#2 Jordan De Goey

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 69, 70, 71 ... 299, 300, 301  Next
MJ23 

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 10:21 am

3rd degree wrote:
The kid is a village idiot , but a required player to us possibly been a better side this year . If he is fit he plays seniors what's the point in playing him in the VFL ? To make Journos and other clubs happy?

I wonder where Swanny would have ended up had we punished him to the degree with which its suggested we punish / trade Degoey ?

Or Steve J had the cats followed through on their attempt to trade him.
Didak ??

Not saying he shouldn't be punished, I dont think he should miss games for two reasons.
1. IF we were to trade him we need his currency as high as possible.
2. The best way to redeem yourself in your team mates eyes would be on field performance. There are many off field ways to get through to him on consequences of his actions.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 10:23 am

masoncox wrote:
I don't care whether he got caught drink driving.
The law will deal with it.
But everyone wants a piece of the action like we are a church group.
We seem to spend more time moralizing and procrastinating than playing footy.

Well said. That horse has well and truly bolted though, alas.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 10:25 am

September Zeros wrote:
Magpietothemax wrote:
...He has not let down his team mates...
He absolutely has let his team mates down.

I think you need to revisit the whole “there’s no ‘I’ In team concept”.

Someone said to Jordan a while ago - hey Jordan, there is no "I" in team. Jordan responded - "Yeah, but there is "me"!

E, are you sure JDG has the intellectual capacity for two-letter words?
(Some of us have the same constraint when it comes to picking their Nick's user names.)
JDG will need special tutoring from his formerly good mate Darcy before he gets to "myself".

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:21 am

I am now seeing articles in the Paper suggesting he should be suspended on an open ended basis.

This is the AFL heirachy F%cking with Collingwood again! ...

Next, let's recognize that our club likely reads these sites to get a feeling for how the supporters feel about it.

Can we PLEASE stop supporting this nonsense by confirming the stupid reporting that i am seeing from Gleeson and others!

Gleeson is a Collingwood supporter. (We have good representation among the experienced football reporters at The Age: Niall and Baum are too.)

Gleeson is OK but Robbo more than offsets every decent Collingwood supporter we have out there in the media. And then you have Tony Shaw out there who should know better, but at times you wonder whose side he is on.

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:21 am

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/jordan-de-goey-s-behaviour-unacceptable-says-collingwood-president-eddie-mcguire-20180219-p4z0sz.html

P-plater. "Great family", says Eddie.
Boogie Knights 

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:37 am

E, are you sure JDG has the intellectual capacity for two-letter words?

Perhaps if he can graduate to two letter words, he could heed the words of Wayne Bennett, 'If it is to be, it is up to me.'

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:42 am

^^^
Wow. Maybe part of the penalty should be to make him get that tattooed on his pecs (backwards, so he can read it in the mirror??).
The simpler version would be to have tattooed on his forehead "No, no, no, no, no".
masoncox 

masoncox

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 11:50 am

masoncox wrote:
I don't care whether he got caught drink driving.
The law will deal with it.
But everyone wants a piece of the action like we are a church group.
We seem to spend more time moralizing and procrastinating than playing footy.

Well said. That horse has well and truly bolted though, alas.

As a society we make other peoples business our own.

As ethicist and psychologist, Jonathan Haidt, says in his book The Righteous Mind: Why Good People are Divided by Politics and Religion, "human nature is not just intrinsically moral, it is also intrinsically moralistic, critical and judgmental".

Haidt says this morality "binds and blinds". At our worst, he says, "We are indeed selfish hypocrites, so skilled at putting on a show of virtue that we fool even ourselves."

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:37 pm

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-02-19/unacceptable-behaviour-eddies-de-goey-verdict

ERRANT Collingwood midfielder Jordan De Goey's manager has arrived at Collingwood's headquarters...

Ben Niall is expected to be with his client for a series of meetings, which could take several hours.

(That was posted at 9:40am. JDG did not join in training.)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 12:55 pm

I reckon "Well said" Magpietothemax and Mason Cox.

One of the senior officers in the Traffic department of the police (whatever that's called) was on Triple M this morning. Even though he stated he not a Collingwood supporter, his general opinion was that JDG's case has been blown out of all proportion by the media. He said there have been far more well known figures who have been done for DUI and he finds it hard to understand the hysteria around JDG.
He pointed out that the sanctions that will be handed down by the law will be quite severe - no license for six months, a fine, then a breathalyzer lock on his car for the next 6 months. He also said having been even mentioned in
the media for it is enough public censure, given there are so many public figures who this doesn't happen to. He found it hard to understand how it warranted back page news.
Of course, we Collingwood supporters know that it's back page news simply because it's Collingwood. We would all be a bit remiss not to remember that.
Woods Capricorn

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:16 pm

Club statement:

After a series of meetings between Collingwood and Jordan De Goey on Monday, it has been agreed that Jordan will remain a senior listed Collingwood player on the following terms:

- Jordan will not drink alcohol at least until the season’s end, when this decision will be reviewed.

- Jordan has made a commitment to enlist the assistance of medical professionals to help him improve his decision making.

- Jordan has agreed to make significant changes to his social life and associations, a pledge the club supports and will monitor.

In relation to Jordan’s drink driving conviction last Saturday evening, it has been agreed that the following will also apply:

- An indefinite suspension from AFL selection. When Jordan has convinced his peers and coaches that meaningful change has occurred, and that his standards have risen to those of the group, he will become available for selection.

- A fine of $10,000. Jordan has also offered to make a further $10,000 donation to a charity, a gesture the club acknowledges and supports.

- Jordan will be required to undertake employment away from the club for a period of not less than four weeks. During this time he will train in the evenings with the Collingwood VFL squad.

- Jordan will take on a meaningful role with a charitable organisation, a position that will be monitored by the club.

All of the above were agreed to after meetings between Jordan and the Collingwood leadership group and Jordan, his manager, and senior club officials.

Collingwood General Manager of Football, Geoff Walsh, said the outcomes provide Jordan with an unmistakeable message but also an unmistakeable opportunity.

"Jordan can have a long career with Collingwood if he commits himself wholly to his football but he could also have a very short career if he doesn’t," Walsh said.

"The club, and particularly his teammates, want to see behavioural change. They need to be able to trust him and believe in him.

"Jordan can win back the faith he has lost over a period of time and have a very good career if he honours all that he has agreed to today. He is telling us he wants to change. The time for talking is over."

EDIT: link: http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/2018-02-19/club-statement-jordan-de-goey

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:24 pm

derkd wrote:
doriswilgus wrote:
Still the point remains.Hodge was a very experienced player,captain of his side no less,and he got caught drink driving on the very eve of the finals.To me that is far worse than a young 21 year getting caught drink driving in the off season.^

Yes Hodge was done for drink driving.....he had won three flags by that point? had led the club without indecent (from what i can think of). Oh and is also one of the finest running half backs/midfielders in modern history.

Degoey has done what exactly? in the past two pre-seasons he has managed to derail himself.

I am not dismissing your point..... but really Hodge had runs on the board.....not to pardon his offence. I am talking from the point of 'how' it is that Degoey deserves another chance.

totally agree,

lets also not forget that he is still on his P plates, his licence is gone for a minimum of 6 months, and for all those saying hes only .04 over the limit, no hes not, hes .09 over the limit. P platers have to be 0.00

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:25 pm

" A fine of $10,000. Jordan has also offered to make a further $10,000 donation to a charity, a gesture the club acknowledges and supports. "

Can we vote on which charity it should be?

Last edited by K on Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:27 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:26 pm

Gee, some over reaction here. Thankfully he didn't hurt anyone.

A few days ago people here are calling him a star and now the same people are calling on him to be sacked.

Reality check please. De Goey is no star, not just yet anyway. He serves penance and then we all move on when the main season starts up.

As a suggested punishment I think he should visit some of the causality wards of our public hospitals and witnesses some of the damage that alcohol causes amongst the community.

Mostly agree. Like almost all here I'm pissed off at his actions.

Last year he was suspended: it hurt him and hurt the club. In my view that was shooting ourselves in the foot.

The punitive way to ban him, suspend him or trade him is reactive and a knee jerk reaction & achieves little.

DeGoey has now lost his license, lost credibility, been shamed publicly & has invited shame & oppobrium to the club.

There needs to be a more creative way to deal with this so

1. He learns
2. We develop him into being a better player & person
3. That we don't harm him and the club's intersts by suspending him

Accordingly (given the punitive approach didn't work last year) we try:

ideas such as:

1. Making him experience what it is like for victims of drink driving - forcing him to sit in a wheelchair, be fed, showered, have your teeth brushed placed in and out of a bed etc, by others for ? a weekc / two weeks

2. Making him work for victims of intoxicated drivers (if they agree) make him wipe their backsides, feed, clean etc see what it is like etc, & talk to the families of said victims etc of drink drivers.

3. Make him go to jail & speak with inmates who have been done for injuring and maiming others while dring driving

4. Other similar ideas

All of or some of the above for an extended period of time will be incredibly powerful and confronting and can serve to make a start in his rehabilitation and help regain the trust of others.

Punsihment through suspension is mere anger being amplified and does not assist him & the club to grow.We want to get the most out of him & this wil not occur as has been already demonstrated by his supension last year notwithstanding his "broken hand"

excellent ideas

PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:28 pm

Woods wrote:
Club statement:

After a series of meetings between Collingwood and Jordan De Goey on Monday, it has been agreed that Jordan will remain a senior listed Collingwood player on the following terms:

- Jordan will not drink alcohol at least until the season’s end, when this decision will be reviewed.

- Jordan has made a commitment to enlist the assistance of medical professionals to help him improve his decision making.

- Jordan has agreed to make significant changes to his social life and associations, a pledge the club supports and will monitor.

In relation to Jordan’s drink driving conviction last Saturday evening, it has been agreed that the following will also apply:

- An indefinite suspension from AFL selection. When Jordan has convinced his peers and coaches that meaningful change has occurred, and that his standards have risen to those of the group, he will become available for selection.

- A fine of $10,000. Jordan has also offered to make a further $10,000 donation to a charity, a gesture the club acknowledges and supports.

- Jordan will be required to undertake employment away from the club for a period of not less than four weeks. During this time he will train in the evenings with the Collingwood VFL squad.

- Jordan will take on a meaningful role with a charitable organisation, a position that will be monitored by the club.

All of the above were agreed to after meetings between Jordan and the Collingwood leadership group and Jordan, his manager, and senior club officials.

Collingwood General Manager of Football, Geoff Walsh, said the outcomes provide Jordan with an unmistakeable message but also an unmistakeable opportunity.

"Jordan can have a long career with Collingwood if he commits himself wholly to his football but he could also have a very short career if he doesn’t," Walsh said.

"The club, and particularly his teammates, want to see behavioural change. They need to be able to trust him and believe in him.

"Jordan can win back the faith he has lost over a period of time and have a very good career if he honours all that he has agreed to today. He is telling us he wants to change. The time for talking is over."

EDIT: link: http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/news/2018-02-19/club-statement-jordan-de-goey

wow, didnt see that coming. like it a lot. well done Collingwood.
hopefully the Charity work has something to do with looking after the victims of drunk driving.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 69, 70, 71 ... 299, 300, 301  Next
Page 70 of 301