- stui magpie
- Has liked: 126 times
- Been liked: 161 times
- LaurieHolden
- Has liked: 202 times
- Been liked: 185 times
Vale / in Memorium
Australia's first TV doctor, Dr. James Wright, has passed at age 94.
Was a time where he probably had as big a profile as anyone on the box.
https://www.9news.com.au/national/dr-ja ... ddf8195c65
Was a time where he probably had as big a profile as anyone on the box.
https://www.9news.com.au/national/dr-ja ... ddf8195c65
"The Club's not Jock, Ted and Gerry" (& Eddie)
2023 AFL Premiers
- LaurieHolden
Nick Bollettieri, famous tennis coach, has died at age 91
The famous coach who trained Andre Agassi, the Williams sisters and many others, died Monday at the age of 91.
That Florida academy he ran certainly courted plenty of controversy, but he punched out some champions.
https://www.citizen.co.za/sport/nick-bo ... at-age-91/
In 1980, Sports Illustrated headlined a piece about Bollettieri: “He’ll Make Your Child A Champ, But It Won’t Be Much Fun.”
Bollettieri believed in repetition.
“To change a shot,” he said, “you have to repeat the same shot about 30,000 times in training. That’s the rate, the union minimum.
That Florida academy he ran certainly courted plenty of controversy, but he punched out some champions.
https://www.citizen.co.za/sport/nick-bo ... at-age-91/
In 1980, Sports Illustrated headlined a piece about Bollettieri: “He’ll Make Your Child A Champ, But It Won’t Be Much Fun.”
Bollettieri believed in repetition.
“To change a shot,” he said, “you have to repeat the same shot about 30,000 times in training. That’s the rate, the union minimum.
2023 AFL Premiers
- stui magpie
- Has liked: 2 times
- Been liked: 93 times
- think positive
- Has liked: 339 times
- Been liked: 103 times
- LaurieHolden
- think positive
- LaurieHolden
Jim Stewart (record producer) co-founder of Stax Records
2023 AFL Premiers
- LaurieHolden
Former Brownlow medallist Barry Round dies aged 72
Barry James Round (born 26 January 1950 - 23rd December 2023) is a former Australian rules footballer. He played for Footscray and South Melbourne/Sydney in the Victorian Football League (VFL) between 1969 and 1985. Along the way, he played 328 games (135 for Footscray and 193 for South Melbourne/Sydney), won a Brownlow Medal in 1981 (tying with his former teammate Bernie Quinlan) and was the Swans' first captain during the Sydney era. Round's height and weight was 193 cm (6 ft 4 in) and 108 kg (17 st 0 lb).
Career highlights
*VFL debut for Footscray vs Fitzroy in 1969 at Princes Park
*Brownlow Medallist 1981
*Williamstown premiership Captain-Coach in 1986 and 1990
*Williamstown Inaugural Hall Of Fame Inductee 2014
*Elevated to Legend Status Williamstown Hall Of Fame 2014
*VFA J. J. Liston Trophy winner in 1987
*VFA Norm Goss Medalist 1990 Grand Final
*Australian Football Hall of Fame inductee
Career highlights
*VFL debut for Footscray vs Fitzroy in 1969 at Princes Park
*Brownlow Medallist 1981
*Williamstown premiership Captain-Coach in 1986 and 1990
*Williamstown Inaugural Hall Of Fame Inductee 2014
*Elevated to Legend Status Williamstown Hall Of Fame 2014
*VFA J. J. Liston Trophy winner in 1987
*VFA Norm Goss Medalist 1990 Grand Final
*Australian Football Hall of Fame inductee
2023 AFL Premiers
- stui magpie
Geezus. many years ago I was having a few Friday lunchtime beers at a pub in the city with some work colleagues. The conversation went to who was the worst/most ungainly kick of a footy ever to play VFL/AFL.
I nominated Barry Round and proceeded to loudly explain why, his shit ball drop, shonky action, in minute detail. As I finished, a mate leaned in and whispered in my ear, "you know he's sitting behind us?"
I laughed, turned around, and there was barry Round sitting 6 feet away staring absolute daggers at me.
I nominated Barry Round and proceeded to loudly explain why, his shit ball drop, shonky action, in minute detail. As I finished, a mate leaned in and whispered in my ear, "you know he's sitting behind us?"
I laughed, turned around, and there was barry Round sitting 6 feet away staring absolute daggers at me.
- think positive
- LaurieHolden