Evaluating the trade period: how did we go?

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10, 11, 12  Next

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:04 pm

5 from the wing on debut wrote:
[quote="Jezza"][quote="winpies"]We did better than what Terry Wallace said on Trade Radio - he gave us a D- from memory. Twit!!![/quote]
It was E+ actually.

Coming from the guy who was a part of the club who drafted Richard Tambling before Buddy in 2004 Laughing[/quote]

I was invited by a client to a small function at Punt Rd during Wallace's first season as coach of Richmond. Wallace stood on a milk crate and addressed the room. He said that one of the reasons that he took the Richmond job was because of the strong state of its list. He specifically said that the list was far stronger than Ports' list, and that Port was going to be down for a long time. He said it was far stronger than the Whoreks list.

Each morning for the last week or so I have listened to him on the radio, analysing the trading and stating who has done well and who has not.

The problem with making such statements in public is that some people remember what was said in the past and then judge subsequent opinions accordingly.
I assume you mean our current problem.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:20 pm

Negatives:

We lost 3 of our top 10 players in the 2015 Copeland for the grand total of:
pick 76 and pick 105

Every man and his bulldog, outside the Buckley love-in groupies, believes we have overpaid for Mayne and Wells.

Still can not believe the Mayne deal.

We have no back up talls, and the forward talls are highly speculative.
Moore/Cox/White

If Grundy Moore and Reid get injured we will finish last.

Positives:

Wells is likely to be a star for at least 2 more years
Hoskin-Elliot is likely to be a star
Problem is they are both not the most consistent of footballers.

Daicos and Brown look like diamonds

GWS look like certainties for the flag, and Essendon Melbourne and StKilda likely to go past us.

Chances of us finishing in the 8 are not impossible but me and the bookies thinks we are more likely to win the spoon than the flag.
Albert Parker 

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:26 pm

^Reckon Melbourne and Saints finished above us this season.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:28 pm

CarringbushCigar wrote:
Negatives:

We lost 3 of our top 10 players in the 2015 Copeland for the grand total of:
pick 76 and pick 105

Every man and his bulldog, outside the Buckley love-in groupies, believes we have overpaid for Mayne and Wells.

Still can not believe the Mayne deal.

We have no back up talls, and the forward talls are highly speculative.
Moore/Cox/White

If Grundy Moore and Reid get injured we will finish last.

Positives:

Wells is likely to be a star for at least 2 more years
Hoskin-Elliot is likely to be a star
Problem is they are both not the most consistent of footballers.

Daicos and Brown look like diamonds

GWS look like certainties for the flag, and Essendon Melbourne and StKilda likely to go past us.

Chances of us finishing in the 8 are not impossible but me and the bookies thinks we are more likely to win the spoon than the flag.

We probably did pay overs for Mayne and Wells mate, but we had to target FA's and who cares if we can afford it. Their contracts will be heavily front ended I reckon.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:29 pm

I reckon it was a crap trade week for us.
Got nothing for a whole raft of players.
Picked up some more duds.
Picked up on a ageing rock star in Wells.
Pity it is not 2009 again.
Picked up Hoskin who didn't play the last 20 games
for GWS.
So that is a stab in the dark pick.
All i seem to see about him is that he went for pick 4 a whole 5 years
ago.1
He has done nothing else since.
Now the mongrels Hawthorn have got 2 top midfield players and a big man in Vickery that fits the hawks plan of drafting tall players ...that they can mark.
So Hawks are streets ahead of us ...again!
Still got marsh and blair who nobody wanted to trade even
pick 103!
So as I said before.
2016 ...a waste of a year.

Doom and gloom time eh for you yet again, and Hawks streets ahead of us in picking up an absolute spud in Vickery, biggest spud in history, tiger fans are rapt to be free of him, check them out online. Vickery ???? don't make me laugh, spud of all spuds. Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:31 pm

I think the trade was a 7/10 without the Witts deal, but drops to a 5/10 because of Witts.

We will regret this trade.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:31 pm

for GWS.
ago.1
Now the mongrels Hawthorn have got 2 top midfield players and a big man in Vickery that fits the hawks plan of drafting tall players ...that they can mark.
pick 103!
So as I said before.

So hawks have lost 1 and 2 in their 2016 B&F (for a couple of draft picks in the 80's), given up future picks, brought in Vickery who is a total flog and O'Meara who hasn't played a game for 2 years and who's body is highly doubtful. Yeah, they've done real well.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:39 pm

for GWS.
ago.1
pick 103!
So as I said before.

So hawks have lost 1 and 2 in their 2016 B&F (for a couple of draft picks in the 80's), given up future picks, brought in Vickery who is a total flog and O'Meara who hasn't played a game for 2 years and who's body is highly doubtful. Yeah, they've done real well.

Spot on, and a one eyed Hawk fan told me last night, he is furious with Clarko, and they are no longer a HAPPY team at Hawthorn. Razz

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:43 pm

for GWS.
ago.1
pick 103!
So as I said before.

Yeah.
They have got 2 young dudes and got rid of 2 old dudes.
Do the hawks ever bring in any tall player that can't mark.
They have won 4 flags in 8 years with this strategy.
Quality players out when old and quality players in when young.
Every player is a risk when picked.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:46 pm

for GWS.
ago.1
pick 103!
So as I said before.

Spot on, and a one eyed Hawk fan told me last night, he is furious with Clarko, and they are no longer a HAPPY team at Hawthorn. Razz

4 flags and the flog is not happy with clarko.
How crazy.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:47 pm

[quote="Damien"][quote="thompsoc"]I reckon it was a crap trade week for us.
for GWS.
ago.1
pick 103!
So as I said before.
2016 ...a waste of a year.[/quote]

So hawks have lost 1 and 2 in their 2016 B&F (for a couple of draft picks in the 80's), given up future picks, brought in Vickery who is a total flog and O'Meara who hasn't played a game for 2 years and who's body is highly doubtful. Yeah, they've done real well.[/quote]
Yeah.
They have got 2 young dudes and got rid of 2 old dudes.
Do the hawks ever bring in any tall player that can't mark.
They have won 4 flags in 8 years with this strategy.
Quality players out when old and quality players in when young.
Every player is a risk when picked.
Some of them do, I think.

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 4:48 pm

Well I woke up to check the news (6:30 am in London) and felt disappointed.

When you look at the whole trade period, we saw several grandpas, hacks and injury prone players fly around the country.

Who was the overall winner of this trade period?? Hard to say. It might actually be Carlton, but if its true they knocked back Atkins and pick 14 for Gibbs, I have to give them a fail.

1. Free Agency singing Daniel Wells Nice way to start it all off. A best 22 player for free.

2. Free Agency signing Chris Mayne. Another "free" player. Perhaps the length of the deal is a bit of a worry, but worth the risk bringing him in.

3. Not matching the Nate Brown offer from St Kilda. Ideally, we would have preferred to trade him to North, for what would have been a Marley pick. But the club has made the right call in letting Nate go.

4. Trading Jarrod Witts to GCS for pick 44 and pick 62. Initially, I felt that we could have done better than pick 44. But considering the other deals that have gone on this year, I think we'll take the two picks and run.

5. Trading Travis Cloke to WBD for pick 76. Honestly, Im glad to see the back of him. Again, I felt that we cold have done better than pick 76. But if we could have moved that to get James Stewart, this would be a MASSIVE . So X.

6. Trading a future second round pick for Will Hoskin-Elliott. The best move of the period. Very happy with this one. Not much else to say. Just another big .

7. Trading Jack Frost, pick 76 and a future third round pick to BL for a future third and fourth round pick. X . I felt like we could have done more here. Essentially we traded Cloke, Frost and a future third for another future third and fourth. If only Witts and Marley were happy to go to BL too!

8. Trading Marley Williams to NM for pick 105. X. Ridiculous. Pick 105? We should have pushed this one earlier or tried to package him with another player. Very disappointed with such a terrible pick. I know its "better than nothing" But then again is it?

9. Trading pick 47 for Lynden Dunn and pick 51. Im happy to downgrade three picks and get Dunn. He'll provide depth/support and even at 29, is a better player than Frost/Brown.

I was disappointed that Essendon got Stewart for pick 77. We could have essentially traded pick 76 (Cloke) to get that done. And I think we would have been rather satisfied if we managed to get that done.

I was disappointed that we couldn't make a move on Rockliff. If we added him to the side along with WHE, Dunn, Wells, Mayne and maybe Stewart, I would have called this an extremely successful trade period.

Will add more to this later as I'm now late for work lol

Last edited by Presti35 on Thu Oct 20, 2016 5:23 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 5:12 pm

CarringbushCigar wrote:

Still can not believe the Mayne deal....

Mayne and Wells came to us as free agents, so we got them for nothing. Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 5:16 pm

MightyMagpie wrote:
WhyPhilWhy? wrote:
Would you not use Pick 28 on the best available KPF at that point?

2016 is supposedly a strong midfielders draft (and deep, some say down to about pick 50) and 2017 a stronger KPP draft, but I guess it will all depend on who is available when the time comes.

I say take the best player left at 28 no matter.
We can trade or draft for another remembering GWS have loads of talls coming through there academy in th next 2 seasons and they can't keep them all.

Absolutely. Take the best available. You only draft on need if the difference between players is small. At 28 in a strong midfield draft there's likely to be good midfielders available and only a decent tall. You'd definitely not take a tall in that event, only way I would is if there was a Grundy type situation.

Our need for talls is not acute and there are ways to bring them in other than deliberately choosing a lesser player in the draft.

The_Staunton Virgo

PostPosted: Thu Oct 20, 2016 5:25 pm

Solid D+ on the AFL website

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-10-20/trade-verdict-how-did-your-club-fare-during-the-trade-period

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 4 of 12