Climate change

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

watt price tully

Post by watt price tully »

Are you taking over Skids’s role of posting inane rubbish from the shallow end of the gene pool?

Tired old disproven conspiracy theories about “the Greens” to deflect attention from:

1. The contextual role of climate change
2. A 35% reduction of paid employees in the fire protection/forest management like areas by the NSW state Government

Let me see: All ex fire chiefs including ex CFA and their view that climate climate change is playing an instrumental role in the fires or a drongo who just learned to stand erect the day before and his view on climate change. Tough choice......

But wait it those freakin’ greens because they’ve been in power all these years and can implement their policies and agendas ( even though they advocate targetted and informed burning off)
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman
Has liked: 131 times
Been liked: 165 times

If you don't understand that environmentalist groups have been lobbying and influencing how National Parks are maintained for decades, you need to get that fat arse out bush.

Locking areas up to preserve stuff doesn't work, it was purpose designed to burn over 10's of thousands of years. Slightly warmer spring weather doesn't create the fuel, it just dries it out a little earlier.

We're actually lucky these bush fires hit this early, if they happened in January (and it was only a matter of when, not if) it would have been far worse
watt price tully

stui magpie wrote:If you don't understand that environmentalist groups have been lobbying and influencing how National Parks are maintained for decades, you need to get that fat arse out bush.

Locking areas up to preserve stuff doesn't work, it was purpose designed to burn over 10's of thousands of years. Slightly warmer spring weather doesn't create the fuel, it just dries it out a little earlier.

We're actually lucky these bush fires hit this early, if they happened in January (and it was only a matter of when, not if) it would have been far worse
Man, this arse is slim and the body svelt :wink:
“I even went as far as becoming a Southern Baptist until I realised they didn’t keep ‘em under long enough” Kinky Friedman

Didn't you go to inquire about a price for a butt crack wax and they gave you a quote per square metre? :P :wink:
watt price tully

stui magpie wrote:Didn't you go to inquire about a price for a butt crack wax and they gave you a quote per square metre? :P :wink:
Who moi?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=b9PwuQeXONw
Has liked: 342 times
Been liked: 105 times

sorry WPT but thats funny Stu!!!

Has liked: 17 times
Been liked: 83 times

Wokko

Post by Wokko »

Labor are meant to be the workers party, I might disagree with a lot of that rhetoric but I at least respected them then. If Albanese gets back to that and drops this ridiculous Greens/Labor crap they'll start winning again.
watt price tully

stui magpie wrote:......

No motivation from the massive swing against Labor in mining seats I'm sure, but still.

Well done Albo
Yes that solves it :roll:

On the other hand all ex fire chiefs including the CFA say "Climate Change" has played an intsrtrumental role in the current bush fires (and they're not trying to be populist)

Let me see, should I quote someone from the shallow end of the gene pool as some one did earlier, quote a politician who wants votes from the deplorables in Queensland electorate or prefer some people with first hand knowledge? ...tough question.

However, given your penchant for quoting politicans then try this right wing Liberal NSW Minister and a Federal Minister to boot:

"...NSW Environment Minister Matt Kean and his federal counterpart Sussan Ley have broken ranks with some Coalition colleagues and blamed Australia's devastating bushfires on climate change..."

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-12-11/ ... e/11787498

The argument is over about climate change (apart of course from a few dying paroxysms of the looney right). The only debate is: timing, extent and what is to be done.

Relying on coal is not an answer and Australia cannot ask other countries (emitters) not to emit if we continue the way we have been
watt price tully

Australia is the worst-performing country on climate change policy, according to a new international ranking of 57 countries. The report also criticises the Morrison government for being a “regressive force” internationally.

https://www.theguardian.com/environment ... nge-policy

The Morrison Muppets who bring a lump of coal to Parliament :shock: who'd a thunk?
Wokko

Post by Wokko »

Good work, that's rousing endorsement of this Government.
Pies4shaw
Has liked: 132 times
Been liked: 182 times

watt price tully wrote:Australia is the worst-performing country on climate change policy, according to a new international ranking of 57 countries. The report also criticises the Morrison government for being a “regressive force” internationally.

https://www.theguardian.com/environment ... nge-policy

The Morrison Muppets who bring a lump of coal to Parliament :shock: who'd a thunk?
It’s apparently not shameful to everybody but I reckon it will be to everybody’s kids in 25 years’ time.

stui magpie wrote:......

No motivation from the massive swing against Labor in mining seats I'm sure, but still.

Well done Albo
Yes that solves it :roll:

On the other hand all ex fire chiefs including the CFA say "Climate Change" has played an intsrtrumental role in the current bush fires (and they're not trying to be populist)
Instrumental role does not equal cause. The weather conditions in previous months are hardly unprecedented. Temperatures and rainfall may have been outside the average, but that's how averages work. We've had worse conditions before, sometimes it's lead to fires sometimes not.

Leaving your mind reading ability where you can discern their intent, it would hardly be a good look for the ex fire chiefs to throw the state governments under the bus for poor forestry management.
Let me see, should I quote someone from the shallow end of the gene pool as some one did earlier, quote a politician who wants votes from the deplorables in Queensland electorate or prefer some people with first hand knowledge? ...tough question.
shallow end of gene pool? Deplorables? Classy response.

However, given your penchant for quoting politicans then try this right wing Liberal NSW Minister and a Federal Minister to boot:

"...NSW Environment Minister Matt Kean and his federal counterpart Sussan Ley have broken ranks with some Coalition colleagues and blamed Australia's devastating bushfires on climate change..."

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-12-11/ ... e/11787498
Lovely misleading headline. Did you read the article?

The argument is over about climate change (apart of course from a few dying paroxysms of the looney right). The only debate is: timing, extent and what is to be done.

Relying on coal is not an answer and Australia cannot ask other countries (emitters) not to emit if we continue the way we have been
Great. So your solution to stopping bushfires is to focus on reducing CO2 emissions which should, if successful, start reversing global warming in a few decades, and in the meantime we just throw our collective hands up and chant "climate change" everytime we get bushfires rather than trying to do practical prevention. Great plan.

Coal is not the answer, but until China and India in particular develop alternative means to generate electricity, they're going to keep burning coal and if they don't get it from us they'll burn low quality rubbish which pollutes more. Or would you prefer they go without power?

Electricity generation in Aus is the responsibility of the states, not the feds. Solar is already producing a fair percentage of our power and that's causing all sorts of issues with the grid. See WA where the state still owns the power company. https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-12-01/ ... d/11731452

It's the people who simply regurgitate populist cant without understanding the depth and breadth of issues at play who should have their intelligence challenged
watt price tully

1. The fire chiefs actually said cause: I put instrumental

2. The shallow end of the gene pool is your mate and his video previously

3. Deplorables because to you it’s like saying union (hook line & sinker) in reality the ALP federally lost in QLD & those idiots should be prevented from voting. Anyone who allows Pauline Hanson and Joh Bjelke and the Clive Palmer can only be referred to as deplorable (and that’s mild)

4. NSW has experienced the hottest and second hottest years on record

5. The debate is over.

It’s how we deal with climate change that is in question

If you think the Federal Government doesn’t or shouldn’t play a role in climate policy which can effect outcomes (for states) then coal is for you, Adani can be ur friend