2022 Trade Period. (COMPLETED)

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 28, 29, 30  Next
mattdally 

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2022 10:05 am

90 nice wrote:
I expect today we pick up Frampton and get the deal done.

Wouldn't have thought so. We need to get a future 3rd round pick to bring him in. I'd say we don't get the deal done and we pick him up as a delisted free agent.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2022 11:06 am

Going to be a quiet couple of days I reckon and it’ll pick up next week if/when Horne Francis or Luke Jackson bust a move

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2022 11:25 am

mattdally wrote:
90 nice wrote:
I expect today we pick up Frampton and get the deal done.

Wouldn't have thought so. We need to get a future 3rd round pick to bring him in. I'd say we don't get the deal done and we pick him up as a delisted free agent.

Pretty sure our future third rounder is still in tact. We coughed up our future second rounder for Hill. By my understanding, we still our have our future first, third and fourth round selections as trade capital.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2022 11:35 am

Mr Miyagi wrote:
Jack Bowes nominated Geelong. How da fug can they get all these players abd stay under the salary cap.

AND!!!! pick 7.They now have 3 first round draft picks and 1 in the top 10.If they want Henry then we'll have pick 7 or he can go to the draft or stay.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2022 2:04 pm

mudlark wrote:
Mr Miyagi wrote:
Jack Bowes nominated Geelong. How da fug can they get all these players abd stay under the salary cap.

AND!!!! pick 7.They now have 3 first round draft picks and 1 in the top 10.If they want Henry then we'll have pick 7 or he can go to the draft or stay.

Not yet they don’t. They currently have pick 18 and that’s it. When the Bowes trade goes through, they can add pick 7 to the list. They will still have to give something up to do that trade, so it’s not all one way traffic.
Boot 

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2022 2:14 pm

With all the recruits being brought into the squad during this trading period, it would appear that Collingwood won't have that many draft picks to use in the November draft. With McStay, Hill, Frampton, Fiorini and Mitchell all tipped to be arriving at Collingwood and so far only six departures from the club (Grundy and Henry included with Browns, Chugg & McMahon) that only leaves one spot on the list to be filled by a draftee. Hence the availability of later picks in the draft will most likely be unused this year so best to trade any 2nd and 3rd round picks, and perhaps any late first round picks away for as much of an upgrade or future picks as we can.
That would leave only one or two hopefully high end top draft picks for Collingwood for the November draft. Apparently next years draft pool of kids is deemed to be a higher standard than this years so maybe even better to trade into next years draft rather than this year.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2022 2:37 pm

Don't we have to take a minimum of 3 draftees each year regardless of how many we trade in?
dalyc Scorpio

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2022 4:07 pm

Don't we have to take a minimum of 3 draftees each year regardless of how many we trade in?

Yes

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2022 4:09 pm

When is the finish of trading
BBHS Cancer

bbhs

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2022 4:14 pm

When Frampton plays it out
Charlie Oneeye Scorpio

charlie oneeye

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2022 6:23 pm

Yep

I think GC would want Fiorini off while the door is open.

Not that he is a terrible player, he is on the cusp, but I think they are in burn and churn mode.

Touk Miller age 26

Matt Rowell 21

Noah Anderson 21

If it wasn't bad enough being behind these 3, Fiorini was omitted in round 19.

If I was him, it would be clear he is on the cusp of making way for the next wave.

It is best to come home on a 3-year reduced contract.
(Better than the Browns imo)

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2022 9:03 pm

Now that DAY 4 IS DONE, what can we look forward to tomorrow?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2022 3:18 am

My view on Geelong is that they have a relatively simple concept executed well over an extended period.

They target locals and other country kids who they can sell a lifestyle to
They have a program that offers a greater work/life balance than several other clubs
They don't pay overs to retain players, they have a structured approach that every player is aware of, you get paid according to where you fit in the heirachy. Once they're in, they can scale that salary downward as they age.
They have the "small town" vibe that possibly only Adelaide can match but with a century of history on their side that opens doors to off the books cashies, advice and other support to players that no other club can match.
They have a culture which makes them a destination club which has been maintained for over a decade.

A club like Collingwood could theoretically offer everything they do except the regional lifestyle, we just need to get better at setting the expectations and executing on it.

Great post.

Our sell is in some sense the other side of the coin: playing in the heart of the capital of footy right in the midst of the big smoke action. What we need to do is signal much louder that in such an over-hyped environment we have players' backs and won't allow the lowlife media to target them, and most certainly won't throw them to the wolves. Career development outside footy is also a huge plus in Melbourne, so I hope they're making the most of that.

It's crucial that the club grasps the importance of this and does better than its cowardly response when dealing with Jordy this year.

There are plenty of good things about playing in the heart of such an amazing city, and plenty of country lads want a taste of the action, too. But we need to protect players more ferociously and make a louder point of creating space for those less excited by the urban surrounds and demands of sponsors and fans. (Think of the pathetic sooking on here when a player doesn't heed someone's demands for an autograph or whatever).

We have to shake the tag of being too burdensome for players and having an admin that ar$e covers at their expense when the shite hits the fan. Put that with the recovery of our on-field reputation, and suddenly we start looking competitive as a destination again.

Eddie was protective, but often in a dumb way that invited mockery, and only after he kicked over the hornet's nest. We need to be much more protective and show much more backbone as an organisation without worsening the hype. The current admin is doing far better at keeping a low profile, but the situation with Jordy this year showed it still put its own ar$se first when the shite hit the fan.

Next season, as part of becoming a destination club, that sort of cowardice won't cut it.

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2022 7:50 am

Great post ptid.
Pete 70 

PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2022 9:12 am

Massive salary cap issues at Giants. Everyone other than Toby is on the table.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 8, 9, 10 ... 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 9 of 30