Trial by Media! - Sidebottom

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 11:34 pm

I reckon Fasolo might notice when Sidey doesn't gift him 2 shots in the first quarter next week. Killed the game single-handedly by quarter-time.

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 11:35 pm

If he has never been reported he will get the clean record discount so even 325 points will come down to 1 week but heaps of carry over points.

Last edited by Johnno75 on Sat May 31, 2014 9:59 pm; edited 1 time in total
King Monkey 

Location: On a journey to seek the scriptures of enlightenment....

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 11:41 pm

They've been doing those polls all year, so yeah.

Thought they overplayed the incident though. Wasn't even a hip and shoulder. It was a jump in the air and a clip with an elbow. No way he'll be getting 4 weeks for it.

You have a twisted view of things if you think an elbow is ok and a hip-and-shoulder isn't.........

MRP chook lotto aside, and ignoring the fact he's a Collingwood player, deserves 4-5 weeks for that.

Oh you are a dee-mon, I love to fiiight."

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 11:46 pm

As I said he'll get weeks. The commentators though were calling it a hip and shoulder. It wasn't. And a full hip and shoulder directly to a player's head is worse than an elbow clip. Don't think there was a lot of force behind this one, but the Saints player did go off concussed, so not good for Sidey.
King Monkey 

PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2014 11:55 pm

Hip-and-shoulder has always been part of the game, it's just unfortunate that players aren't being taught to be aware of what's coming these days.
Lifting the elbow however, has always been, and will always be, a cowardly act.

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 12:01 am

He didn't lift his elbow. Sidebottom is a ball player.
King Monkey 

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 12:36 am

He didn't lift his elbow. Sidebottom is a ball player.

Fully agree.
Sidebottom is the exact opposite of a dirty player, and he didn't lift his elbow in the same manner as McKernan of Adelaide last year. That was a dead set dog act, Sidebottom's wasn't.
BUT, Sidebottom was entitled to wear a bit of contact on this occasion, instead of using his elbow for protection.

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 12:39 am

in richos presser after the game, he said he did not see the incident, but then described it (so he must of seen it) his words were like he is trying to save sidebottom.
Beast 

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 1:54 am

Will be lucky to only get two weeks, there's absolutely nothing to moan about here.

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 1:55 am

I reckon Fasolo might notice when Sidey doesn't gift him 2 shots in the first quarter next week. Killed the game single-handedly by quarter-time.

not to mention White in the first quarter as well. for a dud kicker, he is pretty good for a lead up forward. contrast both Thomas and adams who astill need to work at that.

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 2:31 am

One of our best deliverers into the forward line. Excellent at hitting up leading forwards.

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 5:20 am

Beast wrote:
Will be lucky to only get two weeks, there's absolutely nothing to moan about here.

I kind of agree, but I also hope intent is taken into account. Sidebottom was not trying to injure. The elbow could not have been more tucked in if he tried.

My take is similar to Alan Richardson's (who seems like a total class act by the way). Sidey would have avoided contact except for the fact that the guy had the ball and so he had to play the ball. given he was already in the air, the only way to play the ball was to brace like he did for contact. If it was away from the ball I would agree he had no excuse.

I don't think this will help him, but it kind of sucks because there was no intent at all and when they wrote the law they were really trying to stop people going after the head.

I thought it was telling that no one really attacked Sidey after the incident proving that everyone knew it was a total accident.

prawnstar Capricorn

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 7:29 am

He should get two weeks after all the discounts - anything more and we are entitled to moan.

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 8:56 am

Sidey was unlucky his tucked elbow clipped the players head - it really looked like he tried to avoid the oncoming player but his momentum from the jump made it too hard to do so - Richo stated both were going for the ball so there was no malice involved...

I echo E's comments that Richo is a classy coach - not really suited to St Vomit!

Sidey looked great early - some poor kicks later in his typical Jekyl and Hyde fashion Smile

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2014 9:07 am

Richo is a great guy, too good for St Kilda really.

But knowing that lot they'll probably sack him next year because he hasn't taken the dud list he inherited to the clubs second flag yet. Just ask Stan Alves, Ken Sheldon, Scott Watters and Malcolm Blight about how they treat their coaches.

Ken Hinkley was Blighty's assistant as well and they gave him the arse along with Malcolm. That showed real foresight by the Saints didn't it Rolling Eyes

Ross Lyon was well within his rights to walk out on them for the Dockers considering St Kilda's track record of destroying coaches careers.

Page 2 of 7