Trade Targets ~ Free Agency & MSD player movements

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 152, 153, 154  Next

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2022 11:33 am

Here's an interesting thing that indicates how hard it will be to find real talent by trading: Clayton Oliver - who will be 25 in about 3 weeks - has just signed a new 7-year deal that commences after the end of next season, so it will run until the end of 2030, when he will be over 33.

That's on top of Melbourne extending Petracca 's contract in May last year – when it was due to run out at the end of 2022 "until the end of 2029 on a contract estimated to be in the vicinity of $900,000 to $1 million per season."

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/a-demon-for-life-clayton-oliver-signs-seven-year-deal-20220630-p5axws.html

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/dees-secure-petracca-on-massive-new-deal-until-2029-20210505-p57ozd.html

Petracca is presently 26 and a half (he turns 27 on 4 January 2023), so he is also contracted until he's nearly 34.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2022 1:08 pm

There seems to be some players at GWS keen to return to Victoria

Will the pulling power of Mc Rae will stand out to young players who surely must be noticing the way we are tracking both on the field and the enthusiastic front

mattdally 

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2022 2:49 pm

Tim Taranto?
Seeing his name linked with us - he's like for like with DeGoey.
piffdog 

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2022 6:11 pm

mattdally wrote:
Tim Taranto?
Seeing his name linked with us - he's like for like with DeGoey.

I don’t mind this idea. Hasn’t been great this year but has certainly been good in the past. Former pick #2 and won their b&f the year they made the Hrand Final. Price might be a challenge - but if JDG leaves perhaps an option to pursue.

As an aside (and probably not the right thread) but I don’t know why their so bad. They are still stacked with good players… Oh well - they’re no good and their cap is apparently $1m over so will be their turn to get roasted at trade period this year. Will be Melbourne’s a year or two after that (after Petracca and Oliver deals). Notice a trend here?? That’s why snatching a flag is important for list managers too - you get one and all will be forgiven when there is a fire sale. Miss out, however, and you get smashed for poor management.

jatsad 

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2022 6:54 pm

Cannot understand the need for McStay and hope this is simply a manager generated rumour.

Not a great mark or kick, most goals in one year is 28 so certainly not worth a 5 year at $600,000 deal. He is also getting on in years.

If you must go for a recycled tall, go after Weideman. Better mark, so so kick, but is much younger and won't cost as much.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2022 7:46 pm

I’m watching Brizzy for 2nd week in a row

Mc Stay mate I wouldn’t put him in our AWFL side

rambler 

rambler

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2022 8:29 pm

McStay can stay in Brisbane.
Return of the baldfacts 

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2022 8:35 pm

McStay is very ordinary indeed. Can't see what value he has for us.
burnsy17 Virgo

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2022 8:36 pm

McNah.

He gets most of his touches on the wing. We don’t need that!

We need a 40-50 goal a year key forward.

Last edited by burnsy17 on Thu Jun 30, 2022 9:48 pm; edited 2 times in total

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2022 8:40 pm

Watching Brisbane's game today, I would definitely not consider McStay to be a desirable target. His efforts have appeared to be second rate today, while the rest of his team has been busting its a**. He hasn't been able to take any marks, and his ground level efforts have been less than ordinary.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2022 8:48 pm

Mckeepthenippletweaker
Podpicken Cancer

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2022 9:17 pm

So it’s almost three quarter time, McStay has had 5 possessions and kicked 0.0

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2022 9:34 pm

Fox footy reckon it's a done deal. $3million for 5 years.
They'd have to have a screw loose. Not worth half that.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2022 9:40 pm

Out of Favour at their clubs selection wise:

* H Himmelberg: Crows uncontracted for next year
* F McAsey: Crows contracted till 2023
* Sam Sturt: Freo and uncontracted (Frankston originally)
* Q Narkle: Geelong and uncontracted
* E Hollands: Gold Coast contracted till 2024
* B Fiorini: Gold Coast contracted till 2024
* W Gould: Swans uncontracted
* J Bytel: St Kilda uncontracted
* T Highmore: St Kilda uncontracted
* C O'Riordan: Swans uncontracted
* R West: Bulldogs: uncontracted

All have displayed some sort of abilities at either junior, reserves or senior level. Some just need opportunity.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2022 9:58 pm

Magpietothemax wrote:
Watching Brisbane's game today, I would definitely not consider McStay to be a desirable target. His efforts have appeared to be second rate today, while the rest of his team has been busting its a**. He hasn't been able to take any marks, and his ground level efforts have been less than ordinary.

What he is is a 100kg forward who can take a mark, who opens the forward line to the smaller forwards. In that regard he’s similar to Kreuger, only older, more experienced and less injured. I can see why we’re interested in him. Guys like Henry, McCreery and Bobby Hill (if we got him) won’t be afraid having McStay around the packs. Like everyone here saying it’s a high price to pay although what you pay is market value.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8 ... 152, 153, 154  Next
Page 7 of 154