TD's Thought on 2013 AFL Draft

All trade and draft talk here thanks..... this means you DTM!!!!

Dave The Man

TD's Thought on 2013 AFL Draft

Post by Dave The Man »

Sharenberg - Still not 100% sure if it was right to pass Aish up but you can not complain about Shazza. He Give us real Versatility where can play Up Forward and Back. Can also have a Run Thru the Midfield. Has foot Injury so might be passionate with him with him coming in mid-season.

Freeman - Glad we drafted him because in my mind he was Exacly what we wanted. A player with Explosive Pace which he has. Said to be like Dangerfield and we can hope he can be that good. Was same Pick as Dangerfield

Landgon - Not really sure about him. Sounds Like a Good Solid Player. Need to see more. Also not 100% sold on Langdon yet

Marsh - Could be anything. Could be a Freakish Player or could be a Dud. Super Raw but Massive Upside.

Grade B. - Very Impressed but the Foot Injury for Shazza is a little worry
Been liked: 2 times

Post by Brown26 »

Dave, do we have to be passionate with all people with foot injuries? Does Hiss' gout count? :P

Member 7167

Post by Member 7167 »

I see it very differently. Sharenberg's injury is a concern but I am sure that the club have fully assessed the situation and think it is manageable. He is a good size and is a real ball winner.

To have put ourselves in a position with having two picks in the first ten is a hugh win.

Freeman should give us some much need paces and is a real positive.

Picks 65 and 77 normally yield list fillers. Both Marsh and Langdon have tremendous upside and I think Marsh could work out to be a diamond in the rough.

I rate our efforts a solid A
Now Retired - Every Day Is A Saturday

Post by Stupied »

Talking to one of my best mates (physio) re: this injury, his verdict was given some rest his feet will be golden. There are no fractures, so no worries. It's only when fractures form and become difficult to heal that these injuries become a problem.
Given that we have picked a kid that many rated top 3, an explosive midfielder, and two possible gems that slid (think about it, Hine rated this as a shallow draft, Marsh and Langdon must have been waaaay better rated by Hine and co than where they were taken), I think a solid A is in order.
Cuthbert Collingwood

Post by Cuthbert Collingwood »

who is this TD? or are you now The Dave?
McRae for Governor-General!

Post by Stupied »

^Copy/paste from his Big Footy thread where his user name is Trade Draft.
Been liked: 2 times

Post by Brown26 »

What is his foot injury? Do we know?

-Ben
Podpicken

Post by Podpicken »

Stupied wrote:Talking to one of my best mates (physio) re: this injury, his verdict was given some rest his feet will be golden. There are no fractures, so no worries. It's only when fractures form and become difficult to heal that these injuries become a problem.
Given that we have picked a kid that many rated top 3, an explosive midfielder, and two possible gems that slid (think about it, Hine rated this as a shallow draft, Marsh and Langdon must have been waaaay better rated by Hine and co than where they were taken), I think a solid A is in order.
Sister (physio) said pretty much the same mate.
Billy Picken, the great No. 25 in the sky!
Tannin

Post by Tannin »

And here was me wondering why we care what Terry Danahir thinks.
�Let's eat Grandma.� Commas save lives!

Post by September Zeros »

Tannin wrote:And here was me wondering why we care what Terry Danahir thinks.
I had my money on Tony Danza..........a devout afl follower.
No Pressure, No Diamonds

Has liked: 4 times
Been liked: 31 times

Post by What'sinaname »

Stupied wrote:^Copy/paste from his Big Footy thread where his user name is Trade Draft.
so we're sloppy seconds. lovely.
Fighting against the objectification of woman.
Albert Parker

Post by Albert Parker »

Interestingly, there is clearly a focus on speed. All 3 of Freeman, Marsh and Langdon were in the top 10 at the combine for repeat sprints and Marsh and Freeman were the absolute top 2 in the 20m sprints

Kevin Sheahan, who should know something, took a liking to our drafting efforts, although that may have been simply because we managed two top 10 picks. He did however, indicate that he thought this top 10 could be as strong as any year previous, despite consensus being that the draft lacked depth
One team, one dream - the Pies and this year's premiership
Cuthbert Collingwood

Post by Cuthbert Collingwood »

Stupied wrote:^Copy/paste from his Big Footy thread where his user name is Trade Draft.
so we're sloppy seconds. lovely.
yes we are, TD got all the welcome to collingwood threads on bf, didn't give a rats about us! maybe he should change his nick's moniker to CtrlC/CtrlV :lol:
McRae for Governor-General!

Post by AN_Inkling »

Albert Parker wrote:Interestingly, there is clearly a focus on speed. All 3 of Freeman, Marsh and Langdon were in the top 10 at the combine for repeat sprints and Marsh and Freeman were the absolute top 2 in the 20m sprints

Kevin Sheahan, who should know something, took a liking to our drafting efforts, although that may have been simply because we managed two top 10 picks. He did however, indicate that he thought this top 10 could be as strong as any year previous, despite consensus being that the draft lacked depth
Before the draft recruiters were saying that the top 10-12 players were very even, and any of them could end up being the best pick. After the draft Paul Roos pretty much said the same in discussing why they chose to trade pick 2. He felt that they could get a player of very near the same ability at 9 and that they did not share the view that Kelly was the clear number 2 pick. The Dees were after pace and were happy with Salem at 9 and likely see him as a better fit than Kelly, Aish, or the raw Bontempelli. They wanted a mid, so Scharenberg or KK weren't their ideal selections either. It was a similar situation for us. Even if we had pick 2, I'd expect our two top mids may have been Salem and Freeman, as they have the burst speed we desperately need and are not all that far, if at all, below the level of Aish and Kelly.

What all that means is that we did very well to get two picks in the top 10, even more so in this draft than other seasons.
Well done boys!
Podpicken

Re: TD's Thought on 2013 AFL Draft

Post by Podpicken »

Dave The Man wrote:Sharenberg - Still not 100% sure if it was right to pass Aish up but you can not complain about Shazza. He Give us real Versatility where can play Up Forward and Back. Can also have a Run Thru the Midfield. Has foot Injury so might be passionate with him with him coming in mid-season.

Freeman - Glad we drafted him because in my mind he was Exacly what we wanted. A player with Explosive Pace which he has. Said to be like Dangerfield and we can hope he can be that good. Was same Pick as Dangerfield

Landgon - Not really sure about him. Sounds Like a Good Solid Player. Need to see more. Also not 100% sold on Langdon yet

Marsh - Could be anything. Could be a Freakish Player or could be a Dud. Super Raw but Massive Upside.

Grade B. - Very Impressed but the Foot Injury for Shazza is a little worry
I love your work DTM. I really do. I also like how you managed to weave passionate into those assessments. You're a great man and we're a great club. Thank you for being on Nicks.
Billy Picken, the great No. 25 in the sky!