And how he fooled the All Australian selectors is another question.David wrote:Worst post in the history of Nick's.Pants wrote:Good solid win, Like a stroll in the park, the boys looked they knew what the end result was going to be from the opening bounce, i am of the belief that Maxwell should be making his way through the VFL and see if he can beat a young opponent one on one, Goldsack is head and shoulders above him in terms of football ability and smarts, We made him Captain and hence the dilema of him guaranteed a game each week when he should be focusing his energy on improving himself from an ordinary player to a good player.
Come September if he is played in the backline he is going to get exposed big time and we will pay the price.
Instead of pointing his arms everwhere to his teamates, he shoud be setting the example of trying to nullify his opponent by example,
Thats what a leader is, not just pointing his finger and talking, he won`t and Collingwood won`t get away with it come September if he doesn`t improve and actually man up on an opponenet.
Worst Captain in the history of the Club.
Talk is cheap, action is priceless
Just kidding, but it's pretty bad.
Maxwell is among our best five players week in, week out. I don't understand why some don't see that he's in our best 22.
Post Match. Pies swamp Swans - all comments please
- stui magpie
- Has liked: 132 times
- Been liked: 168 times
Exactly, my thought watching the game was that many of the misses were low percentage snap shots, 50/50 kick and hope at best rather than legitimate shots at goal.the fuzz wrote:Im with you Donny, we didnt miss that many set shots. Most of the points came from rushed behinds or low percentage shots. People just look at the scoreboard/ see the amount of points and just assume we had a shocker. Not the case- there was some beautiful shots for goal last night.Donny wrote:I posted, in this and the Game On thread, about posters repeatedly commenting about our kicking for goal.
In the interest of balance, and after watching the replay (I didn't get it live), I want to highlight some excellent shots for goal.
1. Harry's stunning steal, sprint, and centimetre perfect low kick for a goal. A lesser player, caught up in the moment, could well have blazed away and missed.
2. Leroy's beautifully measured low shot. Again, no wild kick at an open goal.
3. Dids' silken goal from the left pocket.
4. Sidey's snap from right forward pocket.
5. Dawes' first goal.
There were others but my point is, why do we have multiple posts about Tim Lane's commentary and our bad kicking but barely a mention of these excellent shots for goal ?
And that's a problem. When we're getting so many inside 50's we need to get more of them in a place that generates a set shot for goal in a good position. We shouldn't be relying on half arsed flukey crap.
70 inside 50's should convert to 30 goals.
Easy to fool AA selectors when they don`t see him play an unaccountable style of game whilst picking off cheap possesions as a loose man, they just see the amount of disposals he has had. He cost us against the Lions, as everyone he played pantsed him, 8 direct goals scored against him, who is he going try to man up on Against the St_ Kilda `s and geelongs of this World,
Re-visit me in September, thats when the Big boys come out to play.
Millane King of the Wing
- Penguin Pie
And how he fooled Nathan Buckley, who proudly passed on his number to him and has (rightly) predicted he will be a fine leader at the club. You and Eddiesmith can have your opinions, but don't bother trying to convert the majority please.thebaldfacts wrote:And how he fooled the All Australian selectors is another question.David wrote:Worst post in the history of Nick's.Pants wrote:Good solid win, Like a stroll in the park, the boys looked they knew what the end result was going to be from the opening bounce, i am of the belief that Maxwell should be making his way through the VFL and see if he can beat a young opponent one on one, Goldsack is head and shoulders above him in terms of football ability and smarts, We made him Captain and hence the dilema of him guaranteed a game each week when he should be focusing his energy on improving himself from an ordinary player to a good player.
Come September if he is played in the backline he is going to get exposed big time and we will pay the price.
Instead of pointing his arms everwhere to his teamates, he shoud be setting the example of trying to nullify his opponent by example,
Thats what a leader is, not just pointing his finger and talking, he won`t and Collingwood won`t get away with it come September if he doesn`t improve and actually man up on an opponenet.
Worst Captain in the history of the Club.
Talk is cheap, action is priceless
Just kidding, but it's pretty bad.
Maxwell is among our best five players week in, week out. I don't understand why some don't see that he's in our best 22.
Collingwood and cricket umpiring - my life is black and white.
- Penguin Pie
But you'd reckon if that was true, someone as astute and knowledgeable about footy as Nathan Buckley just wouldn't rate him. How do you explain that? It must at least give you some pause for thought: "hey maybe, just maybe those in the know at the club are right about Maxy and I'm not?"Pants wrote:Proof is in the pudding,have a look at which player has conceded the most goals kicked against him, i laugh when i see the coach trying to juggle and try to find an opponent to try and hide his Skipper.
- Penguin Pie
Just back from Sydney. Great to have a win. Enjoyed sitting in a pies only carriage on the train in Sydney and singing the song. Reid was impressive. Shaw good, but needs a new pair of boots or something. Fell over so many times. Had a Ball. Looking forward to flying down there for the game next week too.
Last edited by magirl on Sun Jun 27, 2010 5:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"favourites he or she help you move house mow your lawn and at your beck and call you are going to think higher of him or her" is a nice name.Pants wrote:It`s called favourites, i help you move house , mow your lawn and at your beck and call, you are going to think higher of me.
General all round nice guy.
Carey , Voss, Riciuotto, Mattews, Kernahan etc, arrogant tossers who were ruthless and got the job done.
Next
- Penguin Pie
If you really believe that Buckley plays favourites, I think you're in a large river in Egypt mate.Pants wrote:It`s called favourites, i help you move house , mow your lawn and at your beck and call, you are going to think higher of me.
General all round nice guy.
Carey , Voss, Riciuotto, Mattews, Kernahan etc, arrogant tossers who were ruthless and got the job done.
Next