Common phrases now that you couldn't say in the 80's

Nick's current affairs & general discussion about anything that's not sport.
Voice your opinion on stories of interest to all at Nick's.

Has liked: 71 times

Common phrases now that you couldn't say in the 80's

Bit of off season fun, I heard this as a phoner on MMM and thought it was a good topic.
What things do we say in day to day conversation now that just wouldn't work back in the 80's?

Some starting examples.

You watching that new series on Netflix?

My internet is so slow

I've ordered Sushi on Uber Eats

My Iphone battery sucks

He (sportman) is only 25, he's still growing up, give him time.

Lets go to Bunnings for a sausage.

Over to you. Lets keep it light hearted.
What'sinaname
Been liked: 9 times

Post by What'sinaname »

What's your pronouns?

I need a safe space

It's streaming on "insert streaming service"

What do you mean new homes have no gas connection?

There's a charging station for my EV

What do you mean "insert company" was hacked
Fighting against the objectification of woman.

Back in the 80's I didn't know any houses that had gas connections until I moved to Melbourne. Any house that had gas appliances had big mofo gas bottles outside.

When I moved into a house in Camberwell in 86 with a mate from Gippsland and my GF at the time, us 2 boys spent ages trying to find the gas bottles outside before the Melbourne chick explained that Gas actually came through pipes not bottles. :shock: :oops:
Has liked: 212 times
Been liked: 84 times

Your mate from gisborne was your girlfriend?

Not that there’s anything wrong with that!
What'sinaname

Post by What'sinaname »

If you said YAAS QUEEN in the 1980's, you'd get bashed.
Fighting against the objectification of woman.

think positive wrote:Your mate from gisborne was your girlfriend?

Not that there’s anything wrong with that!
:lol: :lol: :lol:

My mate was from Gippsland, not Gisborne, my GF was from Melbourne. :wink:
lazzadesilva
Been liked: 51 times

Post by lazzadesilva »

I like to go to my happy place.
Zap/Nuke the snags for a few minutes.
I bought a new record from Brashes today.
Could I have a sugar free coke please?
Collingwood haven’t won a flag for 32 bloody years
I term the current Collingwood attack based strategy “Unceasing Waves” like on a stormy and windy day with rough seas. A Perfect Storm ☔️

What'sinaname wrote:If you said YAAS QUEEN in the 1980's, you'd get bashed.
love that show!!!
slangman
Has liked: 23 times

Post by slangman »

Footy related:

How much time is left?
Yellow maggots.
Moore is a premiership captain
He’s been subbed out with concussion.
- Side By Side -

I met my partner on Tinder

I found a discount cigarette shop, a packet of Winnie Blues 30's is only $55

these fruity IPA's are great

I found a place that sells premium unleaded for less than $2 a litre

Smashed Avo goes great with Vegemite.

I'm concerned about Bill's mental Health
Piethagoras' Theorem
Been liked: 2 times

Post by Piethagoras' Theorem »

You could reverse this thread with "things you said in the 80's but wouldn't say now", but I'd most likely get banned... or arrested :lol:
Formally frankiboy and FrankieGoesToCollingwood.

I did think of doing exactly that and came to the same conclusion as you. :wink: :lol:

Im so triggered by that

ugh
Bucks5
Been liked: 11 times

Post by Bucks5 »

Acknowledgment of Country or Welcome to Country.
How would Siri know when to answer "Hey Siri" unless it is listening in to everything you say?
Dark Beanie
Been liked: 16 times

Post by Dark Beanie »

I'll have an almond latte

Have you tried that prosecco in a can?

Saw a funny video on TikTok

Do you follow 'enter name here' on Instagram?

Got a great deal buying it online with free postage

When do we play GWS/Gold Coast/Freo/Port?

Pies don't play well at Marvel
If you are foolish enough to be contented, don't show it, but just grumble with the rest. - Jerome K Jerome