Pre-Match. Round 15 - Magpies v. Giants.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 12:26 pm

In all seriousness and without a hint of sarcasm attached what is it in Chugg that McRae has seen that virtually no one across the boards has as yet?

I know some had already tipped him to be delisted at years end while I didn't think he had ever really had a dominant performance in the VFL let alone demanded selection after a string of good games.

About the best I can come up with is that those Richmond premiership teams had a number of role players they could call upon that all had a lot of similar traits of just being good scrappers, physically up for the contest and quick.

Is McRae looking to mimic that and build depth in this same area?

Dark Beanie Gemini

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 12:51 pm

If Chugg does play, I assume it will be to play a particular role.

His stats in the VFL have been pretty average and he doesn't necessarily stand out but he does give !00%. Also been a bit hard to get a good handle on VFL form as the team has had 2 byes in the past month.

McCrae and Leppitsch were both at the Pies last VFL game against Casey (Pies were smashed in the 1st half & conditions were windy & wet), so maybe they saw something we didn't.

duggieboy 

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 12:56 pm

Yep Swoop I'm viewing this game as a big one for our season - we'll be in the 8 with a win, likely the saints would drop out, and with the suns & dogs starting to push up, it would be a great time to break our losing run against GWS.

You'd think by ladder position we will win, but I reckon there's something about the draw this year that has a few teams maybe more elevated than their actual ability, and maybe a couple who are better than their current spot. ie: Richmond.

As others have noted, we've beaten 3 of the top 4 and should have beaten Geelong too.

I just hope we're one of those in that latter group & we're better than our current 9th spot.

Time to break the GWS cycle with our changed gameplan that won't suit them like it has the past few years.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 1:09 pm

We plainly have been - Collingwood was the outstanding team of the last month. Whether that continues after the appalling week we've had is a different question. Nevertheless, on form, we should smash them.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 1:32 pm

i think we will!

this team is more than one fool and 2 silly boys!

plus we have McCrae!

robevpau1 Cancer

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 1:36 pm

https://t.co/Z7zO3H3k1s
robevpau1 Cancer

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 1:36 pm

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FV_MwcDagAAPq1u?format=png&name=small

Isaac Chugg will make his AFL debut this Sunday against the Giants.

He is a 20-year-old who was selected with pick #28 in the Rookie Draft and plays his best footy as an outside mid and at half-back.

Isaac Chugg is a Tasmanian prospect who is rare in the sense that he has a lot of strengths, but also a lot to improve on. The Launceston talent has no issues whatsoever when it comes to the athletic aspects of football; with elite speed, agility and vertical leap which makes him a difficult player to contain when he gets going.

Last edited by robevpau1 on Fri Jun 24, 2022 1:49 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 1:44 pm

That’s great news —-read he is the fourth debutant this year

I’ve got Begg , Daicos and Chugg

Who is the fourth ???

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 1:46 pm

Ahhh McInness

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 1:46 pm

robevpau1 wrote:

Rob, Please add some info. Other members can then choose to activate the link, or not.

robevpau1 Cancer

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 1:48 pm

Donny wrote:
robevpau1 wrote:

Rob, Please add some info. Other members can then choose to activate the link, or not.

Sorry - this is the latest Twitter link re Chuggy's selection this Sunday. An understudy to Jamie Elliot?

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 1:53 pm

I watched the Casey game (on VFL app) to get a look at the boys and newbee
Carmichael
I was very impressed with Chugg

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 1:54 pm

WE wont win this, NO way known, no wonder many Pies fans are betting on the GWS, who must be licking their lips after the week from hell we have had, the unending media pilie on that just got worse and worse, hysteria, mass innuendo that never ended. Even ch 7 following our guys into training, ramming mics under their noses for comments, hoping for some reaction, our guys must be shredded mentally after all this. I hope we win, but i cannot see it, we are totally distracted i reckon, its a perfect storm for a defeat.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 1:59 pm

A word on Chugg and youth inclusion going forward—Fly talked on Carmichael
“Won’t play this week but the way he puts in at training he’ll get his chance later this year “
And Charlie Dean a chance-2023 team may look different as we get better

PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2022 2:10 pm

WE wont win this, NO way known, no wonder many Pies fans are betting on the GWS, who must be licking their lips after the week from hell we have had, the unending media pilie on that just got worse and worse, hysteria, mass innuendo that never ended. Even ch 7 following our guys into training, ramming mics under their noses for comments, hoping for some reaction, our guys must be shredded mentally after all this. I hope we win, but i cannot see it, we are totally distracted i reckon, its a perfect storm for a defeat.

thats the spirit!!

i prefer Jim beam!
cmon mate, cheer up, i reckon we will surprise you!

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> General Discussion All times are GMT + 10 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 10 of 13