Rnd 4

A forum for the use of Collingwood's Cheer Squad - and for anyone else who would like to comment on or contact the Cheer Squad.

Danni

Rnd 4

Post by Danni »

Hi folks, after speaking to Joffa this afternoon, he suggested I 'invade' your board here to post this.

Rnd 4, Lions v Collingwood @ The Gabba.

As NorthernPie has posted, he has arranged a package of airfares, accommodation, transport etc.

If that is out of your price range, I may be in a position to assist.

VirginBlue do currently have $305 return airfares, and Qantas have internet only current prices of $286 return. There is also a train service now from the Brisbane Airport to Central Station in the city, for $9 or so, full price adult fare.

If needed I may be able to arrange recipricol Lions cheersquad members billets for free accommodation. And you could still purchase your Northern Army pre-game function/game ticket packages. If enough billets are unavailable, there is a footymad lady up here who during 2002 opened her own travel agency, and I can ask her to source the best prices for hostel accommodation and/or cheapest rooms in some of the hotels closest to the Gabba (I believe a couple of the Gabba-local motels are around $70/room a night that sleep 3 or 4 people per room)

For those involved with the making and raising of the run thru banner. If it is finished in time, you are quite welcome to do what other clubs did in 2002, and post/courier it up here attn to me early. I will arrange storage of it in a secure 'cheersquad' area under one of the stands at the Gabba. I have 24/7 access to the visitors rooms/race/cheersquad storage area at the Gabba and will arrange early/daytime access to the area so you can pole your banner, and then take you around the boundry line to the area where c/squads enter/exit the field and show you how to get there from the concourse. This saves ppl running round like chooks with no heads pre-game. Get it all sorted early and enjoy your pre-game time.

After all, we are all here for the same reason, we love our footy, just different teams.

Danni

Post by joffa_the_man_in_gold »

Welcome danni and feel free to post anytime you want as long as you dont bag us Image..for those who dont know danni is head honcho of the bears cheer squad and its great we can talk and discuss ideas as we did on the phone, danni its great and we appreciate the suggestion you just posted
joffa

100,000 GOLD WIGS and a million shining eyes
This our country's one true game
And the footy ground's on fire
And collingwood's sons and daughter's, under wide Australian skies
Win or lose we're back again to claim the winner's prize.....

Go Pies you bloody beauties !! 'Caaarm Ornnn' kill the Bloody Bastards.

email..joffa@magpies.net

Post by Northern Pie »

Hi Guys,

A big hello to you as well Danni, was great speaking to you n the phone recently.

Just to let you all know that the package including airfares etc is not going ahead, due to the fact that the club is offering or apoparently will be offering a complete package including tickets to the game....also just to let you know, from the information that i have got, the function being held by us will be the only official Collingwood function being held in Brisbane. So in light of the fact that a lot of you will have already have purchased tickets for the game or may have them allocated to you by the Club, we will be offering a Function only price of $40 per person....the only thing different is the fact that the ticket is not included in the price.....what youy get is

5 Standard drinks at the Bar at the Western Districts Sporting Club, you will need to have a ticket for this

Pre-Match hot and cold nibblies

Bus travel to and from the gabba travelling with other pies supporters and arriving at the game as one.

Entry into our Collingwood Merchandise Prize Draw.

We feel that this still represents very good value and saves a lot of time and hassle ie travel to and form the ground...any people who are interested please let me know via email as soon as possible.

Tickets for the function that include a ticket to the match are still very much available for only $65 but you only have till the end of february to get it all squared away so act fast....Accomodation wise we have also been in touch with quite a few motels/hotel etc around the gabba, city and near the western Districts sporting club so if you require help let us know....oh and just to add if there are enough of you coming up on the same flights, for a small charge we would be more than happy to arrange a pick up from the airport to go out to the Western Districts Sporting club, we are also floating the idea of a central pick up point in the city or at the gabba for people who woud like to come out to Wests to enjoy the function

Joffa I hope you are still comng mate, we would love confirmation of you giving one of your speeches at the function?

"NEVER LEAVE, NEVER GIVE UP ON THEM AND ALWAYS BE THERE AT THE END TO CLAP THEM OFF THE GROUND. WE ARE COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTERS SON, EVEN IF THEY BEAT US, WE ARE STILL BETTER THAN THEM!"(quote from my mum when I was 8 years old)