What made you sad today?

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

What'sinaname
Been liked: 9 times

Post by What'sinaname »

Good luck Skids. Keeping fingers crossed for you.
Fighting against the objectification of woman.
Bruce Gonsalves
Been liked: 2 times

Post by Bruce Gonsalves »

Good luck Skids. Positivity is what you have an I'm sure that's half the battle won.
Has liked: 71 times

Not exactly on the same plain as someone dying or getting an illness, but the Toc Tip will be closing in a few weeks. The landill, is full.

I remember first going there with Dad in the 70's, that hole in the ground was bigger than the footy ground and 3 stories deep.

The site, I think, will stay open for greenwaste and recyclable metals. No greenwaste bins up here, you can dump greenwaste for free and they turn it into mulch which you can also come and collect for free, but no more general rubbish.

I'm probably being over sentimental, I went there as a kid with Dad, I took my kids there to dump stuff for Mum, but that's my last trailer load and I won't get to ever take the Grandson. :(
Bruce Gonsalves

Stui, possibly the sooner it's full the better, most likely heaps of asbestos with tips that age.

Most likely you're right, but most of that would have been buried more than 20 years ago,

As they got enough rubbish close to the cliff face, they'd grade dirt over it and create a new cliff face. To get to where you dump stuff now, you're driving over 50 years of buried rubbish. Some archeologists will shoot their loads over it in a few hundred years time.
Bruce Gonsalves

Many rural tips are still accepting asbestos. 50's and 60's style houses are still being demolished as it's time to rebuild. It is supposed to be double wrapped etc but I've seen some very woeful double wrapping. Operators are also supposed to bury it daily but I've also seen piles of it that haven't been covered in months. Horrible stuff.
Skids
Has liked: 26 times
Been liked: 30 times

Post by Skids »

Crown casino is built on top of the old Perth tip.
I remember trips there with the old man back in the 70's, many bikes and hill trolleys were built by our crew from bits picked up there.
Don't count the days, make the days count.
watt price tully

Post by watt price tully »

stui magpie wrote:Not exactly on the same plain as someone dying or getting an illness, but the Toc Tip will be closing in a few weeks. The landill, is full.

I remember first going there with Dad in the 70's, that hole in the ground was bigger than the footy ground and 3 stories deep.

The site, I think, will stay open for greenwaste and recyclable metals. No greenwaste bins up here, you can dump greenwaste for free and they turn it into mulch which you can also come and collect for free, but no more general rubbish.

I'm probably being over sentimental, I went there as a kid with Dad, I took my kids there to dump stuff for Mum, but that's my last trailer load and I won't get to ever take the Grandson. :(
Never realised the importance of a local tip to country communities till we lived in Yackandandah in the 1990’s for about 5-6 years.

Mrs WPT was a regular as with friends who she’d met down there (we had a Kombi microbus with the middle row of seats removed) all the better for shlepping stuff to & fro the tip. The social dynamic was another part of going to the tip apart from the use value of picking up and getting rid of goods (almost like a rural op shop) in some parts of the tip.
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman

Hah, yeah, I reckon there were a few times dad and I came home with more stuff than we'd taken, much to mum's disgust. :wink: :lol:
Skids

Post by Skids »

So I return to the thyroid specialist yesterday following the biopsy done about 10 days ago.

We still have no definitive answer on whether there is any cancer present. What we do have, is one confused thyroid surgeon and a pathologist who has never seen anything like what they've taken from my neck.

The surgeon, Dr Ryan, who is apparently one of the best in Australia (Funny that, you never get a referral and the doc handing it to you saying "This blokes not much chop, but he's the best we can get") has never, in his 30 odd years as a surgeon, seen anything like my lump. One thing he's certain about is that it has nothing to do with my thyroid.

The doc (Dr Cartoon) who took the biopsy took 8 samples. The pathologist, Dr Frost, again, one of the best in her field is also confused.
The samples, in Dr Ryans words, are " a gooey, gel like substance containing cartilage". He tells me that they think this may be from my windpipe, the only source of cartilage near the lump. It may have originated in the windpipe, just guessing at this stage.

When I quizzed him further about the possibility of it being cancerous, he said, while they're still waiting to confirm that, there is no sign of an aggressive cancer and if it does turn out to be malignant, it shouldn't have spread.

Next step is an MRI on the 14th followed by an appointment with another surgeon who specialises in this area of the body, Dr Chady Sadler

https://www.sjog.org.au/find-a-speciali ... ader-chady

Back to work tomorrow after 3 weeks off. Better get back into the gym too, I've put on 4kg after a 3 week period of choofing & 'comfort eating'. :shock:

Good stuff so far, hope it continues to go well even if they can't figure out wht it is.
Has liked: 212 times
Been liked: 84 times

Don’t be too hard on yourself, just get well xx
Skids

Post by Skids »

Next appointment is at Sir Charles Gardiner hospital with Dr Sader on the 26th. One of the positives is I get to fly home Monday arvo and watch the game at home.

Nice work Skids, this made me sad

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2023-04-22/ ... /102255954

Labuan Rd is a short cut from Shep to Yarroweah, just a country road, not one I use personally. Tried it once, didn't like it. At the end of the road, you go over a rise where the old train line is and, holy ****, there's the highway right in front of you. Hit the brakes, stat.

This fkn pelican sailed over ther train line onto the the highway, clipped a car with 5 people in it, which made it spin into the path of a B double doing 100kmh which duly crushed it killing the 5 people instantly. The damage was so bad they initially thought there was 3 people in there until they cracked it open and did a literal head count.

I can't imagine how it would have felt to those people. Once second they're cruising home from work, then BANG, the car is spinning, WTF, then Crunch, the truck hits them. Poor fkn truck driver had zero time to react.

If the asswipe driving the Merc that crashed into the car and caused the accident was 2 seconds slower (or faster) it would have been him that drove under the B double, instead he walks away with barely a scratch.
eddiesmith
Has liked: 8 times
Been liked: 16 times

Post by eddiesmith »

Plus he’d just been pulled over for speeding and yet still didn’t slow down…

One of those people who deserve to never get a licence ever again. Of course he should be spending a very, very long time in jail. But, this is Victoria so he’ll probably do **** all.