Damien Martyn - Our Most Boring Batsman ?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Nick's Sports Bar

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2003 2:57 pm

Clive Lloyd, Greg Chappell, Mark waugh, Martin Crowe, Graham Hick, Steve Waugh, David Boon, Graham Thorpe, Nick Knight.

What's the common factor amongst these very good, some great, batsmen? They all average less than Damien Martyn in ODIs.

But averages are far less a measure of a batsman in one-day cricket and are not the be all, end all of a batsman's worth, as JLC so correctly observed. But a batsman's strike rate is, so let's take a look at some strike rates.

Gordon Greenidge, Jacques Kallis, Mark Waugh, Graham Thorpe, Nick Knight, Greg Chappell, Javed Miandad, Graham Hick, Michael Bevan. Some pretty good batsmen amongst that lot, most would agree. All have lower strike rates tham Martyn.

Now of course there are the REAL dashers - exciting and fast scoring batsmen like Dean Jones, Ricky Ponting and Matt Hayden who, surely, are/were faster scorers than the boring old Marto! Nope, not the case.

What about Brian Lara? He must have a better strike rate than Martyn! Oh, yes he does. His S/R is 78.98. Martyn's is 77.75.

No. I don't find Damien Martyn boring at all.

THE BOYS ARE BACK IN TOWN !!!!

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2003 3:12 pm

Im glad that you mentioned the second most boring batsman in the Australian team at present and thats Michael Bevan. In the one day series in Australia he was dead set boring and sometimes selfish.

Its not arrogance if you can back it up

Fate is what you are given, Destiny is what you do with it

Essendon 2000 premiers
2001 runners up
2002 fifth
2003 ????
The slide continues
brodie_rocks! Aries

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2003 3:31 pm

again, if u don't like someone, don't watch them. no-ones forcing u to watch them play so if u dun like someone, then deal with it. if it's really getting to u that much, then go seek some help!

marto's a champ. he's not boring, he's tactical. and he's a damn good player.

~ANGEL~

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2003 3:38 pm

Not interested anymore, JLC. I can run round in circles with my dogs anytime - and they're fun!

THE BOYS ARE BACK IN TOWN !!!!
brodie_rocks! Aries

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2003 4:42 pm

thanx assassin and donny for backing up the argument. u guys r so right, it's not worth worrying about. but again, i thank u for ur support of marto!

oh, and just for the record, marto IS NOT boring!

argument so yesterdays news from where i sit.

~ANGEL~

[This message has been edited by brodie_rocks! (edited 26 February 2003).]

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2003 4:52 pm

You must have me mixed up with Warney me thinks as only he hides behind his mum.....lmao

I will be here when Australia wins the World Cup

Hayden = Gun and a great person in general.

Gilchrist = All class and an excitement machine. In those Super 6's or 8 tournaments he was a gun. I am surprised Australia took a few matches before promoting him to open the batting. His first game as a one day opener i believe was in the last series prior to this one that Sri Lanka toured here. The one where Kalu made all those runs.

Ponting = Great against pace, struggles against spin, improving as a captain. Enjoy watching him field.

Martyn = Occupies the crease and seems to take forever to get going, needs runs against quality atacks. Fielding in slips needs improving

Lehmann = Creative batsmen in terms of stroke play, want to see him make runs against quality attacks as well. I enjoy watching him bat for Sth Australia normally as an opener.

Bevan - I used to think Bevan was a gun when he was at his free flowing best. Now a days he seems to bat like a snail and leaves a lot of deliveries. Maybe these are the instructions he receives. I remember the days when he played for South Australia and he was an excitement machine.

Symonds = Maybe has turned his career around.

Brett Lee = Has improved his bowling and forms a lethal pace bowling attack. Most likely will get better. Good hitter but can improve against spin.

Brad Hogg - Hadnt seen much of him play but is improving. Has done better than i thought he would

Jason Gilesspie - Cant speak highly enough of him and probably my fav player seeing he is a South Aussie.

Glen McGrath - Champion enough said.

Bichel - Dont think he is that good

Maher - Dont think he is that good either. Would like to see him make runs against quality attacks.

There ya go i think ive been fair in my thoughts on players. I actually like the MAJORITY of the Australian team. However i appreciate watching other teams as well. I still dont think Martyn is that good and i think Bevan is in decline unless he gets back to his free flowing best.

Essendon 2000 premiers
2001 runners up
2002 fifth
2003 ????
The slide continues

PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2003 11:55 pm

I never asked you to go to Baggy Green and get stats ?

Essendon 2000 premiers
2001 runners up
2002 fifth
2003 ????
The slide continues
Pies Premiers 2003 Aquarius

KEEP SEPTEMBER FREE

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2003 4:36 am

Well I simply answered the topic question....of the Australian batsman Martyn is the most boring....end of story....mrstarrant you need to lighten up.....just because someone starts a chant does not make them childish.....I wonder what you think of the cheersquad???

THE PIES GO MARCHING ON

[This message has been edited by Pies Premiers 2003 (edited 27 February 2003).]
Lorelei Pisces

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2003 5:01 am

After full consideration by all sides, I hereby announce on the twenty-seventh day of February, two thousand and three, that -

Damien Martyn is a boring batsman 

No correspondence will be entered into.

--
BRING BACK NED!
Paul Keating on John Howard -
"He is the greatest job and investment destroyer since the bubonic plague."

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2003 5:47 am

Against Namibia most likely

Essendon 2000 premiers
2001 runners up
2002 fifth
2003 ????
The slide continues
Lorelei Pisces

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2003 9:55 am

You better have some good face cleanser ready for the cream pie that is going to be thrown in your direction Assasin!!

Jen

--
BRING BACK NED!
Paul Keating on John Howard -
"He is the greatest job and investment destroyer since the bubonic plague."
MrsTarrant Sagittarius

I love you Chrissy Tarrant you rock!

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2003 3:18 pm

LoL go Assasin you rock mate! Pies Premiers I actually do sit in the cheersquad and love the chants but all the chants are in support of our beloved team not boring boring boring like yours! Make a chant up in support of Martyn and I will think that's great! McGuane's 77 bounces like I said mate I respect your opinions as they are well supported and not childish you do have some very valid points so that's great! GO MARTYN!

View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
couragous cloke Scorpio

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2003 3:27 pm

are u ALL mad!!!! i think your forgeting an even more boring batsmen! and thats michael beven, me my cousin and my brother have n official michael beven hating cheersquad! if u wanna see some boring batting just sit down and watch his innings against the namibians 2nit! what a loser!

footy ROX!
brodie_rocks! Aries

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2003 3:28 pm

In the words of a South African commentator on FOX Sports speaking of Damien Martyn as he is batting against Namibia -> "That's how Martyn operates, with a safe gameplan!"

Top stuff Marto!

~ANGEL~
MrsTarrant Sagittarius

I love you Chrissy Tarrant you rock!

PostPosted: Fri Feb 28, 2003 3:42 pm

LoL couragous cloke there's no holding back with you is there!

View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board Forum Index -> Nick's Sports Bar All times are GMT + 10 Hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 4 of 9