Top 3 toughest magpies

This is a Collingwood Bulletin Board - use this forum for general, Pies-related topics. For other footy topics, use Nick's Other AFL forum, and for non-footy sporting topics please use Nick's Sports Bar. For non-sporting topics please use the Victoria Park Tavern.

lazzadesilva
Been liked: 51 times

Top 3 toughest magpies

Post by lazzadesilva »

I got thinking about this last night and thought it would be of interest here.
My period of recollection is from 1972 onwards.

After much thought and debate with myself, I decided on the following:-

Ronnie Andrews
Stan Magro
Darren Millane
I term the current Collingwood attack based strategy “Unceasing Waves” like on a stormy and windy day with rough seas. A Perfect Storm ☔️
skaman
Has liked: 40 times
Been liked: 13 times

Re: Top 3 toughest magpies

Post by skaman »

I'll add Twomey and Worthington, but also Tuddy was as tough as nails.
Enjoy yourself. Its later than you think!
skaman
Has liked: 40 times
Been liked: 13 times

Post by skaman »

Oh, and Dennis Banks!!! smacking Rhyce Jones was certainly a highlight :)
Enjoy yourself. Its later than you think!
Skids
Has liked: 24 times
Been liked: 30 times

Post by Skids »

Ah yes, Stan Magro. Debuted as a 15yo in a Fremantle Derby, one of the toughest rivalries in any competition.
He played in the Colts premiership in that debut season and the league side also won the flag.

Rene Kink was one of my favourites as well.
Don't count the days, make the days count.
Been liked: 70 times

Tuddy, Magro and Kelly.
Boot

Post by Boot »

I haven't seen him play live but all the reports from those who did said Bobby Rose was the toughest closely followed by Des Tuddenham. Murray Weideman never took a backward step on the footy field from all reports and Darren "Pants" Millane was as tough as anyone I have seen play. Ronny Andrews had a fearsome reputation and I think he lived upto it with the one season he had at Collingwood. Tim Watson has some funny stories about how fearful he was around Ronny Andrews and he was on the same team. Stan Magro was very tough along with his WA mate Kevin Worthington.
Collingwood Domination. Envy of the Nation!
Gerry Cooper
Has liked: 111 times
Been liked: 32 times

Post by Gerry Cooper »

I rate Murray Weideman, Stan Magro and maybe Des Tuddenham for the three toughest I've seen over the years. My old man used to reckon Albert "Leeter" Collier was the toughest Magpie he ever saw, and he followed the Magpies from the 1930's. He used to rate Jack Hamilton as hard as nails too.
I dont rate Ron Andrews as he was just a blow-in from the Bombers for a year.
We've all heard that a million monkeys banging on a million typewriters will eventually reproduce the entire works of Shakespeare. Now, thanks to the Internet, we know this is not true.�
Has liked: 71 times

I can only go on players I've watched a fair bit of, so apologies to many old timers.

My top 3 would be.

1. Milane
2. Bruzzy
3. Magro

Banks and Worthington in a tie for 4th, Beau working his way up the charts.

I also don't rate Rotten Ronnie Andrews, he was an Essendon blow in.
Skids
Has liked: 24 times
Been liked: 30 times

Post by Skids »

Scotty Burns was a tough footballer.
Don't count the days, make the days count.
LaurieHolden
Has liked: 138 times
Been liked: 134 times

Post by LaurieHolden »

In no particular order :
Darren Millane ;
Gavin Brown ;
Tony Shaw.
"The Club's not Jock, Ted and Gerry" (& Eddie)
2023 AFL Premiers
DT
Been liked: 6 times

Post by DT »

Darren Millane

Tony Shaw

Gavin Brown

Agreed LaurieHolden - good call.
Daicos, impossible angle ... Goal!
shawthing
Been liked: 56 times

Post by shawthing »

Lots of contenders, but Tuddy has to be in it. Just ask Peter McKenna.
Gerry Cooper
Has liked: 111 times
Been liked: 32 times

Post by Gerry Cooper »

DT wrote: Thu Sep 05, 2024 4:40 pm Tony Shaw
Tony was a pretty tough nut but I reckon Ray Shaw was tougher.
We've all heard that a million monkeys banging on a million typewriters will eventually reproduce the entire works of Shakespeare. Now, thanks to the Internet, we know this is not true.�