Page 1 of 4

Rating our selections. What do you think?

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:27 pm
by watt price tully
Given we are all (more or less) armchair selectors who know little about the draftees on offer what do you think about who we have drafted so far?

I'm pleased with who we have selected.

5 & 30:

Great kicks, tough, with speed & footy players rather than athletes if you can make that distinction.

I need to know more about Goodyear (as though I know about the other two). But the mail has been good on #5 & #30.

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:28 pm
by John Wren
nfi. a mate of mine involved with oakleigh chargers is rapt we got de goey.

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:33 pm
by watt price tully
De Goey does look the goods.

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:34 pm
by roar
Happy with De Goey, wrapt with Maynard, underwhelmed by Goodyear. But as you say, NFI, really.

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:36 pm
by swoop42
5, 9 and 30 highly pleased.

48 Neither here nor there

75 Disappointed.

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:40 pm
by watt price tully
Do you know Swoop if passing on 75 gives us an extra pick in the Rookie draft?

If it does there could be a smokey / strategy we are waiting for. Hope it's Yarran if he hasn't gone yet.

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:44 pm
by RudeBoy
A little underwhelmed actually......but honestly wtfwik? :roll:

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:48 pm
by John Wren
swoop42 wrote:5, 9 and 30 highly pleased.

75 Disappointed.

If it does there could be a smokey / strategy we are waiting for. Hope it's Yarran if he hasn't gone yet.
we'll take two picks to rookie draft.

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:49 pm
by swoop42

75 Disappointed.

I believe that the list space by our non selection will be filled by Frost as our nominated rookie prior to the start of the season.

Yarran wasn't selected in the national draft.

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:49 pm
by Bob Sugar
Fairly happy without knowing anything really, the Goodyear pick worries me a little, pick 48 is always going to have a flaw or 2.

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:50 pm
by MagpieBat

75 Disappointed.

It does.

But then again, there is no minimum number of rookies a club has to pick either, so theoretically we could just go with Frost/Gault/Armstrong and leave it at that...

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:54 pm
by watt price tully

75 Disappointed.

It does.

But then again, there is no minimum number of rookies a club has to pick either, so theoretically we could just go with Frost/Gault/Armstrong and leave it at that...
Thanks for that, did we have a pick 84 as well or some such thing?

BTW, loved your Filth post in BF - what a ripper :D

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:56 pm
by watt price tully

75 Disappointed.

I believe that the list space by our non selection will be filled by Frost as our nominated rookie prior to the start of the season.

Yarran wasn't selected in the national draft.
Cheers. Hope we rookie list the kid.

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:58 pm
by John Wren
didick wrote:
RudeBoy wrote:A little underwhelmed actually......but honestly wtfwik? :roll:
I think there should be a wtfwik voting option.
Essentially, that was in the OP: that is, notwithstanding the fact that most of us know SFA about the recruits what is your opinion?
i am waiting for murdoch (or any of a number of nick's posters) to tell me what it is.

Posted: Thu Nov 27, 2014 9:07 pm
by MagpieBat
watt price tully wrote: Thanks for that, did we have a pick 84 as well or some such thing?

BTW, loved your Filth post in BF - what a ripper :D
No, we didn't.

Where you might be getting confused is that our pick 75 was originally pick 85, but once the AFL took out the rookie upgrades (which are not read out at the draft anymore), it got kicked up to pick 75.

And thanks for the praise on the other thing. Gave me a good laugh! :lol: