Round Robin forum footy!

Users browsing this topic:0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 2 Guests

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 27, 28, 29 ... 47, 48, 49  Next

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 6:29 pm

i just got baqck, i done my recovery session. was at the pub in city for a recovery, oh and i still have the bottle of jimmy with me.

well done to everyone that done their part either by bringing water down, playing etc.

the dees game we had no chance as most were people playing footy and this was their preseason game or something they were saying.

my mate was the 1 playing ruck in the saints game for the 2nd half, he is like 14 and plays under 16's for calder cannons, and is going to be playing under 19's for nth heidelberg.

i had to pick up plugger and gehrig/hall in the last game. plugger was weighing in at about 150kgs and me at 50kgs. where was all the help come the 2nd half for the saints game
DaVe86 Scorpio

Man of Steele

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 6:33 pm

luvdids wrote:
42 wrote:
was a good fun day and great to put some faces to names finally.

ditto.

And I feel for all of you that played - I was hot just watching!
But had a great time actually speaking to people, rather than communicating via keyboards.

Well done fellas, just for actually doing it!

The oranges were the highlight of my day. You're a star

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 6:37 pm

Yes, thanks for the oranges Christine!! Mr. Green
Kingswood 

//

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 6:38 pm

congrats to the guys who set it up and for everyone who showed up, when i'm back in australia next year i really hope these things are still going strong, would love to be at one.

maybe we need to set up a weekly training session for nicks, whip some of us members back into shape Razz

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 6:41 pm

Kingswood wrote:
congrats to the guys who set it up and for everyone who showed up, when i'm back in australia next year i really hope these things are still going strong, would love to be at one.

maybe we need to set up a weekly training session for nicks, whip some of us members back into shape Razz

Go wash your keyboard straight away then go to your room and think about what you just posted. Evil or Very Mad Wink

optimax 

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 6:43 pm

Kingswood wrote:

Go wash your keyboard straight away then go to your room and think about what you just posted. Evil or Very Mad Wink
clearly he means a weekely pub get together

Its what you meant surely kingswood?

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 7:04 pm

btw, while everyone played their hearts out, and many showed plenty of talent and courage, just want to mention the work of sicey at half back against melbourne. the backline was under siege, and often out numbered 1 vs 2-3, they still struggled to get past him, and his work in putting his head over the ball and making some calm and collected decisions by hand and foot while under the pump was terrific. great work, mate.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 7:06 pm

A great day for the beach.

Not so good for footy.

The spirit with which the games were played was a credit to everyone. It was great to have a crowd watching too.

Christine, those oranges were a godsend. Thanks heaps.

Big thanks to the waterboy and the suppliers of all the water for the players. It crossed my mind that I should have notified St John's Ambos that a game was on, but we seemed to get through OK.

David and Neon Leon you guys did a great job and everything went off without a hitch and Jock '42' McHale can be coach everytime as far as I'm concerned, fantastic work.

As for the game there were some great individual perforances and plenty of credit goes to the guys busting their guts in the middle. Those of us who know what it was like to be an 1980's teenager just played minor cameos, unfortunately that was not enough to get us past what were considerably younger and fitter 'football' bodies.

It was a lot of fun and we will have to have some form of season opener back at Victoria Park next year for the coming 2010 season. As everyone could plainly see, Victoria Park is OURS now...for keeps. Very Happy

TMan4 Capricorn

Tas

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 7:51 pm

Thanks to everyone involved today. I had a great time apart from the heat and jarring my finger. Was good to meet people face to face today. I must remember to bring 2 eskies full of water next time as we ran out by the end of the first game! I was just glad to be involved seeing how i have hardly any footy skills!

PS. Maybe we can organise the next one during the split round when it'll be much cooler. I think my lungs are still somewhere in the center of Vic Park!!

Nathan

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 8:03 pm

seems most ppl are keen for a rematch - d4p's idea of a season opener sounds good and then maybe anther one either on the split or anzac if we cna get essendon involved?

Gen George S Patton.
US 3rd Army.
sicey 

Us against them

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 9:15 pm

Thanks johno, well done to all the lads in back line, we were outnumbered,
but our spirit was strong

thanks for the esky tman, came in handy
to ice up two busted fingers!

Thanks for the oranges luvdids!

Apologies I couldn't stick around, daughter
had a ballet concert.

Bring on 2010
TMan4 Capricorn

Tas

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 9:40 pm

DaVe86 wrote:
luvdids wrote:
42 wrote:

ditto.

But had a great time actually speaking to people, rather than communicating via keyboards.

The oranges were the highlight of my day. You're a star

Yes, thanks for the oranges, they were refreshing!
luvdids Sagittarius

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 7:33 am

luvdids wrote:
42 wrote:

ditto.

And nice to finally meet you. Did I make a big enough dickhead of myself or is there still room for improvement? Wink

haha, no, you were good. Probably room for improvement if you were aiming for dickhead, coz you weren't at all.

And everyone is welcome re the oranges, I didn't think anyone would even want any, was going to just leave them in the car instead of being a wanker with oranges Embarassed So I'm glad they went down well.
Maybe if it's not so hot next time I'll take dimmies instead Wink Or inject the oranges with vodka as Stui suggested.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 9:23 am

Apologies to the side for my non attendance , had to look after the kitchen lid, the other half had a death in the family. Was really looking forward to playing at Vic Park which sucks oh well played in 2 out of 4 so far!

rollinson 65 

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 12:49 pm

just checking in to say thanks...

to david and neon leon for all their work...

all games played in good spirit...

didn't notice the umpys, so their performance must have been flawless... Wink

many, many thanks to you guys for a magnificent venue, it was an honour and a privilege to play on vic park...

we dees have got some good players, as have the talkingcarlton mob, but the wheel will turn...

the saints beat us not too long ago...

how did you guys like the format ??

talking to other forums about doing it again in february, and perhaps trying to interest the essendon and richmond guys in joining in...

what do you guys think ??

next time we play you, there will be an actual "woey" trophy...

regards,

rollo Twisted Evil Twisted Evil

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 27, 28, 29 ... 47, 48, 49  Next
Page 28 of 49