Welcome to Collingwood - Luke Casey-Leigh

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> The Draft & Trade Moot (DTM) forum

Dr Pie 

Dr Pie

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:13 am

From Inside Football Draft liftout - Second list.
Luke Casey-Leigh - Sandringham Dragons. DOB 9/3/89 Ht 196cm Wt 84 kg.
"Played well in the Allies game and state testing was good so he might be in the mix. He played on Matthew Kreuzer when we played the Knights and was named out best player so he might be a late draft/rookie chance. He's a tall back who is quick and can run under three seconds for 20 meters so that makes him attractive. He kicks the ball OK, his decision making got better as the year went on and he was probably our best improver" - Sandringham Dragons regional manager Wayne Oswald

Sounds good, although like Dave I would have preferred a rookie ruckman.

bourkee 

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:13 am

From Saintsaitional Board:

Code:
Luke Casey-Leigh-195cm, 84kg-Sandringham Dragons. Tall defender whose defensive skills are ok. Not great body on body. Kicking is average and needs to improve his awareness when he has the footy in his hands.
Pick 50 plus.

gday...this is a mate of bourkey
im from saintsational

a bit of info on luke

went to melbourne grammar school...plays as a key defender

very level headed...good skills for his height

son of former richmond president clinton casey

great bloke...very easy to go up to and have a chat with

excellent pick by collingwood

DaVe86 Scorpio

Man of Steele

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:15 am

hope there is some footage of him available in the next few days.
Pies4Life 

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:20 am

yeah im a mate of bourkey and bourkee(go back to saintsational ferg)

anyway we all saw him at the races and he is the son of Clinton Casey

He did seem like a good bloke and hopefully a great player!!!!!!!!!

Premiers #08
optimax 

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:44 am

I wanted mulligan who can play both CHB and ruck, but luke still seems like a decent pick the pace sounds good a little worried by the timid part reminds me of tex but he should get there.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:24 am

http://www.collingwoodfc.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=5586&newsId=53622
Zakal 

One Game, One Club, One Jumper

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 11:46 am

Hmm interesting choice.

If we were looking for a player of this type, i would have thought we'd have given Joel Smouha a look-in.

Taller, and with a great leap. Plays in the ruck for Mt Gravatt and was top 10 in repeat 20m sprints, first in the beep test and 3rd in the 3km trial.

So the kid has plenty of agility, can run all day, is still growing, and can ruck a bit.

Was very surprised he wasnt drafted, but is a bottom age pick, so maybe we can get a look at him next year.
Snoop Dog 

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 8:52 pm

Very interesting choice. I had him as a rookie chance and did a right up as a possible.Have read some stuff saying he is soft and think thats probably pretty rough. He certainly has some development left in him.

Whats most interesting is that he went o/s on holidays apparently a few weeks ago so either the club sent him off deliberately or he was a last minute choice.

Hmmm.....has he been tanking a bit??

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:04 pm

Snoop Dog wrote:
Very interesting choice. I had him as a rookie chance and did a right up as a possible.Have read some stuff saying he is soft and think thats probably pretty rough. He certainly has some development left in him.

Whats most interesting is that he went o/s on holidays apparently a few weeks ago so either the club sent him off deliberately or he was a last minute choice.

I think that Later(Last Minute Choice) and what do you mean by Tanking Snoop?

Zakal 

One Game, One Club, One Jumper

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 9:11 am

Snoop Dog wrote:

Bloody hell i hope so. Makes it a hell of a lot more exciting when the club is so confident its onto a winner it goes to the lengths of ensuring noone else can see what they saw.

Bit like Rusling.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 11:43 am

Apparently hates Kreuzer with a passion.

Waynej3 

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 8:24 pm

3rd degree wrote:
Apparently hates Kreuzer with a passion.

I predict a shock debut in round 4 for the lad.

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 10:41 am

Wayne - what odds do you want he debuts on or before Round 4 2008?
Waynej3 

PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2007 11:14 pm

I'll wager a pocket dictionary. You can take it anywhere with you and never be lost for the meaning of a word ever again. Pretty awesome...

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 9:24 am

I'd reckon he'd be very, very unlikely to debut that early.

1. he's a rookie so someone has to go on the LTI list
2. he's bottom age
3. We just drafted the tool man who's similar dimesions and plays a similar role so would surely be ahread in calculations
4 We've also got others you'd think would be ahead for a go at CHB like JA for example.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> The Draft & Trade Moot (DTM) forum All times are GMT + 10 Hours