Eddie McGuire - Time To Go?

Users browsing this topic:0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 4 Guests

Should Eddie McGuire leave Collingwood?
Yes
55%
 55%  [ 50 ]
No
31%
 31%  [ 28 ]
Undecided
13%
 13%  [ 12 ]
Total Votes : 90

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:58 pm

Well said hiss.

And yeah, if Eddie can't make the call, then....

Redlight 

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:07 am
Post subject: Re: HeyReply with quote

Hiss wrote:
Redlight wrote:
You know Redlight.
You forget that this board is about Collingwood and not about other posters.
You seem to spend a lot of time bagging other posters.
""lining up to vomit a endless stream of bile and dribble".
is just one small example of you bagging other posters.
Calling an official, a rabbit or galah or a fat controller is really nothing compared to what you say.
It has been an endless problem here where posters get personal with others on this board.
This board is about praising, criticizing or indifferent posting about collingwood.

Are you really suggesting that it's out of line to have a go at people who disparage the coach, players and president of Collingwood?

On a Collingwood board?

As tenuous as it is, I have a relationship with the Collingwood Football Club, it's servants and players. I've spent a lifetime riding the ups and downs, limped through the lean years, revelled in the rare flag. Just like (mostly) everyone here.

I have no such relationship with the anonymous snipers that post here.

While I do have a lot of respect for the ideas and statements of many of the posters on Nick's, that does not include the disrespectful turnips that think it's the height of wit to describe the president as a liar, or one of our greatest players as 'a curse'.

F*^k those people.

If you want to come onto a supporters board and bag the club, don't whinge if someone gives you a whack.

Look they have as much right to an opinion as you! They are just as passionate and committed to sucesss as you claim to be. It's just their frustration has reached boiling point and justifiably so! You defend this current mob as though they have written the responses for you! Some posters find your constant defence of this current Collingwood predicament breathtaking. It is so obvious, even to the most loyal longstanding fans, that this Board and the way our Club is failing, no longer acceptable. And in my humble view, they are absolutely spot on. You can defend all you like with this misguided loyalty rhetoric, however the facts now are so compelling, even those like me ,once loyal to McGuire believe his time is up.

Probably your funniest post in some time.

It's odd. Those who hate Buckley and McGuire 'have as much right to an opinion as you' but my opinions are 'breathtaking' and what? I'm one of your club plants?

Please.

I'm defending those who have made amazing, and proven, contributions to the club. I'm not arguing that they're infallible or that they should have a job for life, but simply expecting that they'll be treated with a modicum of respect.

You, on the other hand, are defending those who seem to hate almost everyone associated with the place, those that are happy to refer to Buckley as 'figjam', McGuire as 'The Fat Controller' and constantly deride our current players.

Did I say 'f@#k those guys' in my post? I think I did? I should've if I didn't.

Just in case - f@#k those guys.

The current predicament is terrible, I don't think you'll find true Collingwood supporters who're happy with our results. Mind you, there are plenty of 'I told you so' types on here who are loving every second.

Most can see the situation for what it is and are able to express their reservations and concerns with respect. They can do this because they love the place and appreciate the work that everyone is putting in regardless of the results. They are reasonable. They have reasonable expectations.

There's no-one at the club that's involved with this that isn't losing sleep. I can guarantee you that.

There are 18 clubs trying to do exactly what the Pies are trying to do, and all are giving it everything.

Newsflash! It's hard.

McGuire and Buckley are both heroes of this club. It would serve you well to remember that. I'm certainly not prepared to throw them under the bus so as not to offend the likes of you.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 1:05 am

ALL I know is if our bloody wayward forward line had have kicked straight, out of our oodles of inside fifties, eg, far more than essendoper had, we would be sitting on 4-1 and not even having this conversation re the powers that be. Just shit kicking for goal, maybe Bucks should jump the fence and kick the damn goals for us, he was deadly accurate. sigh.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 3:14 am

Its funny how if you wait long enough you see that history has a tendency to repeat itself over and over again.

I remember how violent this board got about MM back in 2006-2008 leading up to the handover. we were all 100% certain that MM was not the guy to deliver us a premiership. 100% sure.

Then, all of a sudden, something happened and then MM became god like.

I remember a similar thing happening to bomber Thompson around 2005-2006.

I feel really sorry for Nathan. A lot of coaches have had to rebuild (few make it out the other side). Not many coaches have had to coach the decline of the prior team AND the rebuild. It will be interesting to see if he can make it before the voices get him...... i am losing faith but you never know.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 11:10 am

ALL I know is if our bloody wayward forward line had have kicked straight, out of our oodles of inside fifties, eg, far more than essendoper had, we would be sitting on 4-1 and not even having this conversation re the powers that be. Just shit kicking for goal, maybe Bucks should jump the fence and kick the damn goals for us, he was deadly accurate. sigh.

Sorry I can't agree that our poor kicking for goal is the only issue and for that fact we would even be 4-1. Remember the Saints kick 4.8 in the 3rd qtr and Richmond missed a few.

Point is in Round 1 in the 3rd Qtr we hit the lead and were in front at stages in the 3rd quarter against Richmond and Essendon and just about level against the Saints. In all circumstances they game was up for grabs but we were out tackled and out hunted by the opposition who wanted the game more.

But lets look at your argument and see why. Last year Ben Dixon was at the club as a part time kicking coach and our conversion rate for goals to I50 and goal accuracy was in the top 5.

Obviously the football department has decided that we didn't need a specialist goal kicking coach and now we are now ranked dead last by a long way so far in 2017. Another bad decision made by the club that has created another problem. This is not new and it doesn't seem we have fixed many of our previous problems we just keep adding to them.

Now with so many football managers over the past few years it means they make a decision and for whatever reason are moved on or leave so there is no justification.

Someone needs to own up to this mess, but in reality its going to be Bucks that cops the flack. Although I don't believe it is all his fault so you must look higher up.

derkd 

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:25 pm

Its funny how if you wait long enough you see that history has a tendency to repeat itself over and over again.

I remember how violent this board got about MM back in 2006-2008 leading up to the handover. we were all 100% certain that MM was not the guy to deliver us a premiership. 100% sure.

Then, all of a sudden, something happened and then MM became god like.

I remember a similar thing happening to bomber Thompson around 2005-2006.

I feel really sorry for Nathan. A lot of coaches have had to rebuild (few make it out the other side). Not many coaches have had to coach the decline of the prior team AND the rebuild. It will be interesting to see if he can make it before the voices get him...... i am losing faith but you never know.

That is where i feel for Bucks.....he should have been allowed to go away from the club to coach elsewhere..... yes he accepted the offer, but those at the top of the club could not stand to see him go elsewhere.

On top of that you have people who should know better coming out and making ridiculous statements like "we will back contending for the premiership in three years"...talk about heaping on the pressure.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/collingwood-ceo-gary-pert-predicts-pie-flag-within-three-years-20140314-hviw8.html

And beyond even this, you have had a circus of head of football being replaced every year and one lasting the grand total of a month. Who has been held accountable for such poor strategy.

Look not for a moment am i saying this excuses on field effort and unfortunately Bucks is the coach and is the one who ultimately takes responsibility for on field performance (as do all coaches).

But gee the club has made a mess of things. and who has taken responsibility for it...As Bucks takes the fall for on field. The Buck also stops with Eddie for off field.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 3:51 pm

Johnno75 wrote:

Sorry I can't agree that our poor kicking for goal is the only issue and for that fact we would even be 4-1. Remember the Saints kick 4.8 in the 3rd qtr and Richmond missed a few.

Point is in Round 1 in the 3rd Qtr we hit the lead and were in front at stages in the 3rd quarter against Richmond and Essendon and just about level against the Saints. In all circumstances they game was up for grabs but we were out tackled and out hunted by the opposition who wanted the game more.

But lets look at your argument and see why. Last year Ben Dixon was at the club as a part time kicking coach and our conversion rate for goals to I50 and goal accuracy was in the top 5.

Obviously the football department has decided that we didn't need a specialist goal kicking coach and now we are now ranked dead last by a long way so far in 2017. Another bad decision made by the club that has created another problem. This is not new and it doesn't seem we have fixed many of our previous problems we just keep adding to them.

Now with so many football managers over the past few years it means they make a decision and for whatever reason are moved on or leave so there is no justification.

Someone needs to own up to this mess, but in reality its going to be Bucks that cops the flack. Although I don't believe it is all his fault so you must look higher up.

Maybe, but all the easy pesy soda goals we miss, just kills the team, at vital moments, very vital moments, ala fasolo v essendoper, kick those snags and the whole team lifts massively, that's my whole point. Confused

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 5:26 pm

Maybe no-one else will ever put into the job what McGuire has, and perhaps others see what he does do, and are fearful of the workload.

Hawthorn didn't seem to have a problem attracting a new President or having continued success.

I doubt any true Collingwood supporter could deny Ed has done a fantastic job of turning around the fortunes of the club and because he has I doubt the sky will fall in with another well credentialed individual at the helm.

While I don't doubt Ed cares for the club as much as ever, after 20 years I don't think he's as hard edged and innovative as he once was.

A lot has happened during those years since he was fresh faced football show host, he's built a media company and business interests, sits on many boards, has a presence in radio, television and print, became a father and built great wealth.

He's now 20 years older, has many demands on his time, his waistline has expanded due to to many long lunches and with the comfort of wealth he could be excused for not being as driven as he once was.

Personally it just feels he's made a few missteps in recent years and may not be reading the mood of supporters as well as he believes.

At present our club just feels stale and like we've fallen behind the pack again when not long ago we were the industry leaders.

I just hope we have a board capable of being independently minded because if Ed looks to re-sign Buckley on the back of a failed season all hell will break loose and to me it'll show he's past being capable of being President and putting the interests of his own ego ahead of the club.

I'm still confident he hasn't fallen to that level but either way after 20 years the time for a new President is just about upon us.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 28, 2017 5:35 pm

Maybe no-one else will ever put into the job what McGuire has, and perhaps others see what he does do, and are fearful of the workload.

To be fair Cam, if that is the case, then its a pretty poor case of corporate governance, the load should be spread appropriately and not overly dependant on anyone exec officer....

And to any claims suggesting that Ed has done nothing for the club, although I haven't seen any claims to that nature, any such claims would be certainly untrue.

Ed has done heaps for the club, but there are those of us who feel that uncontested elections and nearly 20 years of the same bloke as president is unhealthy at best, and possibly undermining, if not intentionally, at worst, for the Club as a whole.

Added to that is his recent tendency to say silly things (i.e the ice bath thing, King Kong)

Other have listed other concerns

BenBronx 

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 5:06 pm

Another loss...

2-5 after 7 rounds...

Lost our two biggest games of the year (considering we won't be playing finals) in under a fortnight...

Yet Buckley will still keep his job despite it all. This is why Eddie needs to go if he can't make the correct decisions for the good of the club.

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 5:09 pm

The Fat Controller has stuffed this club almost beyond repair. We are a generation away from a flag.

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 5:25 pm

Ed is a Big Reason we are a Joke
chrisjjj 

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 5:30 pm

Eddie isn't going anywhere. When he needs to make to tough call he will. At the moment he needs to show a strong front for the club. I think he is well aware that Buckley's time is up but I'd rather his approach then painting doom and gloom. This is need to retain sponsors and players. Some of you sooks should have been Richmond supporters.
So tell me who the f@#% you want to take over from Eddie that will do a better job for collingwood? Are you gonna step in?
PaulMurray 

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 5:33 pm

Eddie has turned us into a soulless club without any spirit or humbleness.

PostPosted: Sat May 06, 2017 5:34 pm

Eddie has been fine as a President.He just has one huge blindspot,and that's Nathan Buckley.His undying,unedifyng love for him has all but ruined this club.

Page 5 of 8