Pies fan ejected for racism

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 44, 45, 46 ... 53, 54, 55  Next

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 10:56 am

A few final observatons from me on this incident:
That a 13 yo girl was interviewed without family present is outrageous. Whatever she may have said, that is not on.

I agree Joff that this is an education issue, but please don't heap more onto an already groaning school curriculum; some things like decency and good manners need to be taught by parents and unfortunately, a good percentage of parents have lost the art of common-sense child-rearing and thus the behaviour we see on a daily basis on our streets, on our roads and at the footy.

Parents need to do better, but it will fall to already underfunded state schools to try to do it I bet. Mr Napthine will probably come up with a brilliant plan to peg promotion or wages rises to teachers best able to be substitute parents........sorry I'm being silly here, but you get my drift I'm sure.

Finally to Laurelei; I have no contempt and no argument with individual catholics; they are welcome to their faith and the comfort it provides. I have no hostility to indivdual catholics. The institution of the catholic church though is another matter.

Even if I were able to overlook the widespread child-rape, the church aided genocide in Rawanda and the church assisted spread of Aids in Africa (who could forget the former pope's decree that Aids was bad but condoms were worse?), I can never overlook the church's willful lying and cover-ups. Even yesterday, George Pell's belated apology was mealy-mouthed in the extreme. I'm sorry that your church has let you down so badly.

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 4:55 pm

PEACE in our time, the Pies Civil war has ended. Lee and Grant have signed the armistice.

PEACE now reigns on Nicks. !

magpie1111 

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 5:42 pm

The thing that pissed me off the most about this saga is the footage of our fearless leader Eddie rushing into the swans rooms too kiss Goodes ass well I for one feel @#!$ Goodes and@#$! the Swans remember Ed its Us Against Them and we just had our pants pulled down
carry on

Last edited by magpie1111 on Tue May 28, 2013 6:11 pm; edited 1 time in total

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 6:05 pm
Post subject: WhatReply with quote

I feel the girl is owed an apology from our Club. This minor was humiliated and detained inappropriately and escorted up the race in front of a stunned crowd. How dare they! Did she feel she had a choice? I doubt it. Now this poor country family would be completely unaware of their legal rights, let alone her right to basic dignity. And of course the politically correct hypocrite brigade were more concerned with pleasing the media fascists and their PC onslaught, then the welfare of a minor. This is the worst case of bullying of a minor I have ever seen in such a public manner. All for what? Can the AFL, in pursuit of this outrageous political agenda to regulate speech, seriously justify the treatment of this minor? Can our Club commit to apologising to this girl and demanding the AFL and there mates in the media cut this demonising fans out. This is a institutionalised act of bullying a minor. Where is the concern for her psychological welfare. If she was to self harm (god pray she doesn't) you watch the media and AFL with their hypocritical crocodile tears. I for one will stop going to the footy soon. It is fast becoming a crap and shallow experience. No person with basic human decency can continue to support a game that has leaders that behave like modern football does.
Troppo 

standing on VB tins in the outer at Vic Park

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:07 pm
Post subject: Re: WhatReply with quote

Hiss wrote:

I feel the girl is owed an apology from our Club. This minor was humiliated and detained inappropriately and escorted up the race in front of a stunned crowd. How dare they! Did she feel she had a choice? I doubt it. Now this poor country family would be completely unaware of their legal rights, let alone her right to basic dignity. And of course the politically correct hypocrite brigade were more concerned with pleasing the media fascists and their PC onslaught, then the welfare of a minor. This is the worst case of bullying of a minor I have ever seen in such a public manner. All for what? Can the AFL, in pursuit of this outrageous political agenda to regulate speech, seriously justify the treatment of this minor? Can our Club commit to apologising to this girl and demanding the AFL and there(sic) mates in the media cut this demonising fans out. This is a institutionalised act of bullying a minor. Where is the concern for her psychological welfare. If she was to self harm (god pray she doesn't) you watch the media and AFL with their hypocritical crocodile tears. I for one will stop going to the footy soon. It is fast becoming a crap and shallow experience. No person with basic human decency can continue to support a game that has leaders that behave like modern football does.

Hiss, your observations here are actually apposite atm. There is a deep reservoir of social engineering being syphoned into our community at every opportunity. I mean, Indigenous Day ffs. What is that.

Mabo neutered the terra nullius endeavours of this nation's pale skinned settlers of the late 18C, and I believe we have said sorry over the issue of kiddies (both pale and less-than-pale skinned) being settled away from their parent/s during various stages of our history.

How often do we as a nation need to beat our chests and regurgitate past angst over matters that are a done deal.

A powerful factor at play in our society re abuse of our less-than-tan skinned citizens (all of them, not just aborigines and torres strait islanders) is the proportion of prison inmates that they represent at any time, viz:

The continual rise in incarceration rates of Indigenous Australians represents nothing short of social policy disaster.

In 20 years rates have gone from one Indigenous person in seven incarcerated to one in four.

Indigenous persons make up 26 per cent of the prisoner population yet only constitute 2.5 per cent of the Australian population.

(http://www.abc.net.au/unleashed/4717444.html)

Given the vote-winning imperatives of all Australian governments advocating a 'strong-on-crime' stance, all these statistics go to skewing society's view that if you're less-than-pale skinned, you're more likely to be a criminal and should be incarcerated for society's safety. Roots and origins behind the disproportionality of prison occupancy are not taken on board by the vast majority of Australians, so there is little wonder that base levels of antipathy emerge in the heat of various occasions - including barracking at footy matches.

Not justifying it, just, perhaps understanding some of the causal issues here.

And another thing, and this goes to Hiss' valid observation about the media's crocodile tears, in October 2012 Quadrant Magazine reported in a fulsomely researched and debated article - 'The War Against Human Nature III: Race and the Nation in the Media' - about the way that the Australian media essentially has been hijacked by powers that can only see pale skinned Aussies as being the culprits in the abuse stakes:

(http://www.quadrant.org.au/magazine/issue/2012/10/the-war-against-human-nature-iii-race-and-the-nation-in-the-media)

Read it and learn, eg:

Whites are commonly depicted abusing and stereotyping non-whites but also common is actual abuse and stereotyping of Anglos. No examples were sighted of journalists or commentators defaming minorities. Such behaviour exists but it is rare in the mainstream media, where abuse of Anglo Australia is common. The asymmetry in pecks and the identity and institutional affiliations of the peckers indicates that Australia has an ethnic hierarchy in which Anglos are firmly underneath and an alliance of leftist intellectuals and minorities are firmly on top. The examples also indicate that the hierarchy is not the natural order of things but is maintained through soft totalitarianism, known euphemistically as “political correctness”, consisting of intolerance on the part of the elite media, lack of political alternatives, and intimidation both informal and formal delivered by a growingly authoritarian and openly anti-Anglo immigration industry.

Let's here ya!

CoastPie Sagittarius

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:14 pm

Multi perspectives
United we stand
Divided we fall

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:18 pm

Were you not paying attention, Piesnchess?

From the other thread:

but surely we have come a long, long way from the Civil war

The Civil War? For farrkk's bleeding sake, learn a little of our history!

The Civil War ended in 1651 and it had nothing, repeat nothing to do with race. The Civil War was, on one level, a religious war between the rich, authoritarian, aristocratic, quasi-Catholic high church on the one hand and the grimly austere Presbyterian movement on the other. On another level, it was the first great conflict which led, 120 years later, to the remarkable American Revolution, and to the astonishing, world-shattering French Revolution which changed the face of history forever. And on yet a third level, the Civil War was the long-delayed but inevitable result of the slow rise of capital as we know it and the replacement of a complex web of interlocking mutual feudal obligations with simple money transfers: eventually, formal power structures had to change to match the new and different actual power structures of the nation's new economy.

The extraordinary thing about the Civil War is that both sides won, at least after a fashion. When the dust settled, England had a king again, but a king who could only rule with the consent of Parliament. This remarkable compromise has endured to this day, not just in the United Kingdom but also in Australia, and many other nations around the world.

The Civil War was indeed significant, but it had nothing at all to do with race. Nothing.

CoastPie Sagittarius

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:26 pm

Swans v Pies Post - 7 pages
Racism post 1 - 45 pages
Racism post 2 - 11 pages

56 - 7 bit one sided like the game
Brenny 

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:28 pm

^ Your avatar, reminds me of this!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xBTndwRoqrU
CoastPie Sagittarius

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 12:23 am

http://www.afl.com.au/404?redirest=afl

AFL999oob.jpg

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 12:33 am

Troppo, Quadrant? Really? Are you with the IPA or something? Shocked

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 1:09 am

^ Pfft! Quadrant. Really David. As if a gentleman of Troppo's lordly vintage and distinction would bother himself reading trendy ephemeral left-wing fluff like Quadrant It's only been in print since 1956, for the love of Mike, and Lord Troppo wouldn't get out of bed to read anything printed since, oh, probably since the Glorious Revolution in 1688. As as for those young communists in the IPA, well, they are completely beyond the pale. Some of them - not many but a few - support the vote for women and even Aboriginies, and that would never do, would it?

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 8:49 am

^If you disagree with an opinion, argue your case like an adult. Throwing around passive aggressive bullshit insults doesn't make you look clever, it makes you look childish.

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 9:22 am

^ Learn your way around the place before you make a fool of yourself, mate.

Troppo affects a very old-fashioned persona and plays it for laughs. Think of him, if you like, as a cross between Rumpole and Sir Les Patterson. (I have no idea what his real opinions are. Who can tell?) But be sure to keep an eye out for his reply - when he is in form he's very funny.

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 9:56 am

and Eddie said a similar racist thing on Triple M this morning:

EDDIE McGuire has said on radio it would be a good idea to get Adam Goodes in town to promote the new King Kong musical.

The controversial comment came while McGuire was speaking with Luke Darcy on Triple M's Hot Breakfast show this morning.

Darcy was talking about the new musical. "What a great promo that is, for King Kong," he said.

To which McGuire replied: "Get Adam Goodes down for it, d'you reckon?"

"No, I wouldn't have thought so," was the response from Darcy.

McGuire went on, stumbling over his words: "You can see them doing that, can't you? Goodesy. You know, the big, not the ape thing the whole thing, I'm just saying the pumping him up and mucking around and that sort of stuff."

McGuire, the president of the Collingwood Football Club, has apologised and labelled the comment a joke.

really Eddie? really? i'm dumbfounded.

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> General Discussion All times are GMT + 10 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 44, 45, 46 ... 53, 54, 55  Next
Page 45 of 55