Info regarding Melbourne

molloymagic Aquarius

*Thanks 4 the great memorys Jarrod!**miss ya*

PostPosted: Wed May 15, 2002 12:02 pm
Post subject: Info regarding MelbourneReply with quote

Hi,
I'm coming to Melbourne next month(June 1st-16th) and am going to the Magpies vs Swans game and Magpies vs Melbourne game and was wondering is there anything else going on in Melbourne? I see there is a collingwood club night in June, I think round the 4th but knowing nothing about melbourne, I wouldn't know how far away is McHale Stadium from south yarra(where i'm staying) and is it worth going to club night? if anyone could help me out with any information regarding anything I have asked then please either email me or pm me.

Jarrod Molloy RULES!!!!
*2002 Joint V.C*
Bones 

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2002 5:10 am

Helpful lot aint they...

All i know is that Colonial nearly sits atop Spencer st station...

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2002 5:37 am

I used to really enjoy the Club Night dinners when I was living in Melbourne. I think they are $35 (which used to include a two course meal). Of course the highlight is hearing a few of the players speak and having the opportunity to ask some questions.

You may need to get a taxi out to Vic Park, as I'm not sure how safe it would be catching a train out there (and back) on your own at night. And don't forget to book as I think they fill-up fairly quickly.

Hope that helps.

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2002 5:57 am

the trains are fine. they have a lot more security and that now. i caught it at about 11.30/12.00 the other night and had no problems at all.

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2002 6:04 am

Taxi?

From South Yarra to Victoria Park?

You're kidding, right?

The sensible option is a train from South Yarra to Flinders St (only two stops), then catch the Epping train (usually from platform 1) to Victoria Park. The stations go as follows: City Circle (usually), then Jolimont, West Richmond, North Richmond, Collingwood, Victoria Park. It's pretty hard to miss Victoria Park footy ground when you get there unless of course you're either blind or extremely drunk or both.

You can do all this on a Zone-1 ticket. And if you buy a 2-Hour ticket after 6 p.m. you can use it for the rest of the night. Cost is about $2.60 (compare that to a taxi fare!)

Contrary to popular opinion, Melbourne public transport is very safe ... and the inner suburbs are, without a doubt, infinitely safer for people walking around at night than the outer suburbs. If anyone hassles you on the train they are almost certain to be bogans from suburbia. Ignore them. They're harmless. And they're probably getting off somewhere "nice" like Epping or Thomastown (i.e. nowhere near Victoria Park).

(my apologies to anyone who lives at Epping or Thomastown ... but SOMEONE has to speak up for the inner suburbs )

floreat pica
My Ph.D. thesis, "Football: the People's Game?" is now available for viewing and/or downloading at http://alf.magpies.net

[This message has been edited by Dr Alf Andrews (edited 15 May 2002).]

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2002 6:13 am

It was just a suggestion!

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2002 6:30 am

Sorry about the overkill, Marg.

You got me started on one of my pet topics ... public transport. I'm a zealous crusader for trains and trams. Melbourne's public transport is brilliant, despite its many faults (privatisation, ticket machines, ticket inspectors).

In fact, I'd say your main danger of being attacked on Melbourne public transport these days would be from the ticket nazis.

floreat pica
My Ph.D. thesis, "Football: the People's Game?" is now available for viewing and/or downloading at http://alf.magpies.net

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2002 6:38 am

No worries Alf. Haven't lived in Melbourne for a few years now so I'm happy to know that our public transport system is safe - and I'm sure much cheaper than taxis.

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2002 6:59 am

Being an ex-mexican (ha,ha,ha,) the only THREE good thing about the place is the highway from the north,the highway out to the east and the Aussie Rules for 6 months of the year....gee I'm a great help aint I.
The last time I was in Mexico I got to Hawthorn,Richmond and Mentone,and an areoplane from Tulla back to Sydney...and the top temp it got to was 10 degrees.That was at the beginning of June.
I am told that the Pubic Transport is reasonable down there any way.

PeterWH
PIES FOR PREMIERS 2002
paulie 

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2002 10:43 am

Ticket Nazi and I thought it was only the wife who called me that.Then again I don't work on the Epping line.So maybe the good Doctor is only talking about the Connex staff.

molloymagic Aquarius

*Thanks 4 the great memorys Jarrod!**miss ya*

PostPosted: Thu May 16, 2002 2:05 pm

Thanks to everyone who have helped me out. I was going to the captain members cocktail party but I reckon $60 is a bit expensive really, I'll look into this club night thing(may have to do some phone calls to the club*s*).

I actually get the train from Hawksburn station, do I catch the train to Flinders street and then follow the train directions Dr Alf has posted on this board?

GO THE MIGHTY PIES!!

Jarrod Molloy RULES!!!!
*2002 Joint V.C*

[This message has been edited by molloymagic (edited 15 May 2002).]

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2002 4:23 am

Train there, taxi back. Should be less than $15 with no traffic. Bugger waiting in the cold for a train.

Rule 1. Barrack for Collingwood
Rule 2. See rule 1.
Rule 3. There is no rule 3.

CARN DE PIES!

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2002 4:27 am

Do not forget to look away when you see me on the train Paulie. I guess I could flash you an old YAB ticket.

Rule 1. Barrack for Collingwood
Rule 2. See rule 1.
Rule 3. There is no rule 3.

CARN DE PIES!