Round Robin forum footy!

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 26, 27, 28 ... 47, 48, 49  Next

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:50 pm

Well, we lost both games. Instead of having a large bench at our disposal, we ended up struggling for numbers but the boys battled hard on a frigging hot day.

To the guys in the midfield who ran hard all day, you are all legends. Seriously.

First game was against Melbourne who had a number of players who actually play senior footy. Considering the sizable difference in size and fitness, I reckon we did OK.

Dissapointing to lose to the Saints in the second game, but hey, it was a fun day out.

Time for me to hit the shower and think about what I'm going to order for dinner, stuffed if I have the energy to cook.

optimax 

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:53 pm

Ah shit that makes me feel worse, the fact we were meant to have an oversized bench eased my mind a little

Sorry team Crying or Very sad

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 4:59 pm

Sorry I couldnt make it, but someone tried to burn their house down whilst burning off
Macedonian Marvel #35 Cancer

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 5:09 pm

Let me also thank the water suppliers I thing it may have been tman who brang the big eski full of water and there may have been others but cheers guys it went down well
DaVe86 Scorpio

Man of Steele

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 5:17 pm

The water suppliers were the hero's of the day.

I must say I could not even muster a jog after half time in the Saints game. Was so friggen hot out there.

I must say, credit to Mike for been the only guy in defence in the last half of the Saints game. I was there, but only for show because I offered nothing.

Credit also to the little bloke doing the ruckwork in the 2nd half of the Saints game. Great overhead mark as well.

Thought he, along with David and Luke were good, and Macedonian Marvel looked the goods in the last half as well.

Nathan

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 5:24 pm

+1 Dave86

Thanks to everyone, was a good fun day and great to put some faces to names finally.

Reckon Dave's Votes are about right as well.

There was some talk after the gaem about another one either in the mid season break or possibluy on the ANZAC holiday.

thoguhts>?

Gen George S Patton.
US 3rd Army.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 5:26 pm

Is that your final answer?

Nathan

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 5:31 pm

34 degrees and 31 at time of writing - she was a hot one boys.

Gen George S Patton.
US 3rd Army.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 5:35 pm

Hey 42, nice work with the coaching mate. good stuff.

Macedonian Marvel #35 Cancer

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 5:38 pm

Yeah top coaching 42 and yeah I'm keen for another day in the future I don't want to wait a year though
luvdids Sagittarius

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 5:45 pm

42 wrote:
was a good fun day and great to put some faces to names finally.

ditto.

And I feel for all of you that played - I was hot just watching!
But had a great time actually speaking to people, rather than communicating via keyboards.

Well done fellas, just for actually doing it!

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 5:49 pm

Thanks to everyone who helped out. Would have been nice to win, but I just loved the opportunity to play a bit of footy again. On Vic Park just made it extra special. The heat was a bit much, but you can't win them all.

As for me, I can barely move. Just had a cold shower, and now I'm sitting on my bed. Promised to go out with a friend for drinks tonight... this is going to be an ordeal. Laughing

As for the games, I thought Luke (Johnson #26), Tman 4 and Carders were among our best. Lots tried hard, and Mike was our best in the second half against the Saints, he did well in defence even when often outnumbered.

Thanks to 42 for taking the coaching reins (and the field against the Saints!), die4pies for all his work leading up to the match, neon leon for the team sheets, and whoever it was who brought the eski (sorry, the heat has addled my brain).

I can't walk, but I think it was worth it. Mr. Green

Nathan

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 6:07 pm

and big shout out to david as well, who was the certainly the heart and soul of the side and got the game happening.

and made some heroic moves one the field too.

Lokan would b proud.

ta for ppls kind words too.

Gen George S Patton.
US 3rd Army.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 6:15 pm

luvdids wrote:
42 wrote:
was a good fun day and great to put some faces to names finally.

ditto.

And I feel for all of you that played - I was hot just watching!
But had a great time actually speaking to people, rather than communicating via keyboards.

Well done fellas, just for actually doing it!

And nice to finally meet you. Did I make a big enough dickhead of myself or is there still room for improvement? Wink

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 6:16 pm

Well done to all involved, was a great day despite the results. Agree with Stui, all things considered, we gave it our all vs Melb, and came away with some pride and dignity intact. They're a very, very good combination, and deserved their win for sure.

Sainters game saw us have our chances, but they just had too many bigger bodies who set up well across the midfield/wings. Was a good game, though, and reckon had we snagged another one during our 'purple patch' the results may have been a little different, but the Sainters definitely were the better side for the duration.

Huge thanks and full credit to all who turned up, and especially to those who helped in some way, shape or form by bringing water/food/eskys etc, much appreciated by all. Also to David for his great work in helping organise the day, and to 42 as coach, who did a great job keeping the side together and ready to go for each match/quarter. And of course to everyone who turned up and played, well done for sticking it out, and playing some great team footy. Well done.

Despite the heat it was definitely a great day, enjoyed the company of all there, hopefully another match/round-robin will ensue at Vic Park sooner rather than later.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 26, 27, 28 ... 47, 48, 49  Next
Page 27 of 49