Vale #16,#2,#27 Captain Murray Weideman (1936-2021)

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 10:58 am
by watt price tully

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 11:25 am
by WhyPhilWhy?
Vale the Weed.

The only time I've ever been in the rooms after a game was when the Weed was Coach, and he took time to say "hi" and ask about my interest in footy and the Pies.

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 11:52 am
by PyreneesPie
A true Collingwood legend and great. He epitomised the Pies fighting spirit.

I hope he was unaware of the turmoil surrounding his beloved club in his final days.
:cry:

Thanks for your wonderful contribution to the Pies Murray Weideman. Fly high.

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 11:53 am
by masoncox
At the same age in 1962, Collingwood star forward Murray Weideman caused a sensation by declaring that he was signing a 10-bout deal as a professional wrestler. At the time “The Weed’’ was being paid the standard 10 pounds a week that every Collingwood player received, plus an extra one pound for being captain (which he said went “straight to the bar to buy 20 seven-ounce glasses for the team’’).
Collingwood threatened to strip him of the captaincy and sack him as a player, but Weideman told them he would persist with his wrestling regardless and the Magpies relented. “I made more money in 10 wrestles than I did in five years of playing football, and I pulled 10,000 people to the Melbourne Stadium,” Weideman recalled years later. Over the next two years he was such a drawcard that he was invited to join the wrestling troupe on a tour of America, which he declined because it would mean having had to leave his young family behind. By the age of 27 he gave football away, later moving to Adelaide, where he joined Coopers Brewery and coached West Adelaide for four years.

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 12:00 pm
by K
https://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/8 ... y-weideman

Includes video highlights of 1958 GF.

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 12:02 pm
by themonk
A great man, RIP

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 12:12 pm
by Jezza
Very sad news. He will go down as one of the legends of our football club.

- Collingwood player from 1953-1963 (180 games, 262 goals).
- Premiership player in 1953 and 1958.
- 1958 premiership captain.
- Collingwood Team of the Century member.
- Collingwood life member.
- Copeland Trophy winner in 1957, 1958 and 1962.
- Collingwood leading goalkicker in 1959, 1960 and 1962.
- Collingwood captain from 1960-1963.
- Collingwood coach from 1975-1976.
- AFL Hall of Fame inductee in 2007

Vale Murray Weideman

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 1:10 pm
by BazBoy

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 1:52 pm
by BazBoy

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 2:11 pm
by MatthewBoydFanClub
One of the greatest players ever to grace the football boots for the Collingwood Football Club. Unfortunately with so much talent to burn I'm not sure whether he took himself too seriously. If only he had decided to play on under the more disciplinary Bob Rose in 1964 I'm sure we would have won the premiership that year because Melbourne were on the down.

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 2:50 pm
by neil
He and Barry "Hooker" Harrison won the 58 premiership by belting a couple of Melbourne players. The Melbourne hard men spent so long seeking revenge the match was over before they worked it out.

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 3:20 pm
by billy_picken25
A true Collingwood legend 1950s , captain and coach. Hero

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 5:13 pm
by sem
I have been a Collingwood supporter since 1953 i am 73 .
I may have watched all his games or at least most .

He was not in the team just for his good looks / he could play the game and he was hard at it .

At Victoria Park when he played i reckon as a percentage there were more woman there than any games of VFL or AFL games of football .

I liked him and "Hooker" Harrison in the 1958 grand final .

When he played at Vic Park at FF or CHF after each quarter a lot of supporters would change ends to the end he was at . Never happened to any other player .

Murray you may have gone to the Vic Park in the sky mate but with me you are still living .

i've got a bit of a illness so not sure how much longer I have got so when I see you i'll buy you a few fosters and you can help me improve my kicking .

All the best to your family in hard times .

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 7:02 pm
by BazBoy
Big Bad Barry “Hooker” Harrison hit Barassi that hard & often I’m sure Ron went thru a few pair of shorts

Posted: Thu Feb 18, 2021 9:27 pm
by dalyc
sem wrote:I have been a Collingwood supporter since 1953 i am 73 .
I may have watched all his games or at least most .

He was not in the team just for his good looks / he could play the game and he was hard at it .

At Victoria Park when he played i reckon as a percentage there were more woman there than any games of VFL or AFL games of football .

I liked him and "Hooker" Harrison in the 1958 grand final .

When he played at Vic Park at FF or CHF after each quarter a lot of supporters would change ends to the end he was at . Never happened to any other player .

Murray you may have gone to the Vic Park in the sky mate but with me you are still living .

i've got a bit of a illness so not sure how much longer I have got so when I see you i'll buy you a few fosters and you can help me improve my kicking .

All the best to your family in hard times .
Like button pressed