moment was when Taz kicked that goal in the 3rd and all the players ran up to him..thats what i wanted to see was a bit of team spirit ..was a great moment and it was when i really thought we cld win this game...
U realise guys that if Rhyce gets his kicking right he cld well be a gun...
Anyway hope we play with the same spirit aginst Roo's that we showed yesterday !!
MY fav moment was when Taz kicked that goal in the 3rd and all the players ran up to him..thats what i wanted to see was a bit of team spirit ..was a great moment and it was when i really thought we cld win this game...
U realise guys that if Rhyce gets his kicking right he cld well be a gun...
Anyway hope we play with the same spirit aginst Roo's that we showed yesterday !!