Why dont we support our VFL side ?
Yesterday was a ripper day for footy. The ground is only ten mins from the city..But still we get the same old crowds.
So i pose the question why dont Collingwood people support our club in the VFL ?
- leelee
- die4pies
Exactly.leelee wrote:lack of awareness of when the games are on would be my excuse...
The club are not promoting the games at all.
Admission is free for Collingwood members and there is plenty of free parking around so that is no excuse either.
One gets the feeling that the club is happy to play these games in relative obscurity to keep the dreaded 'nuff-nuff' Collingwood fan away from it's precious players.
Having said that. Burnsy, Pebbles, Goldy, Pendles, Tooves, Dicky, etc were all happy to have a quick chat, photo or just smile and say g'day. So I don't fully understand this. Is it something MM is enforcing on the club?
Closed training sessions all week too? Did us a fat lot of good.
Don't marginalise the people that put food on your plate Collingwood.
Remember, without the 41,000 supporters there goes 1/2 the revenue and the other half from the corporates is only there so long as there is a large group of fans to market to. Ie. No fans = No sponsors.
"MAKE COLLINGWOOD GRATE AGAIN"
- leelee
- Dave The Man
- Has liked: 2 times
- Been liked: 21 times
- Bucks5
- Has liked: 2 times
- Been liked: 19 times
The VFL lost me when they took our curtain raisers away. I was all excited about watching going to the 'G' to watch a double header, only for them to tear that away (and I cannot bring myself to set foot inside price-fixer oval).
And to rub salt in the wound, they later transferred some of the Geelong VFL games from Skilled to the MCG so we know that concern over the playing surface was not the reason.
How would Siri know when to answer "Hey Siri" unless it is listening in to everything you say?
- eddiesmith
- Has liked: 11 times
- Been liked: 24 times
- die4pies
Take away the family and friends of the players less than 1% of the club's membership attends these games. I don't think playing at Victoria Park would help either.
500 paying spectators paying $10 a ticket will bring in the grand sum of $5000 in gate receipts. That doesn't even cover Anthony Rocca's wage for the week.
"MAKE COLLINGWOOD GRATE AGAIN"
- GO RUPERT 10
one reason why
the venue,i refuse to go to that dog of a ground,
u remember the old days of playing the ressies at vic park joffa?you ,jlc,myself,chris robbo
those were great times when we would have such a great time,crack jokes,hang it on a opposition player,and kick the footy at half time
vic park was our spiritual home not this stinking hole of a ground
those days were just magic,ive never laughed so hard ever when we hung it on players like jamie shanahan,james cook and other AFL has beens
the venue,i refuse to go to that dog of a ground,
u remember the old days of playing the ressies at vic park joffa?you ,jlc,myself,chris robbo
those were great times when we would have such a great time,crack jokes,hang it on a opposition player,and kick the footy at half time
vic park was our spiritual home not this stinking hole of a ground
those days were just magic,ive never laughed so hard ever when we hung it on players like jamie shanahan,james cook and other AFL has beens
- Magpie_Dan