Pies Player Review 2008 By DTM

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 4:32 pm
Post subject: Pies Player Review 2008 By DTMReply with quote

Anthony:
Was very Impressed with him coming off a Broken Neck. Played some really good good games down Back in the VFL.
Then came into the AFL Side as a Forward and Showed he is a Very Accurate Shot for Goal.
I still think he will go back next year but have a Very Promising Season

Barham:
Had a Super Year in the VFL, Suprised he did not get a Game in the AFL. He's Quick,Tackling Machine and Get's
A Lot of the Ball. He will play AFL next year be an Upgrade for R Shaw

Bryan:
The Very Average Footballer. I only reckon he got game time because Wood Ran Out of Gas and Injuries.
He only good when he is using his Big Body but Accept for that he does not Offer Much

Burns:
Great year by the Captain, Showed his Age but Still Tried 100% and gave everything for the Club.
Was a Fantastic Leader

Luke Casey-Leigh:
Not Much to say Here.

Clarke:
After Starting Slowely at the Start of the Season, Getting Dropped after 1 game but Came Back
Stronger and Better and I reckon in the Finals he was our Best Player

Cloke:
He had a Funny Year, His Goal Kicking had Improved but the thing that hurt him the Most was Rocca,
Rusling and Reid getting injured and He had to Carry the Forward Line by himself and He could not do it.
Dawes came in the Helped for a while but Seemed very sick during finals

Cook:
Played okay in the VFL and Came into the AFL after the Incedent and I thought he did a Pretty Good Job.

Cox:
Same as Cook

Davis:
His best ever year for Collingwood, Did everything Great. Just got Slowed a bit when he had the Ankle injury.
Unlucky not to be AA

Dawes:
Had a Slow Start did Dawes in the VFL, Reports of a Hip Injury would not help. Then he had 3 Really good Games
and Coming together for his Best Game when he Dominated Geelong in VFL Round 16. After that he came into the AFL
where he did he job and In Glimpses of Something Special.

Dick:
Felt Sorry for him Doing he Knee and Was out for the year, He is the best kick at the Club and We could of
used his Skills This Year

Didak:
Had a Good Season going until he acted like an Idiot and Got Himself and Heater Suspended.
Very Dissapointed in Dids

Dyas:
Still got a Fair Bit of Work in to him to go

Egan:
Did Nothing and Will be Gone At Years End - Thank God we get rid of this Draft Bust

Fraser:
Solid Season for the Pies and Stood up in the Finals was good to see. Best game was for VIctoria in the All Star Game.

Goldsack:
Seemed that was Underdone for the Whole Season. Heard that Injury all Pre-Season and He could not get to 100 Fitness

Holland:
Simple - Finshed

Iiles:
The Next Davies - Does well in the VFL but can't get a AFL Game

Johnson:
Looked Past it and Will be Most Likely Traded

Lockyer:
I thought he just had a Good Solid Season

Lone:
Simple Finshed at AFL Level

MacAffer:
Showed alot in the VFL and Should get Promoted to the Senior List. Kicking 8 Goals in a Game was Fantastic

McCarthy:
Was Fantastic and Showed he was a Still at Pick 31 in last year Draft.Showed Poise,Speed and Showed Extracting
Abilty. Plus he is Actually a Great Kick

Medhurst:
Fantastic Year but has Slowed Down in the last few games.Still should be AA

Obree:
Same as Lockyer

OBrien:
Fantastic Season and Best of Got Better then Last Season and Showed his Knew Rebounding Game with Speed

Pendlebury:
Funny Year for Pendles, Didn't kick on what I would Like, Had some big Possie games His Handball is the Best in the AFL
but His kicking has been a Mix Bag, Somtimes that can be very good or it can be Terrible. Heard he has been carying and Injury
all season which would Hinder him

Presti:
Injury Ruined his Season

Reid:
Injury De-Railded his carrer but Played well in the VFL and Showed heaps when he Played on Waite

Rocca:
Started well but Injuries Struch Him Down

H Shaw:
Same as Dids

R Shaw:
Captain Clanger, Learnt Nothing New

Stanley:
Same as Iiles but Got a Game in the AFL in the Last Round

Swan:
Super Year by a Super Player

Thomas:
Was Up and Down, Some games he played great and some other he was not very good.

Thoolen:
Big Devlopment for the Big Raw Kid

Waklein:
Did a Great Job for a Player who was going to Retire at Years End

Wellingham:
Redeemed himself by Getting into the AFL Side and Perform quite Well but Needs to
work on Descion Making

Wood:
Started off Well by Tailed during the Year but Showed enought to say we have something
specilal here, Can Play ruck and Plug Wholes and Can take a Fantastic Contested Mark.
Needs to work on his Endurnace and Strength and Should Improve 10 Fold.

Toovey:
Very Average Footballer but MM see something in Him

DaVe86 Scorpio

Man of Steele

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 4:36 pm

Toovey played a few good games for us at the end Dave. Got smashed by Burgyone, but won his other matchups. No doubt MM see's him as a future tagger / defender v small forwards.

Good effort mate...good knowledge on all the players. No doubting your passion

Captain_MyCaptain Leo

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 4:40 pm

woteva

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 4:41 pm

Captain_MyCaptain wrote:
woteva

Why what don't you like about it Question

blacknwhiteatheart 

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 4:41 pm

well summed up....
mel_kay39 

PIES PREMIERS 2010

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 5:22 pm

Agree with most of it, Dave, but don't understand the misuse (read: overuse) of capital letters.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 5:26 pm

mel_kay39 wrote:
Agree with most of it, Dave, but don't understand the misuse (read: overuse) of capital letters.

It's a Habit I have

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 5:30 pm

Nice work Dave, agree with most of your analysis, and good perspective all round.
M@®© Virgo

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 5:42 pm

I'm sure I've seen some of these players reviews elsewhere. Have these been copied from a paper?

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 5:45 pm

Pies4Premiers wrote:
I'm sure I've seen some of these players reviews elsewhere. Have these been copied from a paper?

Nope

kickit2me Taurus

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 6:04 pm

Onya DTM. Summed it up pretty well.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 6:05 pm

A good read Dave, generally agree.

Love the "very average player" comment, you resisted well, I am proud Very Happy

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 6:09 pm

Pies4Premiers wrote:

Can't we just call it "Using secondary sources" and leave it at that. We're not BigFooty to be crying SOURCE SOURCE, just enjoy the read and comment on the info. DTM bashing is oldhat.
j@. Aries

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 6:10 pm

Give us your take on the coach Dave.
~Madness~ Aries

...The Cat...

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 6:18 pm

mel_kay39 wrote:

give the kid a friggen spell on his grammar. Everyone can read it, he's gone to the trouble to do this report on the players, just give him a spell.

Christ im sick of this shit.

Well done on your reports Dave.