Page 63 of 100

Posted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:14 pm
by Cakewalk
You'd hope it's just loyalty , overrating our list once again will lead us to the road most travelled.

Posted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:15 pm
by Doska#6
Expect Maxy to come out and say we don't need Jolly because Fraser is his best mate, this club is a joke if our players are calling the shots. That is why we will finish 3rd- 4th- 2nd- 5th every year and all we are going to hear is we are rebuilding, where a young side, our window is in 3-4 years.

We ain't winning nothing with the following:

Davis,
Lockyer
O'Bree
Johnson
Leigh Brown
Fraser

I can keep naming. Mediocrity and joke is what we are known to the opposition supporters because we always fail in everything we do.

I know I'm gonna cop a barrage from the "our window is in 2-3 years supporters in here" but I couldn't give a flying F.

We say no to Fevola because our forward line is so great and Hawthorn will come in and steal Jolly now that Campbell has retired and we will be left with nothing.

But everyone will be happy because Maxy said no to Fev.

by mattys123
Fire Up wrote:could it be a decoy?
Could be, we might be calling Carlton's bluff as far as what they expect us to give for him.

Make no mistake about it, the Carlton board is desperate to get rid of Fevola, and now all clubs are starting to catch onto this.

Fev may well go cheap later in the week.

by Robbo.D.yobbo
Hmm...I was pro-fev before...But im kinda leaning towards no-fev now...

Posted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:18 pm
by Madmac
Malthouse's comments were also interesting.

Posted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:19 pm
by swoop42
^Think you'll find the majority of those against Fevola were some of MM biggest supporters!

Let's not let the facts get in the way of a good conspiracy though.

Posted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:26 pm
by swoop42
jmcp wrote:nothing has been said about barry hall who is someone who might be worth giving another chance.
Perhaps Hall will be the "steak knives" part of the Jolly deal. :wink:

Want one gotta take the other. :shock:

At least he keeps his troubles on the field I guess.

Posted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:26 pm
by Trezegol
I think that this is the first mistake that Maxy has made since he became captain.

Even if what he is saying is true, why would you want to tell the whole footballing world days prior to the start of trade week?

And what if his opinion is different to that of the club's? If the club does go out and get Fev what then?

Posted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:31 pm
by favourites 2008
He's basically sending a message to Fev if we happened to get him. You are not bigger than the club, we can win without you.

Posted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:32 pm
by swoop42
^Perhaps he's merely acting on behalf of the club with his comments trying to minimize the disappointment a lot of club supporters will feel that we aren't now pursuing him.

Basically trying to kill off the speculation and hype before the start of trade week.

Posted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:35 pm
by watt price tully
Trezegol wrote:I think that this is the first mistake that Maxy has made since he became captain.

Even if what he is saying is true, why would you want to tell the whole footballing world days prior to the start of trade week?

And what if his opinion is different to that of the club's? If the club does go out and get Fev what then?
I sort of agree with your logic especially about saying it just before trade week. But I reckon Maxwell would not have said it without prior consultation with the club, that is the decisions been made. Otherwise this could be very awkward if "management" so to speak, were looking at getting Fev.

Posted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:44 pm
by Monco Matt
I hope this is a decoy article from Maxy. Maybe he needs to be reminded about how many goals our forwards kicked against the Saints and Cats in September. 13 in total is not convincing anyone that we have solved our forward half issues.

Would much prefer for players to keep their opinions out of the media until trade week is over.

What are the "horrific" injuries he says Travis is getting over? Not the bashing from early in the year surely? If so, that sounds a bit soft.

"And throw in guys like Chris Dawes, who's just banging down the door every week to play AFL footy. You know he's going to get in there at some stage and once they all start clicking and spending more time together we know they're going to be outstanding."
END QUOTE

How many more years does he need to keep banging for, 3 and counting. I think we definately over rate ourselves sometimes.

C'mon Maxy, you gave Dids & Heater a chance, bring the Fev in and give him a hug!!! Some club is going to give Fev a chance and my money is that he will straighten up and reward the club that does.

Posted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:51 pm
by favourites 2008
Monco Matt wrote:I hope this is a decoy article from Maxy. Maybe he needs to be reminded about how many goals our forwards kicked against the Saints and Cats in September. 13 in total is not convincing anyone that we have solved our forward half issues.

Would much prefer for players to keep their opinions out of the media until trade week is over.

What are the "horrific" injuries he says Travis is getting over? Not the bashing from early in the year surely? If so, that sounds a bit soft.

"And throw in guys like Chris Dawes, who's just banging down the door every week to play AFL footy. You know he's going to get in there at some stage and once they all start clicking and spending more time together we know they're going to be outstanding."
END QUOTE

How many more years does he need to keep banging for, 3 and counting. I think we definately over rate ourselves sometimes.

C'mon Maxy, you gave Dids & Heater a chance, bring the Fev in and give him a hug!!! Some club is going to give Fev a chance and my money is that he will straighten up and reward the club that does.
I think the supporters need to be reminded that the average age of our tall forwards during those finals series was 21.

But to me that means they are going to improve...

In comparision A rocca kicked only 19 goals in the season when he was 21.

Im just sick and tired of people wanting kids to be instant success'.....

Bloody be patient we are building and in 3 years the average age will be 24 and we will be hard to stop.

Posted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:56 pm
by Cakewalk
favourites 2008 wrote:[Bloody be patient we are building and in 3 years the average age will be 24 and we will be hard to stop.
In an ideal world , but there are too many vagaries. There will be many clubs on a similar path at a similar time. People aren't impatient because they don't have perspective , quite the opposite , they are frustrated because Collingwood has given them a lot of perspective over the years. And this is oh so Collingwood.

Posted: Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:56 pm
by Monco Matt
^ Yes, but surely you can also see how close we are right now, where a couple of quality key position players could tip us over the edge next year. (Fev & Jolly)

You are probably more patient than me Fav's, but I am tired of the wait 3 more years story........it always ends with waiting for 3 more years.