Things that make you go.......WTF?

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

Tannin

Post by Tannin »

This doctrine of diminished responsibility has a lot to answer for. I'm not in favour of getting rid of it completely, there are circumstances where one's ability to make decisions is impaired through factors outside one's own control - but where the ability to make decisions is deliberately thrown away (e.g., by taking drugs), then the discount for diminished responsibility should be zero.

Do the crime, do the time.
�Let's eat Grandma.� Commas save lives!

exactly right
Has liked: 132 times
Been liked: 168 times

Tannin wrote:This doctrine of diminished responsibility has a lot to answer for. I'm not in favour of getting rid of it completely, there are circumstances where one's ability to make decisions is impaired through factors outside one's own control - but where the ability to make decisions is deliberately thrown away (e.g., by taking drugs), then the discount for diminished responsibility should be zero.

Do the crime, do the time.
100% agree.

If i got pinned drink driving, I can't use the excuse of being drunk and therefore having impaired judgement as an excuse (which in some cases is probably true) so drugs should fall into the same category.

Went out the front door earlier this arvo to find a swarm of bees in my front yard. Fkn big swarm.

I'm allergic to bee stings so I shut the front door quick smart and hightailed back into the house.

10-15 minutes later, after googling some info on swarming bees, I poked my nose out the front again to find the swarm much reduced as they were settling in a part of a tree in the front yard.

To be precise, they were settling in a possum nesting box I put up in the tree a few years back to give the furry farkers an option other than my roof.

I rang up a bloke who's going to see if he can get someone to come over and remove them. They can take them in the fkn box for all I care, I have no problem with bees flitting round the flowing plants in the yard but I really don't need a bee hive 4 metres from my front door.

Hah, no, I can eat honey.

I did an immunity thing in my late teens which worked, don't know if it still does.

If I get bitten by a bee, depending how much venom I get, the first sign is I get these red lines like scratches running up my throat. That's time to get moving to a doctor. If not treated, my throat starts to swell up and I can't breathe.

My dad was really badly allergic. Nearly died a couple of times.

https://au.news.yahoo.com/bizarre-new-b ... bmXW__-QcM

hmmm yeah nah, it has to go on top, or it tastes different!
Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 83 times

I'm very passionate about this topic btw. Nobody gets in-between me and my Bunnings snags!

David wrote:I'm very passionate about this topic btw. Nobody gets in-between me and my Bunnings snags!
hehe, the smell sucks you in, they never taste as good as they smell!
npalm
Has liked: 15 times
Been liked: 9 times

Post by npalm »

stui magpie wrote: To be precise, they were settling in a possum nesting box I put up in the tree a few years back to give the furry farkers an option other than my roof.
Hey Stui, how well did the nesting box idea work? One of those furry farkers has taken up residence in my roof space and is driving me nuts.
At least, I hope it's a possum and not a family of fat rats wearing army boots.
Side by side.

David wrote:I'm very passionate about this topic btw. Nobody gets in-between me and my Bunnings snags!
hehe, the smell sucks you in, they never taste as good as they smell!
Incorrect!

npalm wrote:
stui magpie wrote: To be precise, they were settling in a possum nesting box I put up in the tree a few years back to give the furry farkers an option other than my roof.
Hey Stui, how well did the nesting box idea work? One of those furry farkers has taken up residence in my roof space and is driving me nuts.
At least, I hope it's a possum and not a family of fat rats wearing army boots.
It got used for a while. What really got the buggers out of my roof was 2 things.

1. I had the tiled roof re-capped on the ridges and the broken tiles replaced

2. I bought those waxy blocks of rat bait and baited a couple of strategic spots where I'd seen both possum and rat poop.

Over a few months and a few desiccated carcasses of each, no more army boots in the roof.

Just make sure there's a water source further from the house than the bait so critters die away from the house not in the roof.