You reckon Buckley will respect Matt Priddis now?

Users browsing this topic:0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 3 Guests

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:15 am

September Zeros wrote:
Raw Hammer wrote:
Gee Brownlow only chosen over 1 match hey?

Who knew

Bad bucks! Roll roll roll

2 games, 5 votes vs Collingwood. Easiest 5 votes hell ever get. But keep rolling them eyes.

P.S. Lighten up

Yep and I hear as FACT, that Buckley secretly paid off the other coaches to not tag him so he could his other 20 odd votes.

Shame on you Buckley, shame.

20% of his votes came from one team!

Again, lighten up. It's just a sly dig at Bucks for not respecting the work of Priddis with an opponent. The 'handing him a Brownlow' is a sh!t stir, obviously. Sheesh. Still funny but.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:58 am

yes, its all bucks fault not one, not one expert footy media organisation picked this guy to win, not one, not one commentator. Oh, but its all bucks fault. Unfrucking real.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:21 am

mgbourne wrote:
Clearly the all Australian selectors didn't have much respect for him either!

It didn't seem the punters, the bookies, the media had much respect for him either.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:39 am

^^Or himself Wink.

Let's be honest, he's quite a ways off from being the best player in the comp. But he's been a solid, consistent worker for a long time and is a deserving winner.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 2:02 am

^ Deserving winner, I remember thinking when we played WC "hope Priddis gets tagged"! Not the most skilled player but makes up for it, in the way he goes about his footy. A clean player he is a real competitor and does it week after week....
TheJonesBoy 

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 4:19 am

Not Really.

Brownlow is a Very Overrated Award

Pfft, righto....

You'd have jizzed everywhere had Pendles or Beams won, and Im sure you did when Swanny won it a few years back.

But its only overrated when we dont approve of the winner I guess...

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 10:57 am

TheJonesBoy wrote:
Not Really.

Brownlow is a Very Overrated Award

Pfft, righto....

You'd have jizzed everywhere had Pendles or Beams won, and Im sure you did when Swanny won it a few years back.

But its only overrated when we dont approve of the winner I guess...

Dave is 100% correct insomuch as the Brownlow is a flawed award given the intangibles of modern footy. You factor in inequitable draws and personal bias (read umpires favorites) and it's tough to argue that it's not.

MVP has more prestige these days for mine.

Doesn't diminish the fact Priddis won it. Congratulations to him
Deja Vu 

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:18 pm

Smells like Woewodin in 2000
MJ23 

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:24 pm

I didn't think Priddis was worth tagging due to the hurt factor before this year.
He's racked up 40 touches against us before and done no damage.

This year he has and good on him for developing his game.

Certainly deserved the award, not sure how this relates to Bucks. Luke Shuey has been better in the past and he was the one Id have worried about before this year.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 2:43 pm

Dave is 100% correct insomuch as the Brownlow is a flawed award given the intangibles of modern footy. You factor in inequitable draws and personal bias (read umpires favorites) and it's tough to argue that it's not.

MVP has more prestige these days for mine.

Doesn't diminish the fact Priddis won it. Congratulations to him

Ditto from me. It seems the MVP identifies just that - the most valuable player. I'd rather see the player who gives most value to his side being given the most presitigious award in the competition, not necessarily the one that gets the most touches or is continually right in front of the umpires. Remember when Judd won it the second time? That was the prime example of how the umpire voting system has serious flaws.

Matt Priddis has been a brilliant player for West Coast this year and so consistent, so at least this time, there is a worthy winner of the Brownlow. His story is incredible - being knocked back four time before getting signed onto an AFL Club. Great persistence!

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 6:56 pm

Whichever way you look at it Priddis, though very good, was extremely lucky. If Fyfe hadn't had a brain fade, or Ablett had been a tad more careful about running into McCaffer, Priddis is 3rd at best.
What stuck out for me was the complete lack of Collingwood players on the leaderboard all night, as well as the new guy's decision to copy Demetriou's bloody annoying habit of pausing after the first initial, GOD I hate that!

Darkstranger 

PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:32 pm

[quote="woftam"]To be honest I think Raw Hammer has a point. We pay Priddis no respect when we play the eagles & he racks up possessions & clearances at will. I thought with his lack of pace he was a perfect tag prospect for Caff, but the coach thought otherwise. Smashes it in the midfield against us consistently.[/quote]

No he doesn't have a point and you're both [i]<snip>[/i] obviously Buckley haters!

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2014 8:06 am

Priddis is a top bloke and a deserved winner of the brownlow. But when it comes down to it, it's an award voted on by the same wankers who screw us over week after week against opposition teams. The very same wankers who screwed over Port Adelaide's chances of defeating Hawthorn on the weekend. Honestly, who would you prefer having in your side? Priddis or Robbie Grey?

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2014 8:49 am

Darkstranger wrote:
woftam wrote:
To be honest I think Raw Hammer has a point. We pay Priddis no respect when we play the eagles & he racks up possessions & clearances at will. I thought with his lack of pace he was a perfect tag prospect for Caff, but the coach thought otherwise. Smashes it in the midfield against us consistently.

No he doesn't have a point and you're both flogs and obviously Buckley haters!

A flog am I? Because I have a differing opinion to you? Well excuse me.
What a well thought out response. If you don't like opinions other than your own, don't use forums. I have some issues with our game plan & have for some time, but I definitely am not a Buckley hater. Stupid post.
R_T_RUSH 

PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2014 9:10 am

melliot wrote:
Yes. It's the case for whoever Beams plays on.

Beams has to be extremely damaging, cos his opponent gets a stack of it.

Applies equally for Pendlebury