Cloke.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Brenny 

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 8:44 pm

In my opinion Cloke will be fine.

Remember a few years ago Cloke was in the same situation when Dawes wasn't playing.

We, and still do, had a mountain of small players. The large guys will always go to Cloke.

Our saving grace is that White stood up yesterday as the dominant big man and clunked a few marks and kicked a few goals.

If White continues to play as such, then the No.2 defender has to go to him and Cloke will get some space.

Once we add Reid back to the equation, we will be back to normal. But as long as Cloke is taking the best and also the 2nd best defender, he will find it hard.

Effort and work rate is what I want to see and both is what I do see.

People saying drop Cloke, I suggest are frustrated. I understand that. But give the lad and the team some time.

Last edited by Brenny on Sat Apr 12, 2014 8:46 pm; edited 1 time in total
kymbo5@yahoo.com.au 

PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2014 8:44 pm

Travis is far too important. To focus entirely on his goals and/or goal assists is way too narrow a view.
King Malta Leo

RIP Flip

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 10:31 am

King Malta wrote:
Even the slightest suggestion of dropping Travis is hilarious.

did you have your wife and kids at the footy last night??

No, no wife and kids for me, still in my early twenties! Don't need that kind of stress at this age Laughing

Why do you ask?
Brenny 

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 11:17 am

^ I turn 30 this year (though I like to think it's 2Cool and I still think I don't need the stress :p
MattyD 

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 11:56 am

Brenny wrote:
^ I turn 30 this year (though I like to think it's 2Cool and I still think I don't need the stress :p

And you don't want it at 40 either, mate. Trust me on that Very Happy

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 12:04 pm

simon tonna wrote:
I'm just sad to see a player of Clokes stature being chipped away from threads like this, journos [not that they matter] and trolls who try and make a name for them selfs on a internet forum.
the forward line structure was well balanced in our favour due to a guy who played 200 games for the mighty pies , a guy who puts in 100% every game , who every opposition where up against focus all there attention on and plays he's heart out no matter what! ease up on the guy FFS.

the bloke is hopelessly out of form, I'm sorry but we don't pay him 700k to provide structure and net single figure possessions, Trav has history of losing form for very long periods.

We can't have a designated KF who doesn't play anywhere else dropping chest marks and providing us nothing on the scoreboard.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 1:14 pm

I reckon he will come good real soon, he just needs one great game, bag six snags. Jesse White will help him out, white has to get used to our gameplan, and try to become a decoy for Clokey, and don't forget, if 3 guys are manning up Cloke, then that means, we should have 3 loose guys to snap up any crumbs, like Elliott or sidey.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 2:06 pm

Out of form, no doubt but even so, he still adds value. He's a match winner, we can't afford to have him running around in the vfl at this stage. Sure, if it were to continue for a few more weeks and we had Reid and Brown back in, you'd consider it. I reckon he'll come good this week though.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 2:48 pm

Reckon Trav will come good over the next couple of weeks
OEP Pisces

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 3:04 pm

Even an underperforming Travis makes our team better because he takes not only their best defender but usually their best 3 defenders leaving space for the other forwards to use, though sometimes they don't use it and sometimes the player kicking into the forward line doesn't use the free forward.

If he wasn't working hard during the game I'd have some concerns but he always works his arse off every game and eventually the rewards will come.

Rick Taurus

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 4:11 pm

Trav needs to watch Nick Reiwoldt. He needs to out run his opponent and present up on the wings.

With White and Witts in the 50 arc, we should be taking advantage of Clokes aerobic abilities as the conduit between the arcs.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 5:48 pm

Put him at CHF. He'll mark everything and still kick two or three a game from that distance. Having him so deep denies him space and allows time for the opposition to get players back into that space, by the time the ball gets there.

If the traditional Ff role has any meaning, give it to White and/or Elliott.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2014 5:57 pm

Don't see how this is an issue this week when we've managed to kick a winning score without scoreboard contributions from Cloke. White certainly wouldn't have had as much space and opportunity if Cloke wasn't out there, same for the mids.

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 2:47 pm

I reckon he will come good real soon, he just needs one great game, bag six snags. Jesse White will help him out, white has to get used to our gameplan, and try to become a decoy for Clokey, and don't forget, if 3 guys are manning up Cloke, then that means, we should have 3 loose guys to snap up any crumbs, like Elliott or sidey.

I reckon you might be wrong.

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2014 2:50 pm

Returning him to the VFL will hurt us, Cloke even in his current form is better than our next best, but as I've said it could be short term pain for long term gain, I'd play him in the VFL for the next 2 weeks, give him a couple of soft kills, it'll also make him angry, very angry, it'll hurt his pride, and an angry Trav is the Trav we need.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 4 of 11