Home games in Brisbane now ?

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

MagpieMark

Home games in Brisbane now ?

Post by MagpieMark »

Hello fellow magpies!

I heard in the news and the paper today somebody wants us to play home games in Brisbane. Surely its some kind of joke ? But us Brisbane supporters will come out in armies to support us but totally against the point. I live in Brisbane but we are Victorian and we should stay down there. Whats going on people ? Does Eddie make up his own decisions and ignores the hand that feeds him ?
Magpie Mark Image

Post by NICK THE PIE MAN »

If its true Magpie Mark, then i will be up at the gabba in force too mate Image

Before we go sick at this we need to know just how many home games they r thinking of playing in Brisbane?!?

As a member of the Melbourne footy club I got a letter yesterday about them going over to play in Brissy for just one home game and all was set out in the letter very clearly and they really pushed the point that it will benefit the club financially and that all supporters will be looked after with the club pushing for a live telecast of that game into Melbourne. They really wanted to make sure that all of their supporters and members were infornmed about this decision and that noone would be terribly upset by it. So i don't see it as such a big deal. However if the Pies went over to Sydney and played any more than two or three home games there i would absolutely spew! One is cool and maybe two but if we are a Melbourne based club then the majority of the supporters are also from Melbourne and live to see the Pies at the 'G' basically every week.

#8 RoCkS
Go RiCkY!

i dont think we can be looked after, they arent going to fly us up there so it is ridiculous. people already are being deprived of footy i know heaps of people who dont go to colonial, so why should we turn into a weak team like north melb and go on a round trip of australia to make the interstaters happy, yeah i think the same whoever wrote about eddie disregarding the hand that feeds him, it is ridiculous. collingwood dont travel that well anyway so why should we put ourselves at an even bigger disadvantage?, oh thats right its all about money these days insnt it! we will probably get another shit draw in 2001, hey why dont we even piss off and have our homw ground in ****ing new zealand, ill bet that will be the next stupid idea out of the mill

Post by Greg J »

I am coming to the conclusion that the term HOME games is irrelevant.

What is important is the number of games you play in your home state and conversely the number of games you play interstate.

Can you really compare playing an away game against Melbourne at the MCG, with playing an home or away game against Brisbane or Sydney.

The important thing is the total number of games we play interstate each season. Not whether any or all of them are HOME or AWAY games.
REN

Post by REN »

no one is thinking about the die hard collingwood supporters that can't go up to brisbane cos they can't afford it or can't get time off work. its all ****ing good and well for eddie and the crew cos they can afford it and it is their work, unlike the rest of us. spidergirl you may want to take the lie down and die approach without a fight but we don't. they may gain a few supporters up there, but whos going to want to become a member after seeing one game, they will lose a whole lot more supporters down here if they take this stupid option. we will NOT accept this.