#44 Ned Long

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

Has liked: 23 times
Been liked: 23 times

#44 Ned Long

Post by WhyPhilWhy? »

From the VFL team.
Has liked: 71 times

Great pick up.
The Average Tourist

Post by The Average Tourist »

stui magpie wrote:Great pick up.
Good Result could play AFL next week
Bucks you just reckon he can still cut it in the middle
Take_a_Screamer
Been liked: 11 times

Post by Take_a_Screamer »

Good player, not looking good for Fin Macrae
Ash Johnson...you beauty
Johnson Screamer @ https://www.afl.com.au/video/931485/joh ... -epic-mark? ❤️️

I've hardly seen any VFL this year, but I have noticed Ned regularly being listed as among our best players. Reckon he'll play AFL this week or next.
Dave The Man
Been liked: 5 times

Post by Dave The Man »

Not sure how I feel about Long.

Was Massive in 1st 3 or 4 Games then form has very much Dropped Off

Guess worth a Crack in 2nd round of the MSD
swoop42

Post by swoop42 »

I had a feeling we might look at Long and to me it makes sense when you look at our growing injury list and more importantly the names on it.

Mitchell - Ongoing foot concern and who knows what the future holds. Strong bodied inside midfielder.

De Goey - Our most powerful mid but has just suffered a secondary soft tissue injury to a different part of the body. Hopefully recovers well.

Pendlebury - Injury concern hopefully only short term but at his age we'd ideally still like the option of resting him on the table. Long wont replace him but he at least replaces his size around the ball.

Crisp - History would suggest he'll keep on trucking but what if history surprises. Another big bodied midfield option.

I like the insurance the big body of Long provides.
He's mad. He's bad. He's MaynHARD!
Dave The Man
Been liked: 5 times

Post by Dave The Man »

Rick

Post by Rick »

Wouldn’t be surprised if he came straight in on Friday
Presti35
Has liked: 160 times
Been liked: 59 times

Post by Presti35 »

I was somewhat surprised when this came up. But I think a good choice. Collier-Dawkins was linked to Carlton and I thought we might look at him, but Ned was signed to our VFL team after narrowly missing out in the SSP.

I noticed another who narrowly missed out on a spot at the Pies via SSP was taken by North. A player many thought the Pies should have taken.
A Goal Saved Is 2 Goals Earned!
feKKo

Post by feKKo »

Dave The Man wrote:Not sure how I feel about Long.

Was Massive in 1st 3 or 4 Games then form has very much Dropped Off

Guess worth a Crack in 2nd round of the MSD
Dave I think his apparent form drop might be because he wasnt playing. He was one of the ins for the vfl for last game.
MagpiesTheGreat

Post by MagpiesTheGreat »

piffdog
Been liked: 33 times

Post by piffdog »

Wish him all the best. Guess he can pack it in as a tradie (or whatever he was doing) and focus on footy as a career 7 days a week. Obviously likely to still be rolling with the VFL for a while but now able to devote all week to the sport.

Looks a good size for a midfielder. Fingers crossed.
It's never as good/nor bad as it seems...
Been liked: 78 times

Post by qldmagpie67 »

Smart Selection knows our system is familiar with his team mates who have already come in from the VFL side, has a big body
Good insurance long term for this season

Pick him Friday, ready too go, spring a big surprise on ol Bevo and his dish licker doggies. Way to go , Woods. !