Correct Pablo, dog Stevic indeed lived up to the validation I gave him in the pre-match thread.pablo wrote:Interesting Stevic played deliverate out of bounds for Essendon and several seemingly identical incidents by Essendon weren't paid.
Putting that aside, other umpiring not too bad.
Lookout - the Doc is in da house!Doc63 wrote:What a magnificent win that was!! Just a hard slog, with everyone making a contribution at some stage.
The defence was just brilliant. Frosty was just awesome, and that was Brown's best game for some time.
Our pressure was just too much for them for most of the game. They often had to chip the ball around about 20 times just to get the ball to the centre. Haven't seen us force a side to do that for a while!
Seedsman, Crisp & Adams all played great games, its very satisfying when the youngsters stand up in a game like that. They really complimented Pendlebury & Swann.
All this talk about Frost should have won the medal is a bit disrespectful to Seedsman. Yes, Frost would have been a worthy winner, but so was Seedsman. Just as long as it was a Collingwood player, I really don't care who won it.
If anyone needed any more proof that Goddard is an outside, unaccountable, down hill skiing flog, today provided it. He doesn't like it when is gets hard like it was today.
Just a great day to be at the footy today, nothing better.
I think we all enjoy watching Brendon Floghard crack the sads.
As many posters have stated, when all players selected buy-in to the challenge, and go hard for four quarters, guess what? We win.
Matty, Essendrug may well be stuffed: they almost rolled the Pink Ducks, rolled the reigning premiers by 5 seconds, and held off a desperate but equally inept Carlton unit. I'd suggest we struck them at a favourable time in the fixture. Yet Dons defeating Whorethorn impressed me - a task we are yet to come close to achieving under Buckley, and I'd suggest that most of the players on our list actually WEREN'T, when that last occurred in 2011.Monco Matt wrote:Great win by the boys but let's keep some perspective, the Dons were rooted, clearly ran out of legs in the second half. They couldn't score and we only scored a few extra goals. Better to win than lose but the jury is still out on our finals credentials.
Frosty was fantastic, although fair to say Carlisle went in unfit, so did Zaka and they paid the price. Our effort was great, it always is and we were able to maintain it for most of the match, except for about 15 minutes in the second qtr when we were on the rack.
I'm not getting too excited or carried away with that given how poor the opposition was in the second half, although I was glad they wilted I did not expect they would but hoped they did.
Great game from Seedy and Crisp, Varcoe did his bit, Cloke didn't embarrass himself at all which was great. Even Goldsack held up in D too. Adams was a terrier and Pendles sublime and a Swanny roving goal on Anzac day always means a victory. Now crush the scum next week.
Hat off to Grundy as well, was a rock in the ruck all day.
But in reality, we have been in a solid position most seasons by Anzac day, in terms of the win loss ratio.
So the endeavour and application to the task each week is there, the injuries to date are manageable, and ball disposal is a work in progress.
Very proud of the club today, so let's make the OLD MAN cranky next week, and blow out his precious navy blue candles.
Dyso