The 22 Under 22 team - the next generation

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

LaurieHolden
Has liked: 145 times
Been liked: 147 times

The 22 Under 22 team - the next generation

Post by LaurieHolden »

The AA22 Under 22 team is an honorary representative Australian rules football team created by the AFL Players' Association that seeks to recognise the best young talent in the Australian Football League (AFL) competition each year. To be eligible for selection, players must be aged 22 or under for the entire AFL season (including finals). An initial squad of 40 is selected by the AFL Players' Board before fans select a final team of 22 by voting via social media.

2012 team
Jeremy Howe (Melbourne)
Steele Sidebottom (Collingwood)

Dayne Beams (Collingwood)

2013 team
Steele Sidebottom (Collingwood)

2014 team
Tom Langdon (Collingwood)
Jamie Elliott (Collingwood)

Adam Treloar (Greater Western Sydney)
Jarrod Witts (Collingwood)

2015 team
Adam Treloar (Greater Western Sydney)

Brodie Grundy (Collingwood)
Tom Langdon (Collingwood) i/c

2016 team
Brodie Grundy (Collingwood)
Darcy Moore (Collingwood)

Jack Crisp (Collingwood) squad only
Brayden Maynard (Collingwood) squad only

2017 team
nil
Darcy Moore (Collingwood) squad only

12 players in our current side have achieved selection at that level. Not a bad nucleus for the next decade.

I find it no coincidence that the Pies have placed U22 All as foundations got the core of our list, and gradually have topped up the deficiencies, e.g. going after Howe
As you can see, the glaring holes are our front end. (on a U22 All Australian basis).

B: Langdon Maynard
HB : Howe Moore Scharenberg
C: Phillips De Goey
HF:
F: Elliott Stephenson

Rucks
Grundy
Sidebottom
Treloar

*the average AFL player salary edged past the $350,000 mark in 2017, that figure improved slightly ($379,697) among players who managed to take to the field at the highest level.
The minimum salary for players beyond their second season has been set at $100,000.
*The player salary cap goes to $12.45m in 2017. Then it increases by 1.2% in 2018 so call it $12.6 and it keeps rising by that % out to 2022.
Only 9 players pocketed between $800,000 and $900,000 in 2017, up from five in 2016.
Pendles is one of the 9.
Last edited by LaurieHolden on Thu Sep 24, 2020 1:55 pm, edited 8 times in total.
"The Club's not Jock, Ted and Gerry" (& Eddie)
2023 AFL Premiers
Has liked: 71 times

No way in hell I'd offer Lynch $1.5M per season.

Too much info. :?
LaurieHolden

Post by LaurieHolden »

2023 AFL Premiers
LaurieHolden

Post by LaurieHolden »

RudeBoy wrote:Too much info. :?
Maybe, but I try to avoid being one of those members whom over-posts without objective feedback.
2023 AFL Premiers
Skids
Has liked: 26 times
Been liked: 30 times

Post by Skids »

stui magpie wrote:No way in hell I'd offer Lynch $1.5M per season.
He's not worth that for 3 years.
Over rated big time.
Don't count the days, make the days count.
Has liked: 3 times
Been liked: 17 times

Post by K »

Hmmm... Orange seems to be more effective a colour choice than I expected.
Pies4shaw
Has liked: 54 times
Been liked: 85 times

watt price tully

Post by watt price tully »

“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
surfer1

Post by surfer1 »

So you think Moore is gone?

LaurieHolden wrote:
RudeBoy wrote:Too much info. :?
Maybe, but I try to avoid being one of those members whom over-posts without objective feedback.
Good on ya mate. I guess my attention span on Nicks is very limited. My comment was a statement about me, not you LH. 8)
LaurieHolden

Post by LaurieHolden »

surfer1 wrote:So you think Moore is gone?

In short, no. I don't believe Moore is going anywhere unless he has requested it. i.e. we're not looking to trade him, based on the pedigrees of AA U22 we've acquired/built through the younger ranks. I reckon there's a foundation being built here and he'll be part of it.
2023 AFL Premiers

Re: The 22 Under 22 team - the next generation

Post by inxs88 »

I love the Pies, hate Carlscum
Geek

Post by Geek »

LaurieHolden

Post by LaurieHolden »

2023 AFL Premiers